Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.7/10
181 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
4
12
48
67
37
10

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

181 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Angel 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Really enjoy this rum, not to the level of Diplomático but it’s very close.

rfnovo 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Very good rum with well balanced flavor. A great pick

allredb 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I have a very nice collection of rums and this one will always be in my cabinet. Easy on the palate with the perfect combination of flavor and aroma. Highly recommend.

Jason Berman 🇺🇸 | 47 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I think it’s only available at Total wine. Which is a shame because it’s a fantastic complex rum at a reasonable price, I always grab a couple of bottles when I can. I appreciate the time it spends in cognac cask.

Engwild 🇺🇸 | 153 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Now one of my favorites, so much of a wonder found in a glass.

Anthony Soleau 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

For the money, this rum hits all the high points. It's great by itself, works wonders in simple agreed cocktails, and isn't expensive. It lacks an upper level complexity, but for $30 you don't really expect that anyways. Go grab a bottle!

Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados and aged first in ex-bourbon casks (customary for rum) and then given a finish in cognac barrels (unusual in the industry but more customary for Kaniche)... hence, "double wood" rum. The suggest looking for "exotic notes" of vanilla, coconut, and cocoa.

Kasper Meijer 🇨🇭 | 36 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Saw some reviews just now after I had already bought and tried it, but I must say that I really do appreciate this rum. Its sweet, but not too sweet. Similar to the Perfeccion. I would rate them both the same in my opinion. Nice wooden box too.

ColoRobO 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I taste cinnamon. My wife tastes coconut. Those rise to the top of a nicely complex and smooth rum. Spices are not too strong and overall not too sweet. Price was on point and while this isn’t my celebratory aged rum, it’s a good value for an everyday sipper.

Jeff Sutker 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Cheap enough to drink every day, good enough to want to. Smoothest (most mellow?) rum I've had.

JellyJortikka 🇫🇮 | 74 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

This rum is made by the same company that makes plantation and it has that quite mellow sugared plantation profile of their most popular sippers.
Nose: Pineapple, cinnamon, caramel
Taste: The pineapple comes strong, then vanilla and baking spice, toffee. Quite sweet but not too much for my taste.
Finish: medium and sugary smooth and spicy and bit sharp with a good amount of oak.
Overall: decent quite mellow sugared sipper, probably very good in tiki cocktails.
Im sure this has quite a lot of added sugar but not too much to totally ruin the rum but it would be better if it had less.




Brand Details

Name: XO
Company: Kaniche
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading