Lost Spirits Navy Polynesian 66 rum

Lost Spirits Navy Polynesian 66

United States | Gold

7.5/10
6 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
1
1

Rate Lost Spirits Navy Polynesian 66

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

6 Lost Spirits Navy Polynesian 66 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 320 ratings

Came back and raised this to a 7 after sipping it neat. Very smooth. Better this way than on ice. Monterey CA is a great place, and you can find some great wine there. But certainly not known for rum or spirits. I have been there many times. The rum: Cannot understand โ€œPolynesian inspired partโ€. Someone help me out with this. Navy? It packs some punch for sure. It has some fine smoothness. Not complex. It has almost no finish. This was the most disappointing part. Flavor is muted molasses and some oak notes. Stays on the pallet. It is not without merit. Cask strength? Definitely. I do like that it has no additives. I cannot figure where Polynesian fits into this except for marketing. Seems like classic California marketing. Symbolism over substance. The Hollywood of rum.

Posted over 6 years ago by mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings

First, I had a couple of sips straight up. It's 132 proof and it goes down hot. Fire, plus ester and prunes all the way. Then I added a few drops of water, which made it remarkably sweeter and still strong, but the fire was less apparent. Think Smith and Cross, but with a graduate degree from a reputable university.

If you're a Tiki cocktail fan you'll enjoy adding this rum to your Zombies and Rum Barrels. Oh, I just remembered....Lost Spirits stopped making this rum. So sorry.

Posted almost 8 years ago by Steven James ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 33 ratings

Different to the Navy Style but certainly part of the same family. Two shared processes tweaked to give differing results. Again, an excellent ingredient and packed full of pineapple with a little water added. Winner.
http://rumdiariesblog.wordpress.com/2014/07/20/lost-spirits-distillery-the-science-behind-the-art/

Posted over 4 years ago by piratejabez ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 324 ratings

Light in color and nose than other LS releases, but same buttered toast profile. A bit different on the palate. Pineapples, cotton candy, brine (!). A bit too sweet. With time: the nose changes somewhat; palate showcases French toast.

I don't know the story behind this one, but it's among my favorites in their lineup. Still hardly deviates from their standard profile, however.

Probably great in mixed drinks!

7+

Posted almost 5 years ago by Michael Huff ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 100 ratings

A little eerie tasting. It's got aged notes but it feels like something is missing. Still, nice spice full on where mouth. I agree that if you let this one sit, new notes on up that are far more pleasant.

Read more about the rum here https://www.wired.com/2017/05/brian-davis-lost-spirits-distillery-aging-rum-fast/

Posted over 5 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 81 ratings

I got to try this at a tasting at my local store, and it was really something!

First whiff is pretty much straight ethanol. But after just one minute, it opens up in a pleasant vanilla caramel, which continues to evolve into a creamy-caramel-nougat/vanilla pudding nose, and prunes make a strong presence too. Quite nice, though the prunes eventually dominate.
Taste is very strong on the prunes, there's a good amount of spice and some smoke, plus vanilla cream, dark toffee and just a bit of tropical fruit.
Not a whole lot on the finish, as the 132 proof finally kicks in. It overwhelms whatever flavors may be left behind, but it's not harsh. Instead, its more of an intense warming from the mouth all the down to the stomach.

UPDATE: Had to bump this down to a 7, because apparently it does not play nicely with others in cocktails (tends to dominate EVERYTHING) While sipping overproofs is fun, I certainly don't want to do it all the time, so this bottle is outstaying its welcome...




Brand Details

Name: Navy Polynesian 66
Company: Lost Spirits
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
544
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
513