Hampden Estate Great House Distillery 2020 Edition rum

Hampden Estate Great House Distillery 2020 Edition

Jamaica | Aged | 59.0% ABV | Pot Still Distilled

8.7/10
32 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
5
12
8

Rate Hampden Estate Great House Distillery 2020 Edition

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

32 Hampden Estate Great House Distillery 2020 Edition ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 12 days ago by Alas 🇵🇷 | 161 ratings

A more grassy/slight funkier worthy park jamaica. Nose is only slight funk on nose but then as the rum vapor seeps into your mouth you can inhale the light grass notes and the finish is a pleasant peppery burn. Quite smooth for a +50%abv.

Posted 4 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 229 ratings

This Hampden Great House 2020 is my 200th review on this website and obviously a great choice. Wow, my favourite rums so far are all from Barbados with FS distillery rums claiming top spots. Received a sample of this Jamaican rum and I was blown away, not like FS rums at all but totally as good. It was like combining a FS rum with the funkiness of Jamaican rum. At 59% this rum packs a punch but it is still thoroughly enjoyable to enjoy neat. I must now expend my collection to include Hampden products. Definitely a “10” in my opinion.

Posted 8 months ago by thebrowndram 🇵🇭 | 42 ratings

Nose: Outright synthetic funk: marker pens, rubber gloves, crayon labels, and dried glue. Cherry-flavored rootbeer. Memories of going to the cinemas with a large cold drink. However, what I find most captivating are the complex layers found beneath the initial pungency. Crushed walnuts, almost-rotten bananas, mango, oxidized apples, milk chocolate candy, and star anise. The scope of flavors is endless; I can keep nosing this forever. The oak influence seems subtle compared to what I assume come from esters prior to ageing. A few drops of water tame the funk and highlight the fruitbasket aromas and deep chocolate - a European brunch!

Palate: In many ways, most of the nose compresses and translates to the palate, but the central flavor seems to be a mix of the bananas and durian. A very brief jab of citrus. There are accents of ginger, lanzones, shiitake mushrooms, and eucalyptus. Rootbeer and old melon near the end of the development. With water, the spotlight moves onto jackfruit, melon, and menthol.

Finish: Goes on for days, with lingering rubber and durian.

Posted 1 year ago by Rumrunner95 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings

Nose: Cherries, Raspberries, Bananas, Honey, Coconuts, Caramel, Apricots, Cola, Maple Syrup, Violets, Pineapples, Mangoes, Vanilla, Cotton Candy

Palate: Cherry Cola, Bananas, Honey, Maple Syrup, Dark Chocolate, Prunes, Figs, Molasses, Root Beer

Finish: Cherry Cola, Raspberries, Strawberries

Posted 7 months ago by Althaur (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings

This was the first Jamaican rum I've had that made me say, "that's funky". What a difference to the normal rums I enjoy. I liked it, but I can see only having this when I am in the mood for something different. I went back and tasted a few other Jamaican rums I had and was better able to taste some of the same notes in those after the Great House.

The nose was all bananas, bread, brown sugar, floral and a hint of sweat (yes, that's sweat not sweet). On the palate it was crisp, with herbal notes, dried fruits, and dark chocolate. The finish went on forever with a slight heat, wood, and - much to my surprise and enjoyment - the taste of roasted peanuts.

Posted 8 months ago by oedelpino 🇺🇸 | 35 ratings

Tasted neat in a glencairn
Nose: immediately recognizable Hampden notes of tar, rotting fruit, cola, maybe even bring olives, but always with a sweetness
Mouth: an oily feel with the fruits up front - mangoes, bananas - then burnt sugar, brine, tar even notes of cherry cola and licorice. Wild ride!
Finish: long. Next morning even.
This is something special from the nose to finish. Incredible pot still Jamaican!

Posted 1 year ago by Paul B 🇺🇸 | 426 ratings

After reading the article in the side bar from Gear Patrol calling this rum the "Pappy of rums", I was intrigued. I only had one bottle of Pappy Van Winkle 15 Year in my life, which was 12 years ago when it was very affordable. I then watched the You Tube video from Ready Set Rum. That was all that it took for me to get on a quest to find this rum that was nearly impossible to find within 600 miles.

So I went to a favorite liquor store that also sells the best boiled crawfish. I checked behind their glass case for this one and all to no avail. However, they had another bottle of Caroni 2000 that I recently bought, and this one was $30 US more. I then browsed through their regular shelves of rums for a couple of repeat purchases. And there it was in a white gift box with green trim. This was the last bottle and it was only going for $83 US, which is at least $20 US cheaper than anywhere else. This was my lucky day! And the crawfish were all perfect as usual!

I could just let this one sit in my Glencairn glass and sniff the aroma for hours. Tasting it neat after letting it breathe is almost unbearable at nearly 118 proof. Just add one small ice cube, and it will greatly reduce the burn while really bringing out the flavors. I am terrible with tasting notes, but this is a mostly pleasant experience. There is the expected Jamaican hogo funk along with a few of the "dirty notes" that I don't care for. All in all, this was worth all of my effort and a LOT of luck.

