Ron Esclavo 12-Year rum

Ron Esclavo 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

6.7/10
87 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
21
37
15
4

Rate Ron Esclavo 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

87 Ron Esclavo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 120 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Tasted in Copenhagen. Sweet almost rubbing alcohol nose. First taste hits after s second with a spicy bang, and lingers literally forever - minutes. Just too much spice for me, difficult to taste much else. Shot of water opens it up with a much more molasses taste and oily finish.

Thomas Nørlund Nielsen 🇩🇰 | 9 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Rigtig god rom, smag ag melasse og vanilie. En lille smule sprittet

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 327 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Tasted this in a hotel bar with a very limited range of rums. Would never have tried it under normal circumstances cause that I tried the XO just over a year ago and thought it was to sweet.
This one is also sweet but not nearly as sweet as the XO, which pleases me.
I recognized vanilla, fruits and chocolate but there is also hints of sharp alcohol.

Brian 🇩🇰 | 47 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I like it, lovely sweet taste, not as good as the XO but closes. Need to try the 15 YO just to compare them all.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2925 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I had the luxury of tasting Ron Esclavo XO, 15 and 12 year old rums back-to-back and what a nice treat it was on a sunny Saturday evening. Ron Esclavo rums come from the Oliver & Oliver group, so it does not surprise me a bit that they are all amazing since most of their rums are simply stunning. The Ron Esclavo XO has a very deep color, whereas the 15-year old Ron Esclavo is much lighter in color and the 12 year old is once more darker, a bit closer to the XO color. Coffee, chocolate and toffee have an amazing balance and when you move downwards from XO, which is super smooth, to 15 which is very nice to 12 which has a gradually larger amount of burn at the end. Flavor profile stays the same, but the intensity of the burn increases very gradually. The Ron Esclavo XO is much better than the Dictador XO Insolent which has a similar flavor profile, but it's nowhere close this good, whereas the Ron Esclavo 15 and 12 are much closer to the Dictador XO Insolent flavor profile.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 9
10/100 Color of this rum 9
15/100 Nose test 12
20/100 Palate test 16
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 13
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 85

Ole Bodenhoff 🇩🇰 | 46 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Duft: lækker sød duft. vanilie, røget, blomme, kandis og en lille smule sprit.
Smag: sød og lidt røget i smagen. Karamel og blomme. God lang sød eftersmag

Myrthe 🇳🇱 | 38 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Great rum to drink neat, lots of vanilla and caramel but with a tropical vibe to it. Great rum to drink during summer

Staal 🇩🇰 | 59 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Great amber colour. Very friendly to the nose with notes of sweet vanilla. Taste is really nice and sweet. A great after taste follow up with in intensive strong power. Absolutely a great rum.

Midar 🇨🇿 | 50 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Krásná barva. Ve vůni je poznat med a vanilka, ale i určitá lihovost. Chuť je opět vanilkova, ale ne moc výrazně a bohužel tam je nějaká hořkost. Chutnal jsem miniaturu a vracet se k němu nemusím.

Craiglee 🇳🇱 | 97 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

A bit sharp for an aged rum. Nice vanilla taste, but not much else. Reasonable value for money.

Michal Ernest 🇨🇿 | 126 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Opět jedna malá ochutnávka u přátel. Jen jsme prohodili trochu slov a přitom ochutnali tuto láhev. Není špatný a možná si jej časem pořídím.