Caroni 12-Year rum

Caroni 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

7.6/10
58 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
1
3
6
24
19
1

Rate Caroni 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

58 Caroni 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

koomander 🇸🇬 | 17 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

bought from Italy. Together with 17 and 21.

Respectable rum.

Banana 🇮🇹 | 10 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

"One Piece"! Like the comics of Eiichiro Oda.
I'm talking about a comics of incredible, phantasmagorical and flaky pirates. The first time I've drunk this RVM, I've had indeed the sensation that the pirates' RVM was exaclty like Caroni.
Maybe the 50° that don't dominate the flavor, maybe the big structure or the striking copper colored or the salty taste with scent of earth, perhaps the simplicity of the bottle, but these are alls factors that make Caroni an amazing, evocative RVM.

I know it should not be done, but if it's possible, late in the evening, close your eyes and try to drink it directly to the bottle...

Fredrik 🇩🇰 | 50 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

With its 50%, 100proof profile, this thing will kick you in the nuts ever so gently. No sugar, no color, just a punch in the mouth. This is just lovely!

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Velier Caroni 12y

Smell: After an hour in the glass, it smells very leathery. I would definitely mistake it for a 1997 Bristol. Lots of leather, little fruit, some tar and barrel aromas such as oak with earthy aromas.
Not complex, very straightforward without any sophistication.

Taste: Slightly dried fruit, oak, then immediately leather with bitter substances (tannins). It's like Bristol 1997-2017.
Then tar is added, the bitter substances remain quite dominant with the oak on the palate. It has little sweetness.
The finish is a bit spicy with a lot of leather, tannins and oak. Dried fruit develops with oak in the aftertaste.

Aftertaste: oak, dried fruit, tannins, some tar

Conclusion: Not an over caroni, more like a usual 97. But the quality is okay, even if the tannins seem a bit too present to me.

Overall rating: 86 points

Sweetness: 1/5
Fruit: 1.5 / 5
Sharpness: 3/5
Value (200 €): 3/5

Rei 🇩🇪 | 117 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

This heavy rum was distilled in 2000 from the last Trinidad molasses and bottled in 2012. Golden to light brown colour. Nosing reveals smell of sweet alcohol and a oaked profile which borders on slightly musty. Palate has a very dry profile. It is quite hot, oily and spicy (white pepper with a little ginger and nutmeg) and it has a very long oaked finish with very little sweetness.

M.R.J. 🇫🇮 | 201 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Oily, smoky, and full of fruity notes. This one is a pretty heavy rum that is tasty. Of course no additives. The spirit of Trinidad in a gorgeous bottle.

Bengt 🇸🇪 | 7 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Amazing taste. Like no other.
Between whisky and rum but it is rum !

Oliver 🇩🇪 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

... yes indeed! If someone asks me how a good rum should taste - here it is! It is rough and pleasant at the same time.

Jesper Frandsen 🇩🇰 | 50 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Anderledes Rom end jeg er vant til - er meget positivt overrasket - smager af gummi/fad noter brænder lidt på tungen uden at være for meget

Olivye 🇫🇷 | 4 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Le style caroni avec une belle puissante en attaque!! Belle représentation de cette belle distillerie

django 🇩🇪 | 17 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Nicht schlecht,aber mit seinen 50% kann er mit den anderen Caroni nicht mithalten. Dieses kann aber auch an seinem jungen Alter liegen