Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.7/10
181 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
4
12
48
67
37
10

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

181 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Angel 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Really enjoy this rum, not to the level of Diplomático but it’s very close.

Stabby 🇨🇦 | 68 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

My wife picked this up for me on a recommendation from staff at Total Wine. I see that several reviewers state similar recommendation. I tried it on the rocks but found it had a harsh bite and was a bit too sweet for my liking. I then tried it with Coke Zero and liked it because of the subtle sweetness. I shall try it again and see if it grows on me.

El Julian 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I literally bought this rum on the recommendation of a couple of friends and from an employee from my local liquor store. I was totally disappointed and felt let down after the build up of others. For me, it was "OK" at best. It went into the "rum cake rum cabinet" lol

I tried this straight up, on the rocks, and with coke.

Bruce 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

So, I asked the guy in the store, what do you have that's a lot less expensive than the Ron Zacapa XO that has complexity and some body. It was a trick question as I've had lots of rum that would meet the request, but I was looking for something new. He recommended the Kaniche XO. I was Alitalia hesitant as I had the Kaniche 11 Year Old, liked it a lot, but found it light in body. He said this one was different. He was almost spot on. It doesn't have the body of a Zacapa xo, but at 1/3 the price, the body works out fine. The taste is just scrumptious. Loaded with butterscotch and vanilla, it's just so wonderful to sip and enjoy. Will become my go to rum!

Krustyfats 🇺🇸 | 34 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

This stuff is a fantastic value and I will likely always have one at my house. I like it just a little better than the more expensive Kanche Perfeccion. They are both sweet, but XO adds a little spice. I'm tasting Juicy Fruit and Big Red in your mouth at the same time. These are both very sweet sippers, but for sippers I don't mind and actually welcome the sweetness. This and Kaniche Reserve are perhaps the two best rums for the money. This is my second 10/10 review. The other being Lemonhart 151, which has an entirely different purpose.

RumGuy1 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Taste like Christmas. I wouldn’t buy it again because it has a strong cinnamon flavor. It a bit thin and has an alcoholic taste.

Skyvie 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Sweet oaky "sugary" flavor. Not sweet like sugary rums ( Zaya 16yr), but rather like a "dry" cinnamon roll frosting. Long finish ends well without bitterness. Reminds me of a smoother Plantation brand rum. Complex flavor of banana, carmel, and light brown sugar.

Definitely worth your consideration.

On the nose: Warm sugar, vanilla frosting
Flavor: Warm, rich "sugar" flavor without being really sweet. Just a tad bitter and oaky. Long finish.

YohoYoho 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I tried this on the recommendation of a Total Wine associate. Liked it immediately and I have bought two bottles. Yes, I’m sure it has some added sugar, but so what? 😄

poly.pop 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Tropical fruits, coconut, and subtle oak flavors, punctuated by a syrupy sweetness. Definitely more added sugar than I prefer (bone dry) but enjoyable neat nonetheless. Great in a tropical cocktail, especially with a splash of pineapple juice and coconut cream. Not your typical Bajan profile (lacking the caramel and vanilla of Foursquare), but that's not necessarily a bad thing in this case. Personally, I prefer a fully dry, no-sugar-added rum but this did not disappoint overall. Wouldn't buy again but it's not something I'd dump down the drain.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 452 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

A month ago, I chose the most expensive bottle of Kaniche to start out with. It started out as my highest ranked 7. Then is slowly slid downhill due to excessive added sugar. Then a few other reviews mentioned that this one was better. So for only $30 US, I gambled on it today. It would also be a test of Bajan rum for this one versus Panamanian rum for their Perfeccion.

There is just something off putting in the aroma from the Perfeccion, but not this one. And yes, this cheaper version from Barbados indeed tastes better than the more expensive one from Panama. I am glad that I gave this one a try. Both rate as a 7 in my book, but this one ranks a few notches higher overall. That 7 rating is some very stiff competition. At least I did not get stuck with a bottle of crap.

Richard 🇸🇪 | 80 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Sweet, but not too sweet. A bit fruity, a bit spicy. Very smooth. A near perfect balance




Brand Details

Name: XO
Company: Kaniche
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading