Posting your rating...
Hampden Estate Great House Distillery 2020 Edition rum

Hampden Estate Great House Distillery 2020 Edition

Jamaica | Aged

8.6/10
20 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
3
7
5

Rate Hampden Estate Great House Distillery 2020 Edition

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

20 Hampden Estate Great House Distillery 2020 Edition ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 6 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 177 ratings

taste - 10/10
smell - 10/10
sweetness - 7.5/10
price/value rating - 8.5/10

Small 35773fad 66c7 4981 9202 7f18201fd5ef

Posted 1 day ago by Althaur from United States with 15 ratings

This was the first Jamaican rum I've had that made me say, "that's funky". What a difference to the normal rums I enjoy. I liked it, but I can see only having this when I am in the mood for something different. I went back and tasted a few other Jamaican rums I had and was better able to taste some of the same notes in those after the Great House.

The nose was all bananas, bread, brown sugar, floral and a hint of sweat (yes, that's sweat not sweet). On the palate it was crisp, with herbal notes, dried fruits, and dark chocolate. The finish went on forever with a slight heat, wood, and - much to my surprise and enjoyment - the taste of roasted peanuts.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by oedelpino from United States with 35 ratings

Tasted neat in a glencairn
Nose: immediately recognizable Hampden notes of tar, rotting fruit, cola, maybe even bring olives, but always with a sweetness
Mouth: an oily feel with the fruits up front - mangoes, bananas - then burnt sugar, brine, tar even notes of cherry cola and licorice. Wild ride!
Finish: long. Next morning even.
This is something special from the nose to finish. Incredible pot still Jamaican!

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by thebrowndram from Philippines with 8 ratings

Nose: Outright synthetic funk: marker pens, rubber gloves, crayon labels, and dried glue. Cherry-flavored rootbeer. Memories of going to the cinemas with a large cold drink. However, what I find most captivating are the complex layers found beneath the initial pungency. Crushed walnuts, almost-rotten bananas, mango, oxidized apples, milk chocolate candy, and star anise. The scope of flavors is endless; I can keep nosing this forever. The oak influence seems subtle compared to what I assume come from esters prior to ageing. A few drops of water tame the funk and highlight the fruitbasket aromas and deep chocolate - a European brunch!

Palate: In many ways, most of the nose compresses and translates to the palate, but the central flavor seems to be a mix of the bananas and durian. A very brief jab of citrus. There are accents of ginger, lanzones, shiitake mushrooms, and eucalyptus. Rootbeer and old melon near the end of the development. With water, the spotlight moves onto jackfruit, melon, and menthol.

Finish: Goes on for days, with lingering rubber and durian.

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted 5 months ago by Paul B from United States with 420 ratings

After reading the article in the side bar from Gear Patrol calling this rum the "Pappy of rums", I was intrigued. I only had one bottle of Pappy Van Winkle 15 Year in my life, which was 12 years ago when it was very affordable. I then watched the You Tube video from Ready Set Rum. That was all that it took for me to get on a quest to find this rum that was nearly impossible to find within 600 miles.

So I went to a favorite liquor store that also sells the best boiled crawfish. I checked behind their glass case for this one and all to no avail. However, they had another bottle of Caroni 2000 that I recently bought, and this one was $30 US more. I then browsed through their regular shelves of rums for a couple of repeat purchases. And there it was in a white gift box with green trim. This was the last bottle and it was only going for $83 US, which is at least $20 US cheaper than anywhere else. This was my lucky day! And the crawfish were all perfect as usual!

I could just let this one sit in my Glencairn glass and sniff the aroma for hours. Tasting it neat after letting it breathe is almost unbearable at nearly 118 proof. Just add one small ice cube, and it will greatly reduce the burn while really bringing out the flavors. I am terrible with tasting notes, but this is a mostly pleasant experience. There is the expected Jamaican hogo funk along with a few of the "dirty notes" that I don't care for. All in all, this was worth all of my effort and a LOT of luck.

So is this the "Pappy of rums"? Not really, and both from a collector's perspective and this rum taster's favorites. I found more than two dozen that I like better, while being much easier and cheaper to find. I am still glad that I took a chance on this one.

Update June 5, 2021: Being bummed out with winning very little from the trifecta in the last of the Triple Crown at the Belmont Stakes, I sipped on this rum to "celebrate" winning while losing money.
What a contrast , and so is this rum. As I sipped on it, I decided that I initially rated it too high, so I lowered my rating to the lower 7's in my spreadsheet. I sorted all of my Jamaican runs in order to do this.

Folks, save your money on this overly hyped rum from Jamaica! It is good, but certainly not worth the time and money to find this one!!! This also confirms my theory that European rum tastes are TOTALLY different than the ones from the USA and all rum drinkers from the USA should simply ignore most of those high rum ratings from Europe.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 58 ratings

Nose: Cherries, Raspberries, Bananas, Honey, Coconuts, Caramel, Apricots, Cola, Maple Syrup, Violets, Pineapples, Mangoes, Vanilla, Cotton Candy

Palate: Cherry Cola, Bananas, Honey, Maple Syrup, Dark Chocolate, Prunes, Figs, Molasses, Root Beer

Finish: Cherry Cola, Raspberries, Strawberries

Small stevesspirits v4

Posted 6 months ago by StevesSpirits from Canada with 41 ratings

This latest Great House release is a mix of two marques: 80% OWH (low ester rum distilled in 2013), and 20% (high ester rum distilled in 2017, long fermented using wild yeasts and dunder). The base is molasses and cane juice, pot distilled. This Hampden shows up at a nice 59%ABV.

On the nose there is funk, alcohol, some bitterness, oak, over ripe pineapple, cherry, strawberry, kiwi and orange. Some water brings out some caramel.

The palate is creamy, ginger, pineapple, strawberry, raspberry, and dry.

The finish is dry, oak, and pepper.

Overall a very well put together and balanced Hampden rum.

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 8 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 182 ratings

Naprosto parádní rum, kde není tak moc jamaiky v chuti, ale je zde spoustu ovoce a květin. Určitě je více cítit estery než verze 2019, ale i tak naprosto bozi.

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 9 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 156 ratings

Hampden has a unique nose and taste you can’t really describe. It is so special and so damn good!!

The Great House is exactly what i expected... fantastic!!!
Classic fruity funky nose and taste with burnt banana and vanille.

It minds me a bit of the new Hampden Estate 8 years old, but this is a bit more complex. A mix of 20% <>H 2017 and 80% OWH 2013 with ABV 59. - Go Try It!.!

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by wayoutwest from United Kingdom with 37 ratings

Part of my sample introduction to higher price rums. Liking the 8YO, and reading the glowing reviews, I had to try this before taking a £100 punt on the 2021 edition.

The nose is different to other Hampdens I've tried. Very restrained funk. Volatile aromatics, blended really nicely. Difficult to describe.

After all that though, the taste is a bit muted for me. There's a fair bit of burn, and what flavour there is is balanced, but the burn is what I notice most. Finally, in the finish the funk comes up, and it carries on with considerable length. Not much to describe flavour wise.

Overall, I struggle to get excited by this. It's much classier than Smith & Cross, but also not that different either. I'd rather drink this, but at 3 times the price.... Hmm. At least with S&C, I'm happy to use it as a mixer, and occasionally drink it neat!

Small 20201009 154231

Posted 1 month ago by Steffmaus (TASTING CLUB) from Denmark with 59 ratings

Amazing smell, and very flavorful. With notes of pineapples, liqourice, vanilla and mango