Kaniche Reserve rum

Kaniche Reserve

Barbados | Aged

6.4/10
47 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
10
20
7

Rate Kaniche Reserve

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

47 Kaniche Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 126 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Brown sugar, oaky nose. Spicy immediate hit that lasts forever. Incredibly long. Not much gets last the spice, nice balance on the sweet side, but just don’t get many flavours coming out. Try because it’s unique, but you’ll only want a taste likely.

Janis 🇱🇻 | 14 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Lemon vanilla flavir, spicy and oak barrel. Modest as expected

Tom 🇺🇸 | 230 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

You get a big taste of cinnamon and pepper which would attribute to somewhat of a burn plus the alcohol will only elevate the heat. It has a moderate sweetness with vanilla, oak, tobacco and Werther's candies(caramel)!
This could be a decent sipper, though I'd go for the XO instead for about 8 dollars more at Total Wine And more.

Dan-Fix 🇸🇪 | 113 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

After tasting the Barbados XO and the Panama perfecction I though that Kaniche can't fail with anything. But this one I will only use for mixing. Taste of alcohol and black pepper.

Brian Dent 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 5 years ago

Very strong flavor of cinnamon. Actually produces a burning sensation in my mouth. (Capsicum source also added?) Label says "artisan". Seems the opposite of artisan to me- processed food. Might be good in mixed drinks, but I don't drink mixed drinks. So problem is label. If you drink rum for the pleasure of the flavor of rum, avoid this.

slash17 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Kaniche is a pretty rough ride. It has some subtle off-flavors reminiscent of gasoline, and burns harshly from beginning to end. It's not the worst thing ever and would serve you better than Malibu, but you definitely get what you pay for with this cheap bottle.

Mugoogio 🇺🇸 | 22 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

After trying the XO and the Perfeccion, which were good but don’t really stand out, I had fairly low expectations for the much cheaper Reserve. It’s quite good, and for like $16 at total wine (on sale, I think), that is an unbelievable bargain. Sweet, brown sugar notes on the front end. Way smoother than expected.

Wolfe Tone 🇳🇱 | 112 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Bit too heavy on the sugar and vanilla, but otherwise an ok bajan rum, with tobacco, caramel and cinnamon.

Rado.V 🇨🇿 | 65 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This rum is vanilla rum. You can smell it, you can taste it. The body is sweet with a bit of lemon, but also spicy. Aftertaste is sweet and shortlasting.

Krustyfats 🇺🇸 | 34 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Like all Kaniche and most Plantation, its sweet. Possibly the best rum for the money and my rating includes some consideration for value. Sippable but not as good as XO and Perfection. I will probably always have this on hand for an aged mixed rum that I can sip as well.

Sharty 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Gotta say it, this is very smooth with a load of sugar, banana and vanilla. A decent sipping rum. Feels like more than 80 proof. This is everything I thought Doorly's would be and yet isn't. I get a bit of cinnamon but not as much as others say. Definitely candied caramel as well.

Somewhat reminiscent of Jack Daniels bourbon (yes JD is bourbon too). This is coming from a guy with a whisky background but this has been the best budget rum sipper I've yet had.




Brand Details

Name: Reserve
Company: Kaniche
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading