Posting your rating...
Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Puerto Rico | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron del Barrilito 3 Star rum is produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico by the Fernández family, which has been producing rum in the area since 1804, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico. The rum is first blended and then aged for a minimum of 6 years.

A single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside in 1942 called the 'Freedom Barrel.' When Puerto Rico gains its independence the Freedom Barrel will be opened in the Bayamón town square for all to share.

7.3/10
147 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
2
6
14
30
42
27
19

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

147 Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

A little astringent at first, so I like to let it mellow out with an ice cube and breath a little. I think it helps bring out the natural sugar flavor on the finish.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Ivan R. Lopez from United States with 19 ratings

This bottle has been a staple in my house since I was a kid. My dad loves it, I still love it. They haven't change the formula and it works good for me.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Daniel Rodriguez from United States with 1 rating

Unique and complex flavors. Wonderful on the palate at.a GREAT price!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Gustavo Soto from Puerto Rico with 14 ratings

Very well aged rum. Pleasent aroma and intense taste. Spice, sweet caramel, vainilla, oak, smooth and...43%abv. It is said the "cognac" of the Caribbean....I couldn't disagree. I like it neat, but adding a few drops of water soften this rum and oh boy...the real taste comes to play..and yes!...oranges. Always on my bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Greg goldstein from United States with 1 rating

A smooth rum that drinks similar to a cognac. Aged in a traditional cognac method. Heavy notes of vanillin and oak. A touch of petrol on the first sip, finishes with a sweetnes.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Sebweeze from United States with 1 rating

My family is from Puerto Rico and had always told me about this rum. I finally got a bottle and I'm not disappointed! Great stuff!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 29 ratings

Very nice rum. Highly recommend enjoying this rum straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by PTGarcia from United States with 23 ratings

This rum has a heavy smoky oak flavor and sweetness that are very nice on the palate. I enjoy sipping it neat, in the rocks or in a drink at 1 to 1.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Yaron D. COLON from United States with 1 rating

...nothing compares to this smooth rum, in the leagues of the best Armagnac, however, made from sugar cane...

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

This was new in my liquor store and based on the reviews I had to try it. I have no idea how anybody could rate this a 9 or 10 but equally puzzling are the reviews below a 5. This is a "nice" rum. It's lacks distinctive overwelming notes, which is what I see now that I go back and look at the reviews. A lot of "smokey" (um okay - what is smokey?) Oak. Not so much. Carmel - maybe. It's not distinctive but it's not bad. It's smooth enough but not quite good enough for a sipper. Great mixer. A little strong alcohol smell but not taste. Doesn't burn as some suggest. I paid over $30 for this - and could have bought Kirk & Sweeny (12 year - my new old reliable) for a few bucks less. It's a few bucks more than Bacardi 8. It is a little more bland but perhaps easier to drink than Bacardi 8 (which has more distinctive flavors). I won't be buying another bottle for $30+ BUT if somebody offered it to me, I wouldn't make a face. I find the reviews on this to be among the most interesting (and perhaps puzzling) on the site. Recommend to try and see if you like but not if you have to spend $30+ for a bottle when you're old standby is sitting next to it on the shelf.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

I'm confused as to why so many other ratings are so high for this rum. I purchased this rum due to the high marks on this website and I am left with a suspicion about the valitiy of some of these reviews.

Nose: Rubbing alcohol upfront with a hint of butterscotch, wood, and cumin spice with the cumin spice staying after the first drink.

Taste: alcohol burn and Turbinado Sugar and light oak with more alcohol burn on the finish.

This is a rum that has a prominent alcohol burn as opposed to a welcoming-ly smooth warmth in character that other rums I've purchased for less/equal money have given me.