Ron Del Barrilito 2 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 2 Star

Puerto Rico | Gold

Ron del Barrilito 2 Star rum is first blended and then aged for at least 3 years. The rum has been produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico since 1804 by the Fernández family, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico.

In 1942 a single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside called the 'Freedom Barrel.' The barrel will be opened in Bayamón town square for all to share when Puerto Rico gains its independence.

5.6/10
22 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
6
5
2
1

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 2 Star

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image

22 Ron Del Barrilito 2 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

mc 🇺🇸 | 71 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Unfortunately, this rum is harsh, sharp and unbalanced. Clearly a step behind other rums from Puerto Rico

Jerry de la Hoya 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I got a bottle on a recommendation and overall I remember it being pretty standard stuff, good for a rum and coke. Need to try it again.

Tried it again neat and dropping my rating... Tastes like nailpolish remover. I mixed some drinks with it the other day and they were terrible. Thought maybe it was a bad recipe, but then I swapped out my normal mixing rum in the recipe and suddenly it was magic.

Maybe they call it 2 star for a reason...

John frederick 🇺🇸 | 66 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Turned on to this one when it was recommended by bartender at resort in PR. Better than well, but nothing special either. Good in mojitos. Somewhat tough to find in the states in my area, but I see it on occasion and have bought it locally

Hauleyboy 🇵🇷 | 26 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Good solid rum but there are defenetly better options out there. Not my choice to sip.

Alas 🇵🇷 | 199 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

About to go from 2 to 5 star and off on a good foot, this is a great for a young rum, a bit alcohol forward on nose, caramel notes with a burn on taste and good lasting finish, leans sweet but not overly, would happily sip.

Dr. Arzt 🇩🇪 | 9 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Ron del Barrilito 3 Stars is one of my favourites. But sometimes I want it bit more rough. Then it is time for the 2 Stars. It has less from the balance the 3 Stars have, but it kicks in a nice way especially if you let the sip circle a little in your mouth. More pepper then the elder brother and less fruit.

Triton Ogletree 🇺🇸 | 116 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Aged 2-4 years, it smells like alcoholic honey. It's reasonably complex, sweet and has a bit of a burn but it finishes fast so the burn doesn't linger long. It's a decent money making rum but nothing amazing.

Highlassie95 (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

I had this after trying the 3 star. This one was a little rough. Had to use if for mixed drinks. It is great when mixed.

Uwpaleoman 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Tried it over rocks first, definitely less sweet than the Guyanese rums (El Dorado) I'm used to.
But I did like it, hard to describe other than kinda bourbony which also works. Next put a bunch in a tall tumbler with a squeeze of lime and a splash of coke, and did some light parenting by the pool, and that worked nicely. $35 at the CVS store in San Juan. 6/10. Ok for sipping, good for mixing.

MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 67 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Perfectly good for mixing. Definitely better than Bacardi or Don Q gold but then again it is twice the price.




Brand Details

Name: 2 Star
Company: Ron Del Barrilito
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading