Selvarey Cacao rum

Selvarey Cacao

Panama | Flavored

8.2/10
33 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
12
6
9

Rate Selvarey Cacao

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

33 Selvarey Cacao ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Midgarn 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Nicely chocolate without being overbearing. A little harsh aftertaste but not much.

Dave Talkington 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This is some seriously good “flavored” rum! It is great neat, on the rocks, and surprisingly good with a Pepsi. Not too sweet at all, but all that amazing chocolate aroma and flavor. I was hesitant to purchase it, but it was only $26, so I figured I’d give it a shot. I was not disappointed, and neither was my wife, who is only a rum drinker when it’s mixed. She liked the smooth flavor with only a slight lingering burn, but long lasting cacao taste.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 516 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I'm generally not a huge fan of flavored rum, but this is surprisingly good. Tastes of a really nice cacao. Smooth, but like most flavored rums, a bit light at 35%. Still, one of the much better flavored rums.

Surfyguitar 🇺🇸 | 56 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Who knew this combination would be so enticing? Typically rum is associated with vanilla flavor but the chocolate is unique and special. This is very smooth and complex and is perfect for after dinner. So far have only seen it in California, but will pick some up next time I am there.

Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I love the taste of this rum. It’s so chocolaty and smooth. It makes a great Cold Brew Martini

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2925 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Rum tasting in New York City started with Selvarey Cacao. Unique bottle and label design with a tiny gorilla in the middle, cute. Light golden color. I was expecting plenty of chocolate flavors, but all you get is a massive amount of cocoa beans. Not bad at all, not just what I expected. Mild alcohol burn at the taste buds, but no burn at the end at all. Second round of Selvarey Cacao Rum tasting with my good friend at a truck stop in Flagstaff Arizona while outside temperature is around 38-40F and plenty of sleet and snow is accumulating on the windscreen.

frankypoo 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Brought this to my friends house. He's a scotch/bourbon snob - gotta be cask strength, single malt, yada yada. He was skeptical but this rum blew him away. We drank almost half the bottle after dinner. Great digestif. You can taste the aging/woody notes. Chocolate is spot on, not overpowering or too sweet. Loved it!

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Selvarey Cacoa is a quality rum from start to finish.
Sugar: estimated at 28 - 30 gpl.
Normally a flavoured rum uses a cheap rum as the base and then adds the sugar and spice mix to mask the harshness. Not this rum! It's starts with a very smooth 5 year old Panamanian Rum and then infuses the rum with real chocolate flavour. I don't know how, but the chocolate aroma and flavour is authentic. I know that's an odd thing to say but an empty glass sits on the desk and I keep getting the smell of chocolate chips in the air. This rum is extremely smooth and well balanced. No bite, no chemical aftertaste, just a long slow and very pleasant warming. I tried this rum several days in a row and there was a brandy and orange taste in the background of the rum that I couldn't quite figure out, then it hit me Gran Marnier! That explains the brandy and orange taste as well as the colour of the rum. I continued to taste this rum and shared most of the bottle with friends. The ladies loved this rum straight up, and that's a great compliment from Wine and Rum Punch drinkers. Coffee, dessert, and Selvarey Cacoa, or skip the dessert and just go for the Selvarey.
Tasting note: Let this rum air out for a few minutes in your glass.

RobbieS 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This rum works for me. Great a a dessert rum, with the hint of chocolate.

Holdfasthope87 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted almost 2 years ago

Smooth cacao front with a nice soft vanilla/cane sugar finish. Perfect sipping rum when you’re in the mood for desert

RummyDog 🇨🇦 | 34 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Tonight’s Rum, Selvarey Cacao from Panama. Selvarey starts off rich with a raw chocolate bouquet, perhaps with a bit of vanilla and pineapple. The first hit on the tongue is sweet, not bitter at all, it’s almost like chocolate milk. In the mouth, at rest, It remains mild. Only after you take it in do you notice that it’s actually a Rum and spirit, the sugar cane backing is very hidden. The finish is likewise mild, over notes of chocolate is everywhere. Crème de Cacao comes to mind, but not as strong. Hints of nutmeg, are also noticed. There is little in the way of fruity notes, save for a bit of orange or apricot. That’s good or bad depending on your personal preference. There’s no harsh burn at all in the finish. It’s is a nice mild Rum, and from what I tell, it is best served neat, no ice to dilute the flavor. That’s the way I’ll be fashioning my bottle. Yum. 8 out of 10, #162 or my 500 Rum target.




Brand Details

Name: Cacao
Company: Selvarey
Type: Flavored
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading