Papas Pilar Blonde 3-Year rum

Papas Pilar Blonde 3-Year

United States | Light

6.5/10
64 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
8
10
19
16
4
1

Rate Papas Pilar Blonde 3-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

64 Papas Pilar Blonde 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

DAMITJOE 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I just opened this beautiful bottle and enjoyed its almond, vanilla and lime aromas. Very drinkable, smooth, full flavored and nice finish. It reminds me of the now unavailable Orinoco Rum.

Alan 🇺🇸 | 89 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

The rum has a ton of flavor, mostly sweet - vanilla, honey, butterscotch, making it completely unsuitable for the the ultimate iconic reference - the Hemingway Daiquiri. I picked it up only because someone had suggested the combination. I tried it. In a word - NO! I'll have to experiment, because at the moment I'm not sure what to do with it. Once I've figured that out, I may bump the review up a notch.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Yet another rum with added vanilla flavoring and sugar...and a large marketing budget. How many people bought this for the bottle and the color? Good grief.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Sugar: 16 gpl. It's a blend of 3,5, and 7 year old rums, but has similar traits found in the much older Pilar Dark rum. This rum is not as sweet or complex as the Pilar dark. I can taste and smell Toffee, a lot of Honey and Maple, some citrus plus some lingering tastes and aromas from the Bourbon, Port, and Sherry casks used for aging this in.
It's a sipping rum in a pinch,and it does make a great mixer. If you find it, give it a try.

Soweek 🇨🇿 | 93 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Now this is what i call surprise. Really smooth rum with vanila flavours ( added, but really, who cares? ). Bit more sweet but not too much. Beautiful bottle. Satisfaction guaranteed.

carl 🇺🇸 | 59 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I have mostly stayed with dark aged rums. When a friend brought this over I didn’t expect to like it, but I was very surprised. It has a rich full flavor with a perfect amount of sweetness. It was great to sip with a bit of ice.

Edgar 🇧🇬 | 1 rating
Posted over 2 years ago

I drink rum straight, which is the only way to drink this rum.
The taste is beautiful with a bouquet of different aroma's. It is a litle bit too sweet, therfore not suitable for mixing, nevertheless a very good rum which is in my personal top 5 of most favorite rums!

Engwild 🇺🇸 | 153 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Very smooth, pretty sweet, It is a desert in a short glass.

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Like a 50/50 bar, orange and cream! Big on bright tropical fruit with a hint of oak. Bottled at 42% helps to cut the sugar, which there is plenty of but without being too cloying. $30 plus tax is a fair ticket if your into this kind of rum. Not really my thing and yet I have purchased this a few times now. For what the Pilar rums are regardless of additions and marketing, they are one of the few 'sweet' rums that I find interesting enough to return to every now and then. I like to think of them as a premixed rum cocktail! Neat or add ice and maybe a citrus twist... done.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 515 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

I found this to be a good rum, but like the Papas Dark and the Zaya, it's a little heavy on the added flavoring. This has a fair amount of vanilla, along with lime, almond, and oak. It's quite similar to the Papas Dark, but uses citrus rather than maple, and is 42%abv rather than 43% (I could actually notice the difference). Certainly a good rum, but I prefer the maple to the citrus.

ScottN 🇺🇸 | 35 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

This rum was definitely smoother, but less complex than other rums. It definitely had honey and vanilla notes, but I definitely don't think it's worth it at its price point. There are better options for cheaper, particularly for cocktails.




Brand Details

Name: Blonde 3-Year
Company: Papas Pilar
Type: Light
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 3

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading