Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.4/10
388 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
11
49
116
150
49
6

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

388 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Adam Freij 🇸🇪 | 28 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Really nice sipping rum to the sweden - netherlands game. Results could be better rum outweights that.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

It is EXTREMELY easy to sip glass after glass of this rum, straight up, before you realize that you're laughing and nodding in agreement with people who aren't even talking to you. It's very smooth, and even though it's not the most complex rum I've ever had, nor the tastiest, it's pleasant enough and worth repeating - very smooth. I generally prefer rums that are less subtle and more demanding, but this is a nice enough change of pace.

Eric 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I had the pleasure of trying this from my brother's collection and enjoyed it. It was not sweet like many other rums I've tried and so that gave me the opportunity to focus more on the other flavors such as the oak and banana. It seemed to be well balanced all the way through. At first seemed a little dry, but the finish ended up being pleasantly smooth.

Arowbal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I like rum for the sweetness. This is just too dry for me, reminds me of rubbing alcohol. As a mixer it is fine (however a very expensive mixer), but straight up just doesn't work for me. It is my least favorite so far of the higher-end rums.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

What a bargain this bottle is. Double aged in white oak and first fill sherry cask. It has a pure expression and according to hydrometer test's, a fairly small amount of added sugar. The nose gives away roasted coffee beans, brown sugar, leather, tobacco, oaky tannins and sherry cask. On the palate I get, once again, leather, tobacco, oak and brown sugar, but also roasted nuts and a hint of dried fig's roll's over the tongue. It has a nice body, not to sweet and slightly dry, unlike so many other overly sweet dominican rum. It has great texture in the mouth and a nice lingering, spicy little burn at the end.
It doesn't excel at any particular point, but for the money, it's just a great no nonsense sipper, perfectly enjoyed in the sun.

Titomm 🇨🇦 | 75 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Way better than its little brother Brugal XO/Extra Viejo. More complex, more balanced. Spicy but not too much, sweet but not too much, on the dryer side while "smooth". At 49$, good quality for the price.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

A nice deep, dark amber color...almost a burnt orange. An aroma that isn't unpleasant. I can't put my finger on what it is however. I read somewhere that Brugal aims this rum for whiskey lovers and maybe that's why I'm not partial to it. I do not care for whiskey. Never developed a taste for the stuff. Same goes for Scotch and Bourbon (my Scottish ancestry may disown me and make me turn in my kilt). It has a major oak flavor to it that borders on unpleasant bitterness. It almost overrides a nice toffee sweetness (which is its saving grace in my humble opinion). After finding the Brugal Anejo delightful but the Brugal Extra Viejo disappointing (and that's being kind) I didn't know what to expect with the 1888. I was hoping for something spectacular but was disappointed. I had high hopes but they just weren't quite met. Honestly speaking, it's not a bad rum but for the price I would expect something much better. As it stands I cannot recommend this rum due to the quality not meriting the price it commands. There are rums of similar price that are far superior to the Brugal 1888 and even several rums less expensive that are superior to the Brugal 1888.

Can't win 'em all.

[ADDENDUM: Does play well with Coke Zero so I'm bumping it up a point.]

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 516 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I was excited to try this based on both the price of the bottle and the current RumRatings score. But I really wasn't too impressed.

I like rums that smell and taste like rum. This has a very strong bourbon influence. Smells and tastes of oak, bourbon, and toffee. Maybe a hint of sherry, tobacco and cinnamon as well. A bit too dry for my liking, this rum is just average to me.

VikingXO 🇩🇰 | 169 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Brugal is a classic spanish style rum but Brugal 1888 is not at sweet rum from Dominican Republic. Matured 8 year on bourbon casks and 6 years on ex-sherry casks. It is worth mention that Brugal is owned by the Edrington Group, same Group that owns Macallan whisky meaning that Brugal 1888 as been matured on high class sherry casks.

A bit dusty on the nose and classic spanish notes. Taste of sweet Tobacco some chocolate and easy to sip.

In overall a steady rum that will please most rum drinkers.

DRinAL 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Always enjoyable, whether in a mixed drink, on ice, or taken as a shot.

Nerl 🇨🇦 | 11 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

I really like this one. With just one large ice cube. A bit of tongue tang at the start, but a nice lingering smooth finish that begs for another sip.