Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2005 Shibboleth 16-Year rum

Foursquare 2005 Shibboleth 16-Year

Barbados | Aged | 56.0% ABV

9.2/10
22 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
5
12

Rate Foursquare 2005 Shibboleth 16-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

22 Foursquare 2005 Shibboleth 16-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted 3 months ago by Paul B from United States with 420 ratings

I had all but written off Foursquare ECS rums because most of them taste too much like bourbon. If I wanted a bourbon, I could save a lot of money and just buy real bourbons. Well, this one showed up as a new arrival on the website of one of my favorite liquor stores today for only $138. So I did some research before plunking down this kind of change. This was the cheapest price and some go all the way up to more than $400. Disgusting!!! Doesn't anyone drink their rums these days instead of hoarding them to make a huge profit?

One of the top results in my research was a review from The Fat Rum Pirate. I usually agree with his opinion, so I read his entire review. Shibboleth is basically a slang term to annotate that something or someone is entirely from Barbados. This bit of advice saved me from trying to come up with anagrams for it. This was aged entirely in the tropics for 16 years and is a blend of pot still and column still rums. They are aged in ex-bourbon casks, but somehow the bourbon flavor never rears it's ugly head. Lots of tropical fruit notes and that was all I needed to know to make the 25 mile drive to grab that only bottle. The Fat Rum Pirate said it all much better than I can, so just look up his review. NO DAMN BOURBON NOTES! That was my key. How on earth this was accomplished can only be described as a Bajan miracle.

I will savor this bottle because when it's gone, it will be way too expensive to replace, if I can even find another bottle. I basically lucked out today.

And I forgot to mention that it needs to breathe in the snifter for at least 20 minutes. Then add a couple of drops of spring water. On days when you don't want the burn, just add a couple of ice cubes, and for me, this is where this rum really shines with incredible tropical flavors and no burn. It is also very rare for me to increase my rating, as is the case here going from a high 8 to a low 10.

Update August 9, 2021: This is the most perfect rum that I have ever tried and now gets moved up to my top position with another bottle on the way to me from within my state. I am lucky to have found this backup. I only wish that the rest of the Foursquare ECS rums were this damn good.

Small 35773fad 66c7 4981 9202 7f18201fd5ef

Posted 1 day ago by Althaur from United States with 15 ratings

I'm uncertain about how best to score this ECS offering. When I first opened the bottle and tried it, it was rather underwhelming. Pretty "meh". I revisited it a couple of weeks later and it was much more enjoyable, easily up there with my preference for Empery or Redoutable. I had another glass about a week ago and it was all fire with very little enjoyment. I thought it might have just been my palate, so I had another glass a few nights ago, and it was back to being enjoyable. This rum is all over the place for me, which I am more inclined to explain with my own palate being the cause. I'm still uncertain about it though.

On the nose I've found brown sugar, molasses, vanilla, and floral notes. It has a very nice nose. On the palate I had a nice sweetness, with molasses, butter cream, vanilla, spices, and dried fruit, with a nice spicey heat. That's on the good days. On the bad days, it's nothing but heat, all the way down. The finish on good days is a lingering heat, heavy tobacco, and oak. The finish goes on and on.

If the experience were more consistent, I would rate this a 9, but I have to rate it an 8 due to the negatives I've noticed on the off days.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by Lewis from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This is the best rum I have ever tasted no question, and is why it's called the "pappy of rum". It's got everything, and is on par with the finest whiskey you could bring to the table. Barbados is rum, and foursquare is king

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Thorsten Bouillon from Germany with 13 ratings

Outstanding aroma. Nose perfect. Its a high class sipper. Hard to get a bottle. Must have.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 4 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 177 ratings

taste - 9.5/10
smell - 9/10
sweetness - 6.5/10
price/value rating - 2/10

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by Starrider from Singapore with 5 ratings

Tropical and dark fruits for days.. topped up with warm caramel cream. Dessert in a bottle. Balanced, complex flavours and absolutely fantastic. Loved it.

Ffffff

Posted 30 days ago by djswitch007 from United States with 11 ratings

There is a fruity and caramel note. Very smooth. Delicious and strong. After pouring the rum over ice, the flavor changed a bit. Definitely a delicious blend of many different flavors.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 1 month ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 189 ratings

On to sampling Foursquare Shibboleth.
This 56% ABV Foursquare Shibboleth rum is another beautiful rum made by Mr. Richard Seale. I have been a fan of Foursquare rums for some time and am just getting to the point where I can finally sample those.
This is a complex rum like I have notexperienced yet.
👍👍👍

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 479 ratings

Aroma is nice, fruity with some honey. Taste is warm, smooth and very complex with mailny fruit (forest, peach, exotic) and some oak + vanilla. Aftertaste is very long and woody. Little bit lower level of alcohol (56%) is perfect compromise, how to highlight the taste, but not burn and is suitable even for beginners. I would place it between Sagacity and 2008. Only one negative point is the price, that is higher than other bottles from ECS serie.
9.5 points

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Rumambassador from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Stunning but more subtle than some others before which serves as a point of difference within the ECS range.. I am already on my 2nd bottle and will buy more if possible as I think this might become a classic like Criterion. Very very easy to drink, beware!!