Background Image
Preload image
Ron Del Barrilito 2 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 2 Star

Puerto Rico | Gold | 40% ABV

Ron del Barrilito 2 Star rum is first blended and then aged for at least 3 years. The rum has been produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico since 1804 by the Fernández family, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico.

In 1942 a single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside called the 'Freedom Barrel.' The barrel will be opened in Bayamón town square for all to share when Puerto Rico gains its independence.

5.7/10
26 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
6
7
7
2
1

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 2 Star

Tap to Rate

26 Ron Del Barrilito 2 Star Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Strong Smokey Rum. 86 proof but seems hotter in a good way. Not overly sugary yet burnt caramel comes through. In a blind taste I would be tempted to declare it an aged agricole most likely do to the 3 years spent in charred oak.
Price point is a bit high but not so much that I won't buy and mostly keep it on hand. It's a solid rum great for sipping as well as mixing into those tropical cocktails that call for a Puerto Rican rum such as the 1953 Bolo circulating from a highly respected source. It is claimed the recipe comes from personal notes of barkeep Bob Esmino. The instructions also call for an aged Martinique as well! Brothers from another mother that certainly play well together as the recipe produces a fantastic drink.

mc 🇺🇸 | 81 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Unfortunately, this rum is harsh, sharp and unbalanced. Clearly a step behind other rums from Puerto Rico

Jerry de la Hoya 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I got a bottle on a recommendation and overall I remember it being pretty standard stuff, good for a rum and coke. Need to try it again.

Tried it again neat and dropping my rating... Tastes like nailpolish remover. I mixed some drinks with it the other day and they were terrible. Thought maybe it was a bad recipe, but then I swapped out my normal mixing rum in the recipe and suddenly it was magic.

Maybe they call it 2 star for a reason...

John frederick 🇺🇸 | 67 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Turned on to this one when it was recommended by bartender at resort in PR. Better than well, but nothing special either. Good in mojitos. Somewhat tough to find in the states in my area, but I see it on occasion and have bought it locally

Hauleyboy 🇵🇷 | 26 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Good solid rum but there are defenetly better options out there. Not my choice to sip.

carl 🇺🇸 | 77 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Not a sipper per se, but this is a nice rum for mixing and an interesting upgrade over typical mixing rums. It is neutral and not sweet with some very subtle/faint hints of vanilla.

revsteph (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 374 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Tasted at Laka Lono July 24, 2022 alongside the Three star/Eight year
This rum is not as sweet as the Three star/Eight year, which is aged longer.
Serving suggestion: pair with lime, perhaps as a Rickey.

ErikV12 🇺🇸 | 63 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

A big drop from the 3 star. It goes exceptionally well with some coke though

BlauFrau 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Has a funky tone with some white sugar and sweet corn.

Cool Breeze (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 560 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Tasted at Laka Lono on 2/2/20. Pours light gold in color. Toasted aroma. Big flavors of caramel and vanilla. Cloves. A fantastic hot finish. Yum!

Alas 🇵🇷 | 503 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

About to go from 2 to 5 star and off on a good foot, this is a great for a young rum, a bit alcohol forward on nose, caramel notes with a burn on taste and good lasting finish, leans sweet but not overly, would happily sip.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Ron Del Barrilito
Country: Puerto Rico
Name: 2 Star
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No