Opthimus 15-Year rum

Opthimus 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.0/10
83 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
11
38
24
1
1

Rate Opthimus 15-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

83 Opthimus 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Yannick 🇧🇪 | 36 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Un rhum simple d'abord mais trop sucré pour être honnête. Le nez rejoint la bouche avec un léger goût vanille-caramel et une pointe de grillé. La finale simple, courte et peut-être légèrement poivrée.

A simple rum first but too sweet to be honest. The nose joins the mouth with a light vanilla-caramel taste and a toasted edge. The final single, short and perhaps slightly peppery.

Jup!man 🇨🇿 | 3 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Jantarová patnáctka z Dominikánské republiky, která se válela v sudech od bourbonu a whisky, má krásnou chuť po vanilce, čokoládě a kakau s jemným dlouhým medovým závěrem ξ;

Jason 🇺🇸 | 59 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Really more like a 6.5, but I’m feeling generous at the moment. Def heavy on the caramel and sweet note, which I’m totally fine with, but I’m not sure I would make this a go to for a sipper. Plenty smooth and tasty enough to sample though, and ultimately would do in a pinch.

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 500 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Ein wunderbarer Sommer Ron.
In der Nase, angenehme Aromen von Trockenfrüchten, Banane und Honig.
Im Gaumen werden diese Aromen noch mit einer gewissen Schärfe untermalt.
Der Abgang himmlisch.
Ein super Ron aus dem Hause Oliver&Oliver

A wonderful summer Ron.
In the nose, pleasant aromas of dried fruits, banana and honey.
In the palate these aromas are still underlined with a certain sharpness.
The departure celestial.
A super Ron from Oliver & Oliver

LOBU 🇧🇪 | 8 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Ok rum, nothing special but decent. Nothing to remember though.

Kristofer 🇸🇪 | 11 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This rum was an dissapointment the first times i drank it.
But after 3-4 Times i disovered the tastes that i had missed.
This is a realy good rum!

Immiketoo (PREMIUM) 🇬🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Simple isn’t a bad thing. I classify rums a simple and complex first, then into sub categories. Simple rums are unadulterated with excess flavors, sugar or colorings, complex rums have a wide range of flavor notes, colors and aromas.

All that said, this rum is lightly sweet in a natural way and has a good medium burn. It’s smooth and not harsh, and the nose hints of flavors without bashing you about the head with them.

The taste is not identifiable to me just yet, whether it’s indistinguishable or just beyond my palate, I don’t know.

Final impressions: this is a GOOD rum. It’s pleasant, not overly sweet and there is no offensive chemical additive taste to it. I liken it to a Zacapa just less so.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 448 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

As usual, I walked into one of my favorite liquor stores hoping to buy a specific one and it was not there. Browsing through what was available, I finally found a rum by Opthimus at only $46, which is still below my $50 per bottle limit. With the name of Oliver & Oliver on the box, I knew that it had to be good since I love their Vizcaya rums by the same company. Mine is bottle number 124 from 2016. It is a 15 year solera rum.

I opened it up and poured a snifter, then let it breathe for more than an hour. The aroma and taste are of caramel, with no after burn or horrible taste. It is a very good rum, but not complex enough to make it into my top ten sipping rums. It won't go to waste and I now have another expensive fancy bottle for my collection. I should be thankful that I have already found my top ten after starting out only two months ago. Thanks to all of the reviewers who guided me to the right ones.

Taster 🇨🇭 | 124 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I really like this one, just had it again.
Nose: caramel, oak, well balanced

Palate: really smooth, well balanced, some sweetness, also some slight sharpness, slightly smoky. More volume and body than many others, but not lasting very long.

Sugar: 29 g/l

Jesper Frandsen 🇩🇰 | 50 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Positivt overrasket - fin balanceret med gode nuancer

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Lot of very sweet flavor, vanilla, custard, butterscotch. Not very complexe with pastry taste and nice aftertaste. This is a good rum for an introduction to the range Opthimus




Brand Details

Name: 15-Year
Company: Opthimus
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 15

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading