Barcelo Imperial Premium Blend 30 Aniversario rum

Barcelo Imperial Premium Blend 30 Aniversario

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.7/10
96 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
16
19
36
17
6

Rate Barcelo Imperial Premium Blend 30 Aniversario

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

96 Barcelo Imperial Premium Blend 30 Aniversario ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by Calmar 🇷🇺 | 25 ratings

Ром из Доминиканской республики, пусть вас не смущает цифра 30 на бутылке, она не имеет никакого отношения к выдержке, это даже не солера. Выдерживался в бочках из американского белого дуба и французского дуба, собранных из дерева различной степени обжига, затем финиш в бочках из-под сотерна Château d'Yquem.

Цвет - Чёрный чай.

Аромат - Средней плотности, со свежими, пряными нотками зелени, которые в пределе дают аромат похожий на солёное сало с чесноком, но здесь только зачатки, жжёный сахар, тростник, карамель, манго, бананы, кожгалантерея, трубочный табак - я ждал от него более десертного профиля.

Вкус - Здесь чуть больше десертных нот, но всё же к десертным я бы его не отнёс, травянистые оттенки, свежесть, лёгкая кислинка, в развитии проявляются древесные тона, капучино.

Послевкусие - Пряное, длительное,травяное, кисло-сладкое, манго, немного цитрусовых, табак, помадка.

Вывод - Очень приятный, живой ром на стыке десертных и травяных направлений, по сладости довольно умеренный.
По цене, как я понимаю, примерно соответствует Zacapa XO, по качеству на том же уровне.

Оценка - 9/10

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings

This is my 300th rating on RumRatings (I've rated rums from the exquisite to the vile) so I'm taking the opportunity to rate a very special rum I purchased several months ago. To get me in the mood, I'm listening to Bahamian music via http://www.portnassauwebcam.com/ (you can also listen to the music directly from the radio station at https://www.bahamianornuttin.com/) and watching live video of the Port of Nassau.

Now let's begin...

First off, this rum has a rich mahogany turning to an amber on the edges. Swirling the rum in my snifter reveals excellent legs. The aroma is fantastic. It's flavor is complex with an oakiness from tannins and I get the taste of vanilla, toffee, spicy pepper, black cherry, and a slight wine flavor. It has a bit of a bite to it due to the 43% ABV (86 proof) but the burn fades quickly leaving a finish of the oak tannins as well as the vanilla & toffee. This an awesome rum that I believe would be appreciated by those who enjoy bourbon as well as hardcore rum aficionados. Each bottle is hand-numbered. My bottle is # 2072 and was bottled in 2014. This rum is pricey but worth it and should only be consumed on special occasions. Like a 300th rating.

Now I'm going to kick back with another snifter of the rum while listening to Bahamian music. Have a good night, folks.

[NOTE: To those who ask why I don't rate it a 10. Well to me, a 10 means a PERFECT rum and I do not believe such a rum exists. The late, great Vince Lombardi once said, “Gentlemen, we will chase perfection, and we will chase it relentlessly, knowing all the while we can never attain it. But along the way, we shall catch excellence.” And that sums up my personal philosophy for rum.]

Posted over 6 years ago by Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings

Sugar: 16 to 20 GPL. This is not a 30 year old rum. From what I can find out it's a mixture of rums between 10 and 14 years old. I believe this is the best rum that Barcelo produces, and it's the best I have had from the Dominican to date. In the glass it has the aroma of wood, almonds, and honey-caramel. For taste I detect oak, some spices like nutmeg and vanilla, and sweet caramel. It's smooth to drink and has a nice warm finish. The aroma and taste have great potential but it just seems to be lacking in Complexity of taste and the Wow factor you would expect from the price and presentation. I give it an 9.0 for overall taste and a half point for the bottle. It's not a 10 but after a few more taste comparisons it might get pushed up to a 10. It's definitely worth having on your shelf.

Posted 2 years ago by vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings

It's the logical continuation of the barcelo onyx, more intensive.
Still mild, but with 43% of course heavier. The taste reminds me of brandy because of grape seeds.
The younger Barcelo Imperial is balanced but a little bit watery compared with the 30th.
Because of the higher abv and more maturation it has more intensive aromas.

Nose starts with grape seeds, dry orange peels and some grains. There is wood and black tea in the background. Intensive nose for 43%.
The taste starts like a cognack with black tea, then grape seeds with some bitter notes and orange peels. In the middle I get some sweetness and again grape seeds.
Some wood is also there and at the end the same: orange peels, wood and tannins.

This is a good and intensive taste, there are some other rums that contains this flavors. Orange peels are always a good sign of aged tropical rums. The grape seeds are dominant.
Would rate it with 87 points. It's great and intensive for just 43%

Nose: black tea, grape seeds, orange peels, wood, dry fruits, some pepper
Taste: cold black tea, grape seeds, dry fruits, orange peels
Middle: some tannins, dry fruits, barrel/wood, some tannins
Finish: spice, wood, grape seeds, black tea, dry fruits

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Fruit: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (65€): 4/5

Posted over 6 years ago by James Cove 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings

I was actually quite shocked when I tried this, having tried a majority of high end rums this one just didn't do it for me. Way too harsh, just taking a sip felt like a shot of jameson! Aftertaste is not as pleasant and long lasting as other rums aged that long. However the price is OK and the presentation is very nice. Overall I'd say keep one in your bar collection and don't bother opening the bottle.

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 514 ratings

I'm surprised at the low score of this rum (only 7.6 as of this review). If I were to guess why the score is low, I'd say it's either because this is a little strong for some at 43%, or they're mixing it with something like coke. But this works great straight for me; it would pair well with a fine cigar.

Has a very nice smell and taste of caramel, vanilla, spice, and honey. I read this was aged in Sauternes barrels, and I can see that contributing to the sweet taste.

I really like this rum; I'm glad I bought a bottle!

Posted 8 months ago by Rhoffer97 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings

Nice dark-gold color, light nose, very smooth going down. Nice flavor with a slight burn and lingering tingle left over

Posted over 4 years ago by Troy 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings

I was hoping for a big surprise with a fancy bottle and case but for a 30 year old I was disappointed. It has a kick to it but I rather pay a cheaper price for a better taste. Just because it is more expensive doesn’t mean it will taste great. A lot of fancy bottling but just doesn’t get it. Maybe it has been sitting in the wrong barrel or something.

I bought it because a Total Wine and Spirits gave it a high rating. I will finish it but won’t give it away for a Christmas gift.

Posted over 4 years ago by LarsF 🇸🇪 | 39 ratings

The package that this rum comes in is high class and good looking. A beautiful bottle that comes with a small wooden stand.

On the nose you get sweet aromas of vanilla, toffee, roasted nuts and spice. At first you sense some sticky alcohol but when the rum have been resting for a while in the glass you get the nice and sweet aromas.

In mouth you taste dried fruit, chocolate, oak and some spice. This rum is a bit harsh with some bite from the alcohol. The aftertaste is long and spicy with some oak, vanilla and chocolate.

Posted over 5 years ago by Peter 🇭🇺 | 91 ratings

This rum isn't 30 years old as many think. it is like 12ish. It's just a limited version and carefully blended, aged a few years after normal procedure in french sweet wine casks i think. But anyway, a very nice one if you don't need to do maths. You get 4-5 bottles of Barcelo Imperial ...and its not 5times better

Posted over 5 years ago by Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings

La inceput am crezut ca este un rom de 30 de ani dar nu este. Dupa aspectul sticlei te astepti la un super rom dar din pacate e mult sub asteptari, nu e rau dar nici bun. La banii aia orice alternativa e mai buna.




Brand Details

Name: Imperial Premium Blend 30 Aniversario
Company: Barcelo
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2902
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514