So is this the "Pappy of rums"? Not really, and both from a collector's perspective and this rum taster's favorites. I found more than two dozen that I like better, while being much easier and cheaper to find. I am still glad that I took a chance on this one.

Update June 5, 2021: Being bummed out with winning very little from the trifecta in the last of the Triple Crown at the Belmont Stakes, I sipped on this rum to "celebrate" winning while losing money.
What a contrast , and so is this rum. As I sipped on it, I decided that I initially rated it too high, so I lowered my rating to the lower 7's in my spreadsheet. I sorted all of my Jamaican runs in order to do this.

Folks, save your money on this overly hyped rum from Jamaica! It is good, but certainly not worth the time and money to find this one!!! This also confirms my theory that European rum tastes are TOTALLY different than the ones from the USA and all rum drinkers from the USA should simply ignore most of those high rum ratings from Europe.

Posted 1 year ago by StevesSpirits 🇨🇦 | 44 ratings

This latest Great House release is a mix of two marques: 80% OWH (low ester rum distilled in 2013), and 20% (high ester rum distilled in 2017, long fermented using wild yeasts and dunder). The base is molasses and cane juice, pot distilled. This Hampden shows up at a nice 59%ABV.

On the nose there is funk, alcohol, some bitterness, oak, over ripe pineapple, cherry, strawberry, kiwi and orange. Some water brings out some caramel.

The palate is creamy, ginger, pineapple, strawberry, raspberry, and dry.

The finish is dry, oak, and pepper.

Overall a very well put together and balanced Hampden rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 207 ratings

Naprosto parádní rum, kde není tak moc jamaiky v chuti, ale je zde spoustu ovoce a květin. Určitě je více cítit estery než verze 2019, ale i tak naprosto bozi.

Posted over 1 year ago by VikingXO 🇩🇰 | 168 ratings

Hampden has a unique nose and taste you can’t really describe. It is so special and so damn good!!

The Great House is exactly what i expected... fantastic!!!
Classic fruity funky nose and taste with burnt banana and vanille.

It minds me a bit of the new Hampden Estate 8 years old, but this is a bit more complex. A mix of 20% <>H 2017 and 80% OWH 2013 with ABV 59. - Go Try It!.!

Posted 1 day ago by Mr. Rumantic 🇩🇪 | 196 ratings

The Hampden Great House 2020 comes from Jamaica and is the annual edition of the distillery. It is an 80/20 blend of OWH 2013 and <>H 2017. The pot style rum was bottled at a cask strength of 59% alcohol with no additives. There are 5800 bottles of this limited edition.

The nose promises a well balanced classic Hampden. Lots of candied banana, fermented tropical fruits, light solvent notes, caramel and a certain palatable note make the nose attractive and inviting. The blend surprised me on the palate. It's amazingly flavorful and dry. In addition to the banana and the ester, the blend shows a peppery spiciness and bitterness. The rum is quite creamy and buttery. I notice caramel and orange peel. The rum is strong, but the alcohol is excellently integrated. The finish is dry, astringent, with tannins and the ester lingers for a long time.

Not a classic Hampden for me, as it shows a lot of barrel influence on the palate and the strong spice surprised me. I like the 2021more. But overall very tasty. The rum has a great nose and is very versatile and complex on the palate. The funk just gets lost a little here. The finish is incredibly long and wonderful if you like ester.

Der Hampden Great House 2020 kommt aus Jamaica und ist die Jahresedition der Distillery. Es ist ein 80 zu 20 Blend aus OWH 2013 und <>H 2017. Der im Pot Still hergestellte Rum wurde in einer Fassstärke von 59% Alkohol ohne Zusatzstoffe abgefüllt. Es gibt 5800 Flaschen von dieser limitierten Edition.

Die Nase verspricht einen gut ausbalancierten klasischen Hampden. Viel kandierte Banane, vergorene tropische Früchte, leichte Lösungsmittel Noten, Karamel und eine gewisse süffige Note machen die Nase attraktiv und einladend. Am Gaumen hat mich der Blend dann doch überrascht. Er ist direkt erstaunlich würzig und trocken. Neben der Banane und dem Ester zeigt der Blend eine pfeffrige Schärfe und Bitterstoffe. Dabei ist der Rum durchaus cremig und buttrig. Karamel und Orangenschalen nehme ich war. Der Rum ist kräftig der Alkohol aber hervoragend eingebunden. Der Abgang ist trocken, astringend, mit Tanninen und der Ester bleibt lange bestehen.

Für mich kein klasischer Hampden, da er am Gaumen viel Fasseinfluss zeigt und die starke Würze mich überrascht hat. Mir gefällt der 2021 deutlich besser. Vielleicht auch die Tagesform. Insgesamt aber trotzdem sehr lecker. Der Rum hat eine tolle Nase und ist sehr vielseitig und komplex am Gaumen. Hier geht der Funk nur ein wenig verloren. Der Abgang ist unglaulich lang und wunderbar.




Brand Details

Name: Great House Distillery 2020 Edition
Company: Hampden Estate
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot Still
ABV: 59.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2902
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514