Mount Gay Eclipse Heritage Blend Crisp & Aromatic rum

Mount Gay Eclipse Heritage Blend Crisp & Aromatic

Barbados | Aged

5.8/10
15 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
6
1

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse Heritage Blend Crisp & Aromatic

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

15 Mount Gay Eclipse Heritage Blend Crisp & Aromatic ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Thomas πŸ‡³πŸ‡΄ | 11 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Even with familiar notes of vanilla and oak, this first encounter with Mount gay Eclipse Heritage Crisp & Aromatic will be the last. halfway down the bottle the thought struck me that this rum is best served in the company of a coca cola. As part of a Cuba Libre, Mount gay Eclipse Heritage Crisp & Aromatic delivers the goods πŸ˜›

Michal Micko (PREMIUM) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 615 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Very light vanilla and oak aroma. taste is smooth again with vanilla but missing any complexity. Aftertaste is slightly smoky and spiced. Not bad, but nothing special. 6.5 points

Marek1212 πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 7 ratings
Posted 1 hour ago

Entry level from Mount Gay feels cheap and taste like that too

Rumrun11 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 93 ratings
Posted 14 days ago

No doubt this is an MG basic entry level rum. A bit harsh but too not bad at least on ice. Dry and very little sweetness which is not uncommon for a Bajan rum but it just seems a little thin and lacking character and flavor. But for a bottom shelf price you could do worse. I have had rums costing a lot more than this that were worse. Worth a try but don't expect it to "Wow" you. But how many rums well under $25 are going to do that anyway?

Przemek πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± | 7 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

I usually avoid the brands rated below 6.0 here, but the price was about $18 (equivalent), so I took a risk. And, for this rating and especially for this price it was really good value for money. First taste was sweetish and light (but without a feeling of having tons of sugar put in there), and I would be happy to sip it for whole evening with pleasure. Comparing to the Mount Gay Black Barrel I recently tasted, it was less complex, less dry, less "mature", but much easier and pleasant itself. Also, went really well in drinks. I think it deserves much better rating that it has now, so I added a point for that.

FineMagic πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 1 rating
Posted 4 months ago

Sippable with ice, otherwise to harsh, non complex flavour.

becen001 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Strong and bold. Certainly requires ice if to be sipped or consumed on its own. Makes an acceptably pleasant rum and coke. Beautiful gold color, but other than this, it's nothing to write home about. Significant alcoholic bite.

WEDGEYBOY1 πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 23 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

You can get this at a good price almost all the time, at Β£17-Β£18 it's worth every penny, sippable neat with no unpleasantness for my palete but nothing to write home about.

ScottN πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 35 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Compared to other rums in the category, this has more flavor due to the heavy-charred oak barrels. It's a little hotter and spicier, at which point I'd rather grab a higher end rum. It also doesn't mix well with everything (definitely don't try it with ginger beer) but it did make one of my favorite daiquris at its price point. All in all, it's not an all-around rum at its price point, but I can see this being the lightly-aged rum for some people.

MDrumrunner πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 25 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

I've seen this on the shelves for a while now and finally decided to give it a try. I get a little heat with it. An oaky spice flavor up front on the taste with a long vanilla finish.