Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Puerto Rico | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron del Barrilito 3 Star rum is produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico by the Fernández family, which has been producing rum in the area since 1804, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico. The rum is first blended and then aged for a minimum of 6 years.

A single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside in 1942 called the 'Freedom Barrel.' When Puerto Rico gains its independence the Freedom Barrel will be opened in the Bayamón town square for all to share.

7.3/10
157 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
2
6
14
36
44
29
19

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

157 Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Captain Ron 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings

A little astringent at first, so I like to let it mellow out with an ice cube and breath a little. I think it helps bring out the natural sugar flavor on the finish.

Posted almost 7 years ago by J. Pla 🇺🇸 | 1 rating

This rum has great aroma that accentuates it's strong smokey flavor and is followed by hints of vanilla. It's versatile in its ability to be enjoyed neat, on the rocks or even in mixed drinks. As sipping rums go, an excellent value

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings

I know that this company has admitted that they have altered their rums. What is unusual is that it is not nearly as sweet as most altered rums - rather it seems to have a faked-up woody-smoky, almost phenolic taste.

I really wanted to like this but I don't. A much better example of the Cuban style is Doorly's XO or R L Seales' 10 yr, which have a similar taste to this without the offputting phenolic taste.

Posted almost 8 years ago by mamajuana 🇺🇸 | 148 ratings

This is a great rum. It comes of soft but that quickly changes into a strong smokey flavor. This is a great rum that reminds you what you are drinking. The smell is also great. I was lucky to find a store in town that had 2 bottles left. I may go get the other if it is still there.

Posted 7 months ago by Smlaz 🇺🇸 | 1 rating

Taken neat the 3-star starts harsh and then the palate adjusts to the caramel and vanilla. With rocks it’s a pleasure and with water it’s a joy. A lovely sipper. This is the stuff the locals drink in PR and I can see why.

Posted 11 months ago by Hector 🇺🇸 | 57 ratings

This rum is not for everyone it is a little spicier than your typical dryer rums from Puerto Rico. It takes a little getting use to, but after a few servings you began to enjoy its complexite and taste.

Posted 1 year ago by Abeld39 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings

Great rum for sipping and taking the time to enjoy it. By far my favorite puertorican rum (born and raised boricua here). Always keep a bottle home.

Posted over 1 year ago by Fourrunner08 (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 43 ratings

There noting like going barrilito distillery and getting a 3 pack of barrilito. My father in law knows the owners and we went and got a 3 pack right of the shelves P.R. before it was in the states.
Good rum with a good bite and tastes not to sweet!!!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Little Frank 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings

This is NOT the sweet rum you might have been looking for; but it IS a good rum! Others have compared to drinking cognac, and I would have to agree. It has some bite and smokiness that both mellow with a single ice cube and a little time to breathe. This also opens up the other flavours and aromas to increase the complexity. Not my everyday favourite, but definitely a regular option when I want something a little different (but still great) to sip. And I have to say that even though it's a good deal (especially if you buy it in PR), I do think it's wasted in mixed drinks.

Posted over 5 years ago by DevilsChariot 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings

This is one of those rums that's a road mark on the journey of rum. No, not everyone will like it because you know from experience that if everyone likes it it's probably mediocre to dumb. This rum will not be mistaken. Like Smith & Cross, Lemon Hart or Appleton Estate this is one of the rums that outlines great rum. Now, I'm going to tell that this is not one of those aged 18 years in a Hungarian sherry cask slung in a sling of pure minks fur and sharks gut sinew rums. Those are a whole other thing. This a great rum because it's bold and flavorful by itself and it's good in mixed drinks and coke. It does it all.

Posted over 5 years ago by Bob 🇺🇸 | 74 ratings

I have grown partial to this rum while visiting Puerto Rico and I have not tasted anything else like it anywhere. It's bursting with smokey caramel vanilla sweet spiceyness along with strong barrel flavor as expected from its name. It'a best with some ice IMO and it's caramel sweetness is noticeably more than Don Q Gran Anejo, Bacardi 8, or Mount Gay XO. It's less sweet then Diplomatico RE. Ive acquired a taste for this stuff but I can see some people maybe not liking it at first because kit has a unique barrely spice in the finish. This is the pride of PR right here and some locals wouldn't rate it anything but a 10. Update: still nothin else like it but as I've started to sip other fine rums w little to no ice, the flavor of this rum in that manner is strange and treated to reach a strong flavor that is half good and half acid reflux. I still have some things to figure out here as far as how they make this and how I feel about it now. Update2: I still really like it as a mixer and the added taste seems like a fakish caramel addition. Update3: just came back from PR this rum is fantastic with mixed drinks and even on the rocks but not the best sipper IMO




Brand Details

Name: 3 Star
Company: Ron Del Barrilito
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2923
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514