Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Blonde 3-Year rum

Papas Pilar Blonde 3-Year

United States | Light

6.5/10
62 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
7
10
18
16
4
1

Rate Papas Pilar Blonde 3-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

62 Papas Pilar Blonde 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Mike Gregory from United States with 9 ratings

This is my go to rum for mixing, very flavorful with all hints that are noted about it. I love the dark and blonde both.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 89 ratings

The rum has a ton of flavor, mostly sweet - vanilla, honey, butterscotch, making it completely unsuitable for the the ultimate iconic reference - the Hemingway Daiquiri. I picked it up only because someone had suggested the combination. I tried it. In a word - NO! I'll have to experiment, because at the moment I'm not sure what to do with it. Once I've figured that out, I may bump the review up a notch.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Yet another rum with added vanilla flavoring and sugar...and a large marketing budget. How many people bought this for the bottle and the color? Good grief.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 88 ratings

Now this is what i call surprise. Really smooth rum with vanila flavours ( added, but really, who cares? ). Bit more sweet but not too much. Beautiful bottle. Satisfaction guaranteed.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by carl from United States with 58 ratings

I have mostly stayed with dark aged rums. When a friend brought this over I didn’t expect to like it, but I was very surprised. It has a rich full flavor with a perfect amount of sweetness. It was great to sip with a bit of ice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Edgar from Bulgaria with 1 rating

I drink rum straight, which is the only way to drink this rum.
The taste is beautiful with a bouquet of different aroma's. It is a litle bit too sweet, therfore not suitable for mixing, nevertheless a very good rum which is in my personal top 5 of most favorite rums!

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 2 years ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Very smooth, pretty sweet, It is a desert in a short glass.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Like a 50/50 bar, orange and cream! Big on bright tropical fruit with a hint of oak. Bottled at 42% helps to cut the sugar, which there is plenty of but without being too cloying. $30 plus tax is a fair ticket if your into this kind of rum. Not really my thing and yet I have purchased this a few times now. For what the Pilar rums are regardless of additions and marketing, they are one of the few 'sweet' rums that I find interesting enough to return to every now and then. I like to think of them as a premixed rum cocktail! Neat or add ice and maybe a citrus twist... done.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 491 ratings

I found this to be a good rum, but like the Papas Dark and the Zaya, it's a little heavy on the added flavoring. This has a fair amount of vanilla, along with lime, almond, and oak. It's quite similar to the Papas Dark, but uses citrus rather than maple, and is 42%abv rather than 43% (I could actually notice the difference). Certainly a good rum, but I prefer the maple to the citrus.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. It's a blend of 3,5, and 7 year old rums, but has similar traits found in the much older Pilar Dark rum. This rum is not as sweet or complex as the Pilar dark. I can taste and smell Toffee, a lot of Honey and Maple, some citrus plus some lingering tastes and aromas from the Bourbon, Port, and Sherry casks used for aging this in.
It's a sipping rum in a pinch,and it does make a great mixer. If you find it, give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Chaffinman from United States with 22 ratings

For a light rum there is an amazing amount of character here. The presentation is great as well.