Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve rum

Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Jamaica | Aged

6.7/10
129 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
3
8
26
49
33
5
1

Rate Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

129 Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Raphael 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

It's a very tasty rum. It's quite sweet, especially on the nose. Since it's sweet and not very funky, this rum might be a little short on flavor in a recipe calling specifically for a Jamaican rum. However, it's nice stuff, and if you blend it with a quarter ounce to a half ounce of funky Jamaican rum, like Hamilton or Smith and Cross, in a cocktail, that will work out very well.

Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This is a serious Jamaican style rum, distilled by Wray and Nephew - to which family it turns out Chris Blackwell is related.

Not sweet at all, plenty of funk and esters. Not aged enough to be a particularly great sipper but outstanding in mixed drinks.

Helena Tiare 🇸🇪 | 110 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Tried this one at Blackwell`s Rum and Reggae party in New Orleans 2 years ago and i find it makes great rum punches and dark n stormy`s, also good in Tiki drinks.

Cory Wid 🇺🇸 | 89 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

When a recipe calls for a dark rum, I first reach for Hamilton Pot-Still Jamaican. My next choice would be to reach for this one. I'll take this over Gosling's or Myers any day. It does a much better job as a mixer, and overall has a much more pronounced flavor than your average dark rum. Only $20, and fantastic most ways you mix it (ginger beer is my favorite).

Bigbillyt 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Minor Update, I wish we could give half bottles, this has a little more going on than I gave it credit for. It is a simple, but delicious, mixing rum, bit there are definite, but subtle, notes of coffee, chocolate and vanilla in the finish on this one, easily a 7.5 and still one of my favorite mixers.

This rum is actually wonderful due its simplicity. It is a straight up expression of Jamaican rum, which is great to find in this day and age. The nose and tasting palette are quite similar, strong nose of molasses and not much else to get in the way. The other nice thing is it is incredibly smooth. This is such a perfect blank canvas to mix with almost anything. I just tried it in a Trader Vic's Grog and it was fantastic, light and slightly sweet allowing the passion fruit and other flavors to pop and shine.
The other great news is the price, for under twenty bucks you really can't go wrong. Sure, you could use other white or gold rums that would be completely absent in a drink's flavor profile, but this does a bring a Jamaican molasses punch to the party without strong funk or other notes that are sometimes not as desirable.
Definitely give this one a try if you like Jamaican rum and need a good basic mixer.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 447 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I went to a very well stocked rum bar this afternoon. This was one of three that I tried and they were out of the other three on my list. This was the darkest and tastiest of all three. The WOW factor for me was quite high. In a close second place was Appleton 21 Year. In a distant third place was St. Nicholas Abbey 10 Year, the lightest of the three.

This is a mildly spiced and slightly sweet Jamaican rum. The hogo funk is kept to a bare minimum. I was so impressed with it that I went looking for my own bottle afterwards, all to no avail. Somehow, I eventually found my own bottles.

Update May 7, 2019: Using one's imagination, this one can also be used as a Tiki topper in drinks whereby 2 parts of coconut water are used to save 1 part of white rum rated in one's lower third of their ratings. I would have included a gorgeous picture of this drink, but being so late after the initial review is not allowed. This Tiki topper simply puts any average tasting drink over the top!

Update May 21, 2019: Out of the two dozen rums that wound up in my top ten percent in my ratings, this one stands head and shoulders above all the rest when it comes to value (aka QPR). I make a toast to Mr Chris Blackwell for creating this fine rum that is also very affordable!

Update May 3, 2020: This may be my best tasting spiced rum, but at my advanced age, I can no longer handle any spiced rum unless it is in very serious moderation. My rating still stands however.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 516 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

This rum sells for only $18.49 (Total Wines & More, 2020 price) and at that price it's an amazing bargain. It reminds me a lot of the Appleton Estate rums, but with a little sweetness that makes it even better than the Appleton's to me.

Smells and tastes of honey, spice, molasses, and vanilla. A great rum for the money, and a great rum period!

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Now this is more like it. Smells like cherries jubilee in the glass, tastes like molasses and spice, finishes full of fruit and liquorice. Wonderful, a fine example of Jamaican rum akin to Appleton. Perhaps more aging would intensify the funk which, alas, is barely present. Still, it's tasty stuff.

dejvix 🇸🇰 | 35 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Farba jantárova, vôňa výrazne kokosová, veľmi príjemná. Chuť je korenistá, nasladlá, ale nie príliš sladká, cítiť tabak, dub, ovocie. Záver trochu ostrí až alkoholový. Fľaša na rum celkom atypická, skôr pivová so šrubovacím úzáverom. Za cenu cca 18€ stojí za ochutnanie, ale nie je nijako výnimočný.

Scott Nowicki 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

At first I passed this off as another celebrity-endorsed liquor, not knowing much about Chris Blackwell. But reading more about him and his heritage, I gave it a chance. And I’m pretty impressed! It’s a solid black pot rum. Decent neat, and made for a real nice Dark-n-Stormy.

Uhyrto 🇨🇿 | 121 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Klasický dark rum alá myers. Jen trochu dražší a trochu planější.




Brand Details

Name: Black Gold Special Reserve
Company: Blackwell
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading