Flor de Caña 25-Year rum

Flor de Caña 25-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 25-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed neat or on a rock, and paired with 70% cocoa chocolate.

8.5/10
161 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
18
55
58
26

Rate Flor de Caña 25-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

161 Flor de Caña 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

TommyVinegar 🇧🇪 | 46 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Im inclined to rate the Flor 25 as a 10, but I too feel its overpriced at well over a 100 euro's. The packaging and bottle are really swanky though. You do feel you are buying something special. Tastewise this one sits halfway between the Flor 18 (lots of caramel, oak and vanilla) and the Flor 12 (zesty and spicy). But its smoother than both. You can feed this to a baby. Its has no burn whatsoever. Also it is, as expected, more complex than both. Less sweet than the 18, slightly more adult and masculine tasting. There's a hint of old books in the smell and taste. But delicate too at the same time. Let it sit and breath, clean your palate and taste consiously otherwise it won't register fully.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 349 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Heavy oak, blackberries, spice. Great nose. Smooth and thick. Deep and complex. Vanilla, marzipan. Has a punch. This is balanced rum. Vanilla comes sweeping in at the end along side molasses. Very good. Better neat, but also great on ice. Great sipper.

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 245 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Time has come to open one of my two bottles of Flor de Cana 25 rum. This rum sells for $162 CAD in my area compared to $65 CAD for FdC18. As a result I expected an improvement over the FdC18, which I really enjoy.

The packaging is definitely first class and suggests this is a quality rum. In the glass the mahogany colour is inviting, on the nose I can detect oak (although not as prominent as the Mount Gay 1703 Master Select rum or the MGXO), vanilla, caramel and banana. My first sip confirmed my fears, this could have been an excellent rum but the unnecessary addition of 15 g/L ruined it for me.

Those who enjoy sweeter rums will enjoy this one but I feel duped for the price I paid for this sugary rum.

UPDATE: 2020-07-04

I decided to sample FdC25 side by side with FdC18 to compare and verify my initial evaluation and sadly came to the conclusion that FdC18 is better than the expensive FdC25. I cannot understand why the FdC lineup consists of “dry” rums, with the exception of the FdC25 which is laced with 15 g/L of added sugar. I likely would have scored this rum quite high (possibly a 10) had it been unadulterated. I am not wondering if FdC25 is not similarly in age as the FdC18 with sugar added to change the taste ans ask 3 times the money.
I feel cheated!
Pity!

Sheff Ma Zi 🇷🇺 | 13 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I suppose this top shelf rum is one of the best. This one is not for Zacapa lovers, due to the fact it's unsweetened.

Aroma is lil oaky, rich fruit (pear, apple skin), burnt coco, raw blanched cocoa nib

Taste is a bit floral, with little acid bite of fresh coffee.
Density is perfect for sipping, golden and amber color is magnificent
This one is a pearl from the rum world.

P.S.
Especially recomended with nicaraguan cigar (Oliva)

Michal Micko 🇨🇿 | 553 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Nice smooth aroma. Not so complex body as expected from 25y. Aftertaste is nice smooth and long. For that price I expected more...

williamsprokkereef 🇳🇱 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

This is the best rum I have ever had. Each glass is a feast to drink.

vladim 🇷🇴 | 7 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Wonderful starting taste of vanilla, dried fruits ,caramel, a few floral accents and wood...
Taste of sweet aromas of almonds, nougat,raisins,chocolate,cherry and apple caramelized, a bit spicy.
Finish: Persistent, aromatic flavor.

Don 🇨🇦 | 161 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

A deep and dark amber hue. Its aroma with hints of vanilla, wood and dark cocao, draws you into a smooth, luxurious taste that offers further notes of fruit, almond and caramel and a touch of oak. A smooth, buttery and dry finish.

Pat Bou 🇨🇦 | 95 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Just wow. Very smooth. It's my kind of rum. Close To the 10.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2928 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Flor de Cana 25 year old was initially tasted at the Flor de Cana distillery in Chichigalpa Nicaragua and the initial feeling was much more closer to a high end cognac instead of a sweet and flavorful aged rum. It is super smooth and has no afterburn, but it is very dry for an aged rum. If you like quality cognac, you will absolutely fall in love with this rum.

Matt 🇦🇺 | 17 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

A very smooth rum that doesn't fully deliver on the performance I would expect for this money.
It lacks in depth and richness and delivers instead in a smooth and buttery kind of way. I was surprised that leaving it to breathe in my glass for 15 minutes didn't really open up anything new. It's all just a bit plain. It's not something I will remember and it will move to the back of the cabinet now. Maybe I'll try it next year again but I have too many nicer rums.