Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.7/10
183 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
4
12
50
67
37
10

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

183 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 126 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Note overly impressed with the nose, but amazingly intense burst of concentrated brown sugar a second after sipping. Not too sweet or spicy, nice to sip.

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 464 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

A month ago, I chose the most expensive bottle of Kaniche to start out with. It started out as my highest ranked 7. Then is slowly slid downhill due to excessive added sugar. Then a few other reviews mentioned that this one was better. So for only $30 US, I gambled on it today. It would also be a test of Bajan rum for this one versus Panamanian rum for their Perfeccion.

There is just something off putting in the aroma from the Perfeccion, but not this one. And yes, this cheaper version from Barbados indeed tastes better than the more expensive one from Panama. I am glad that I gave this one a try. Both rate as a 7 in my book, but this one ranks a few notches higher overall. That 7 rating is some very stiff competition. At least I did not get stuck with a bottle of crap.

rfnovo ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Very good rum with well balanced flavor. A great pick

allredb ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 13 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I have a very nice collection of rums and this one will always be in my cabinet. Easy on the palate with the perfect combination of flavor and aroma. Highly recommend.

Jason Berman ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 47 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I think itโ€™s only available at Total wine. Which is a shame because itโ€™s a fantastic complex rum at a reasonable price, I always grab a couple of bottles when I can. I appreciate the time it spends in cognac cask.

Engwild ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 153 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Now one of my favorites, so much of a wonder found in a glass.

Anthony Soleau ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 26 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

For the money, this rum hits all the high points. It's great by itself, works wonders in simple agreed cocktails, and isn't expensive. It lacks an upper level complexity, but for $30 you don't really expect that anyways. Go grab a bottle!

Tomy ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ด | 439 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados and aged first in ex-bourbon casks (customary for rum) and then given a finish in cognac barrels (unusual in the industry but more customary for Kaniche)... hence, "double wood" rum. The suggest looking for "exotic notes" of vanilla, coconut, and cocoa.

Kasper Meijer ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ | 36 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Saw some reviews just now after I had already bought and tried it, but I must say that I really do appreciate this rum. Its sweet, but not too sweet. Similar to the Perfeccion. I would rate them both the same in my opinion. Nice wooden box too.

ColoRobO ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 4 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I taste cinnamon. My wife tastes coconut. Those rise to the top of a nicely complex and smooth rum. Spices are not too strong and overall not too sweet. Price was on point and while this isnโ€™t my celebratory aged rum, itโ€™s a good value for an everyday sipper.

Jeff Sutker ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Cheap enough to drink every day, good enough to want to. Smoothest (most mellow?) rum I've had.




Brand Details

Name: XO
Company: Kaniche
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading