Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2006 Sassafras Released by Velier 14-Year rum

Foursquare 2006 Sassafras Released by Velier 14-Year

Barbados | Overproof | 61.0% ABV

9.5/10
13 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
6

Rate Foursquare 2006 Sassafras Released by Velier 14-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

13 Foursquare 2006 Sassafras Released by Velier 14-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 392 ratings

The release of Sassafras was really frustrating. It was hard to get it, at least without a large network of rum friends. At Rumundco it flew out of my shopping cart during the checkout process because it was already out of stock.

Smell: The rum starts very aromatic with a pleasant and dark sweetness of burnt sugar and honey. It seems more harmonious and balanced than the usual ECS releases to me. Aromas of cloves, leather and orange zest are embedded in the sweetness. It is so harmonious that it's difficult to separate the aromas. Then I notice dried fruits and a very pleasant oak aroma. In the background is the typical Foursquare hazelnut with some vanilla. In this case, the hazelnut is quite unobtrusive. A really great nose with an excellent balance.

Taste: At the beginning I notice a little bit too many tannins. The palate gets used to it after about three sips. Then the rum starts sweet and mild with caramel sweetness and dried fruits. I also notice a honey sweetness and oak. In the middle it becomes spicy, tart and dry (astringent). Here I noticing orange zest with spices such as cloves and nutmeg. After that, hazelnut and oak develop with tannins on my palet. Some leather is noticeable shortly before the finish.
The finish is quite mild with little spice and of course still sweet. I feel some mint, orange zest and leather with tannins. A dry and sweet mouthfeel remains.
In the aftertaste there are some mint, leather and orange zest with a little oak.

Conclusion: This is a complex and at the same time very harmonious rum, which did not make the tasting easy for me, but it offers an exciting taste experience. I think it's excellent for a 14 years old rum. I like rum with cognack barrel aging. Velier has again managed to deliver in the usual or outstanding quality.

Overall rating: 92 points

Sweetness: 3/5
Fruit: 2.5 / 5
Spice: 2.5 / 5
Complexity: 4/5
PL (200 €): 3.5 / 5

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 8 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 156 ratings

If you like Foursquare this is no doubt one of the best so far. In my own opinion not better than Triptych but close to Destino.

A classic Foursquare feel. Strong nose. Burned Caramel, dried fruit/abricot, raisins, dates.
Good balance between nose and taste. I sense some spices as well. Really interesting and hands up for the new FS in Town

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 59 ratings

Nose: pickles, cabbage, fruit loops, unicorns, natural gas, cement and a hint of big bird.

Palate: Nuclear sub marines, octopus, gravel, some honey, ahhh nuts...

Honestly, this rum is amazing. I can’t place one 20th of the notes listed in the review above, as this is truly overwhelming at my level of experience. It tastes wonderful. It’s powerful and decadent and well worth having a bottle if you can get one.

I’m on my third tasting of this rum and it continues to impress yet it’s hard to define.
It’s obviously rum, it’s strong and the aftertaste and burn stay with you far longer than any rum I’ve tried.

There’s so much going on, the first review may be accurate, but I can’t tell. Perhaps in time I’ll be worthy.

Buy some!

Would give a 10, but as stated above, it’s confusing to me and I actually prefer other rums to this. I acknowledge my own limitations. :)

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 58 ratings

Outstanding rum that backed its sassafras name as aromatic and flavorful putting dark dried fruits, berries, tropical fruits, and spices together with a unique earthiness, cherry cola and root beer floats. Scary part is I tasted this side by side with Foursquare 2006 which was an earlier Velier Foursquare cognac cask release and that one was even better as it had many dark tasting notes similar to those of first fill Sherry cask whiskies.

Nose: Walnuts, Cherries, Bananas, Coconut, White Chocolate, Dark Chocolate, Honey, Nutmeg, Rancio, Blackberries, Raspberries, Strawberries, Papayas, Guava, Lavender, Cookie Dough, Coffee, Minerals, Vanilla, Root Beer Float, Figs, Pineapple Syrup, Peaches

Palate: Raspberries, White Chocolate, Raisins, Oranges, Cherry Cola, Sultanas, Leather, Pepper, Cinnamon, Tobacco, Bananas, Coconut, Root Beer Float, Lavender, Milk Chocolate, Molasses, Grass, Maple Syrup

Finish: Milk Chocolate, Strawberries, Cherries, Raspberries, Dates, Figs, Prunes, Pineapples, Mocha, Coconuts, Bananas, Honey, Spearmint, Leather, Tobacco, Cloves, Nutmeg

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 8 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 181 ratings

taste - 10/10
smell - 10/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 5/10

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by thebrowndram from Philippines with 8 ratings

Nose: Umami galore nuanced by a balanced sweetness. Beautiful cinnamon rolls. Macadamia nuts, cacao nibs, sesame oil, and a touch of balsamic vinegar. A warm layer of spice comprising nutmeg, chopped raisins, bay leaf, blackberries, and burnt ginger. There's an earthiness to it, too, mixed with hints of light marker pen.

Palate: Velvety and spicy mouthfeel; the rich flavors gently roll around and alternate, still with that characteristic Foursquare softness. The pot still spirit character is noticaeble. Lightly salted peanuts, drops of Worcestershire sauce, Pandan leaves after cooking Pandan chicken, dusty Port wine, and cacao, masterfully held back by notes of bananas, toasted cherries, and citrus oil freshly expressed from an orange peel. Period hitns of tobacco. This checks all the boxes.

Finish: Still, that nuttiness but, this time, of almonds accompanied by molasses, cherry stalks, and old bubble gum. Very long.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Toni (PREMIUM) from Germany with 25 ratings

Look, if i would like cognac that much i would be a member of cognac rating site. Besides that this rum is superb and once again Velier delivers a top quality product (complex, balanced). I also start to see why the high abv (casc strengths releases) make so much difference. I personally do not appreciate that much of cognac maturation. I still enjoy this rum very much. Therefore i rate this a weak 9.

Small 20210806 122221

Posted 1 month ago by pablov from France with 8 ratings

Une palette aromatique très large..waouw...c'est certainement une des meilleures bouteilles que j'ai jamais eu le plaisir de boire.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by CaptainMorgan.07 from Poland with 25 ratings

This one is my the best rum every tasted. Powerfull but you wilk not feel it.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 492 ratings

Aroma is full of dry fruits. Taste is very complex, starting with dark fruits, after a bit of oak and vanilla. Aftertaste is long and oaky with hint of pepper. Good Foursquare, but overpriced in comparison with ECS serie.