Penny Blue XO Batch 001 rum

Penny Blue XO Batch 001

Mauritius | Aged

7.7/10
43 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
5
25
7
1

Rate Penny Blue XO Batch 001

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

43 Penny Blue XO Batch 001 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Yannick 🇧🇪 | 36 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Un rhum excellent : le nez s'ouvre sur des notes de noyaux, d'amande... de kirsch un léger boisé- vanillé vient compléter avec discrétion ces subtiles effluves. La bouche apparaît plus simple, sèche, légèrement vineuse et orientée sur les épices. La finale est tout en subtilité, elle vous réchauffe le haut du palais.

An excellent rum: the nose opens with notes of kernels, almonds ... kirsch a light woody vanilla comes to complement with discretion these subtle fragrances. The mouth appears simpler, dry is slightly vinous and oriented on spices. The finish is all in subtlety, it warms you up the palate.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Sugar: 0 GPL. This is pure classic rum. No sugar or additives. Similar to the Mt Gay 1703 XO, but this rum has a natural sweetness with a trace of citrus from aging in cognac barrels. The wood, tobacco, honey,fruit, and vanilla are all present and balanced quite well in this mix. This rum has a strong flavour but is quite smooth with some bite. For those that don't like sweetened rum, this is a good one to purchase.

foufvious 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

even my whiskey friends enjoy sharing this rum with me.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Very tasty, very smooth sipping rum with fragrant oak, toffee and spice. Similar flavor profile to top-tier Bajans. It has a natural sweetness despite zero added sugar, color or filtering. My bottle is from Batch #1, distilled at 88 proof. Eager to try Batch #2, which is supposed to be even better, though I can't imagine how...

Update Nov. 2016...Just tried Batch #4. Excellent. 9/10.

IKEDA JUNICHI 🇯🇵 | 19 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

If you like agricole rhum and cognac, I reccommend this.

Nose: floral, gorgeous, orange, light oak

Taste: honey, brown cane suger, but not too sweet,

Finish: apricot,

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

According to the label this is Single Estate Mauritian rum. Since geography was never my strong suit I have to look up where Mauritius is. It turns out to be an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 1200 miles off the African coast. From some of the photos I've seen, it looks like a wonderful place to take a vacation. Now if I could only win a big lottery.

But I digress...

I have to say from the outset that I find this rum delightful. It has a beautiful light amber hue and has an equally wonderful aroma. Swirling it in my snifter reveals excellent legs. My bottle is from Batch #1. I've seen Batch #4 reviewed online. I haven't a clue as to how they all differ. I'd love to find out. Maybe they'd send me some to compare? Oh well...one can dream.

Once again I digress...

There is an oiliness to it that keeps in on the tongue long enough to enjoy the flavors. There is a distinct vanilla/caramel combination along with an oak buzz from the barrels in which the rum is aged. There's a slight pepperiness as well. Although it is 88.2 proof (44.1% ABV) there really isn't much of a burn. Rather there is an appreciative warmth in the back of the throat which lingers a bit before fading. It is quite smooth with just an appreciable tad of sweetness. I personally do not detect any sweetening with this rum. This is an excellent sipping rum and I recommend it.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Ordered a shot of this at a local rum bar. (Twice.) Holy cow—this is some good stuff. Only slightly sweet, no added sugar, and very, very smooth. Slightly smokey from the barrel-aging. If only it wasn't so darned hard to find in my area...

8+ (original rating 9-)

Simon Stood 🇺🇦 | 9 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Очень сбалансированный ром. Сладковатый, долгий финиш

Harry Molema 🇿🇦 | 26 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Smooth with with a lasting aftertaste. Easy drinking. Pleasant fresh aroma. Worth a trip to Mauritius to buy a bottle.

Tom Rhoads 🇺🇸 | 88 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Batch #001
Beautiful light yellow color.

Trying this neat and I am having a hard time placing the aromas. I will try with a few drops of water soon.

Mouth feels is what I would expect from a 44% ABV. Maybe the little water will change that.

Batch #002

Kim 🇦🇺 | 53 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I taste vanilla and oak with bourbon at the back. Reminds me strongly of Mount Gay. Will have to get a bottle of the XO Mount Gay to compare side to side. Nose is quite strong. Sweet with a dry finish. After some dark chocolate a mouthful tasted a bit like acetone so that was a pairing that did not work!!




Brand Details

Name: XO Batch 001
Company: Penny Blue
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading