Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.7/10
175 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
4
11
46
64
37
10

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

175 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 81 ratings

This nose is a fun one! Pretty alcoholic at first, but it quickly clears up to reveal oak and cola, before morphing into a smokey brown sugar, similar to a barbeque sauce, with tropical fruit lurking underneath.
Aging the rum in cognac casks brings out a lot of that same characteristics you see in Plantation, but more so for all of them. Kaniche XO carries sweet, strong flavors of molasses, papaya, toffee, baking spice, and just a smidge of coffee. Finish is rather short, but the delightful flavors and phenomenal smoothness of this rum make it a star anyways! If you're a Plantation fan, I would highly, highly recommend this! (And if you're not, then I just highly recommend it!)

UPDATE: Hot dang, this stuff is so nice! Poured myself a glass tonight for the first time in months, and realized just how easy I could down this stuff! Simply marvelous!!

Posted 6 years ago by RedBlaze6 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 26 ratings

My first taste of Kaniche XO left me unsure if I loved it or hated it. Being a big fan of Plantation XO, I found myself comparing it to that since it is made by the same company (C. Ferand). After a second visit, I found it enjoyable. The smell and initial taste are sweet and fruity with a pleasant oak flavor. Kaniche XO is quite similar all around to Plantation XO but with a bit more harshness at the back end. This bottle came in a nice wooden box and goes for $24-29 at Total Wine so you can't go wrong. Go grab a bottle if looking for a low-budget Plantation XO with a bite.

Posted over 6 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 513 ratings

At only $29.99 (Total Wines 2015), this beats some of the $100+ rums I've tried.

Sugarcane, vanilla, and a hint of coconut, this also includes a little oak and cognac - just enough to add to the flavor without taking from the rum goodness. Similar to the Plantation XO 20th Anniversary, but not quite as good. Still an excellent rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by ian ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating

Got this at Total WIne, and so far it is the only Rum for sipping we buy. It has beat out rums that have cost waaaay more money. I think i have purchaed about 5-6 bottles its that good...

Posted over 6 years ago by mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings

Lots of added sugar makes it hard to take this rum too seriously. Another confection from the Plantation factory.

Posted 7 years ago by Herman ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 103 ratings

This was recommended by fellow Rum Raters. This is one of my new favorites, alongside Ron Zacapa, Zaya and Kirk & Sweeney. It does have a sweetness to it, which I prefer. Just a really smooth rum that I would buy again and again.

Posted over 6 years ago by Jay Crandall ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 12 ratings

Well, found the Kaniche Reserve! (Yay me!) I have found what is very likely going to be my main rum in the house. This was outstanding! It has an almost sweet finish, and oak overtones without tasting like it was ran through a charcoal briquette! I like the fact that you can drink it neat, and still have tastebuds that can still tell the difference between sweet and sour. And the price was definitely nice! I have paid a LOT more for what I would now call "Inferior" Rums. This is a rum that is worth your time.

Posted 7 years ago by Earl Elliott ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 213 ratings

Sugar: 24 gpl. This rum is very soft on the palate is moderately sweet with tastes of coconut, cognac, vanilla, and honey. It's is similar to Plantation XO but is a little softer and less bold or sharp of a taste. Basically it is Plantation XO Lite. As other rum posters mentioned, this was suggested to me by the Total Wines associate and he was right. This is a great tasting rum for sipping at a moderate price. If you see it in your local store, try it.

Posted over 7 years ago by Eric ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings

This rum came on sweet but not too sweet. It is smooth, complex, and has a finish that stays with you for a bit. Phenomenal rum, especially for the price

Posted over 4 years ago by Alan ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 89 ratings

Yes, it has added sugar, but so does Plantation 20th Anniversary, which is much more complex and tasty. Kaniche XO seems thin by comparison, without the depth of flavor of other Pierre Ferrand/Plantation rums.

Posted over 6 years ago by Per Rosenhave ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 158 ratings

Sรฅ fik jeg fat pรฅ denne skรธnhed af en rom! Var pรฅ tilbud til 300 kr, sรฅ kunne jeg altsรฅ ikke sige nej.




Brand Details

Name: XO
Company: Kaniche
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
544
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
513