Mount Gay 1703 Port Cask Expression rum

Mount Gay 1703 Port Cask Expression

Barbados | Aged | Pot and Column Still Distilled

8.6/10
11 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
2

Rate Mount Gay 1703 Port Cask Expression

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

11 Mount Gay 1703 Port Cask Expression ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 239 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

Sampled Mount Gay Port Cask Expression rum, bottled at 55% abv and was somewhat surprised at the seemingly mild aroma, perhaps a result of sampling this right after the Black Tot 50th Anniversary rum. Definitely detected the familiar “Mount Gay” flavours, which I am familiar with and really enjoy as the flavours lingered in my mouth. This is definitely a quality rum that I really enjoy. Not my favourite rum but definitely one of my favourites.

Morten Graenge 🇩🇰 | 208 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Bottle No. 4456 /6570. - 55%

Afsindig god smag og eftersmag. Man fornemmer tydeligt både whisky og port finishen. Den ligger nok nærmere 10 end 9.

filovo 🇨🇿 | 325 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

cenu, kterou bych si dokázal představit poloviční
barva : zlatavá
vune portské , karamel
chut: třešně
zaver : slabší závěr
hodnoceni 7,3
koupit ano z 30%
Alcohol 55 %

třešně, sušené ovoce, dubové dřevo, koření

Gastovski (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 183 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Aroma: Nasládlé - výrazná zatuchlost portského, muškátový oříšek, stopa vanilky. Vůně mi přišla nevýrazná a dosti zastřená
Chuť: Mokré dřevo, karamel, výrazně štiplavá až pepřová
Dozvuk: Dřevo přecházející do rozinek a dalšího sušeného ovoce, višňový kompot. Úplně nakonec dost hořkne.
Sladkost: 0/3
Ochutnán vzorek
I po odstátí jsem musel vůni doslova "lovit" ve skleničce a závěr dozvuku byl na mě až příliš hořký. Docela zklamání.

filipec 🇨🇿 | 250 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

taste - 8.5/10
smell - 8/10
sweetness - 7.5/10
price/value rating - 5.5/10

Althaur (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

I cracked this open last night and am now deciding whether or not I should buy a second to have once these are all gone.

I've only tried one other offering from Mount Gay, the Black Barrel, which I enjoyed. I decided to bite the bullet and buy this. So glad I did.

Nose: The port comes through nicely, with raisins, pineapple, brown sugar, and a smell that reminds me of fresh grass.
Palate: Sweet, juicy, jammy, grapes, cherries, fruit preserves, dark chocolate, and a bit of wood.
Finish: A dry, long finish with wood, tobacco, and some nice heat.

Andzin (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 59 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

This rum was recommended by friend who has long history with rums. I'm not exact lover of Mount Gay rum, that's not because they are bad. But simply not exactly what I'm prefer. But come on! This one is really top of what they do and even further. Considering way of producing where you get rum with no fakes ( suggering etc). I must increase mine own 9.3 to 10. One of the real best.

Just in nutshell: great soft smell, nuts and taste of port, kind of fruity with a bit sweetness. Definitely not much but still pleasant to have it there. Absolutely no bite, just warm and long tale. That's all I imagine great rum can offer to you.

I simply must recommend this to anybody who is serious about exploring rum world. Try it!
And that bottle goes into my cabinet, that's already done :)

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 347 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

This is a truly outstanding expression. Beautifully crafted. It opens delicately then coats the pallet with warm vanilla, tons of butter, caramel and a smooth port wine finish. This finish is long and flavorful. It fills the mouth and nose. Fantastic. Very well balanced. Very complex. Silky smooth. Really nice rum. Sipper supreme. Easily the best Mount Gay I have ever tried. Worth every penny.

Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 537 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

barva nahnědlá
- vůně jemná, krásně je cítit portské, karamel, oříšky
- chuť velmi jemná, více nasládlá, 55% není cítit, ovocná, třešně, portské, koření
Skvělý 👏

Michal Micko 🇨🇿 | 548 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Aroma is smooth and warm already with porto tones. Taste is strong (but you would not guees 55%) and full of wood, fruits and porto. Long aftertaste with many different flavours. Very good, but overpriced to get 10 points...