Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2006 Redoutable 14-Year rum

Foursquare 2006 Redoutable 14-Year

Barbados | Aged | 61.0% ABV

9.3/10
24 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
9
11

Rate Foursquare 2006 Redoutable 14-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

24 Foursquare 2006 Redoutable 14-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 9 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 181 ratings

taste - 10/10
smell - 10/10
sweetness - 8/10
price/value rating - 6/10

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 8 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 327 ratings

Updating my ratings tonight after sampling some older Foursquare. Nobiliary, 2008, Detente and Redoutable, in reverse order. This one stays the same. Right off the bat this 14 year old full cask strength let’s you know it. Without any breathing this great rum packs a punch with lots of lingering flavors. In comparison Detente is much easier to drink. This one is much more special, a small cube of ice mellows it out to a superb taste. I’m not sure why Florida is lagging so far behind in new issues, have had to order the past offerings out of state.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Pipestone from Slovakia with 43 ratings

I prefer Foursquare’s aging in Bourbon casks + something casks. In this case it is Madeira. And it is an excelent combination. You will feel madeira there for sure.
Pleasant smell,light alcohol burn even it is 61%,medium aftertaste.
Our local dealer started to sell on Monday 18.1.Today ,Wensday 20.1. I wanted to order more bottles but everything is sold out.
P.S.
It is really 61% ?!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by CK from United States with 23 ratings

I bought this bottle as a little gift to myself for my birthday and this may be one of the best presents I ever had. This is what I always dreamed a rum should be. For a 122 proof there is almost no alcohol smell out of the bottle or in the glass. But it sure has some warmth and burn doing down the throat, but in a great way. Love the flavors and spices, especially the way it coats my tongue, and it has nice subtle sweetness. This is something special! I can't recommend this enough!

Small 35773fad 66c7 4981 9202 7f18201fd5ef

Posted 2 months ago by Althaur from United States with 17 ratings

Please be kind as my nose and palate are not the best. Just cracked this open and tried it. That 61% abc makes a big difference! Yowza! At first, neither my wife nor I could smell much past the alcohol. I gave it a bit and seemed to get notes of grapes, vanilla, and cinnamon, all very mild though. The initial tastes on the palate were; some spices, a slight sweetness, hints of the Madeira, a very slight oakiness. It had a slight burn that lingered on the tongue and was dry.

I added a few drops of water and noted some nice changes. The nose was a bit sweeter, reminding me of a pastry at first. After a bit, it seemed to find a bit of buttercream frosting. That struck me as odd! It became more buttery on the palate with hints of toffee and a wonderful sweet heat.

Glad I bought two bottles.

After tasting this again, without worrying about teasing out the individual scents, flavors and notes, I found this even more amazing. Poured a bit, let it rest, and then just enjoyed it as I sipped. Not worrying about the minutiae meant I just enjoyed it. I've updated my rating to a 10.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Tomduck from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

At first this was a 9 and now (after some air has been allowed into the bottle) I would rate as a 10. For the price these Foursquare ECS are hard to beat. When you consider that Doorlys 14 is a superb rum that costs £65 but for not much more these limited ECS releases provide stunning value for money. Of course finding one in the UK and EU is almost impossible because they sell out with minutes of release. I can’t wait for the next releases…

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 7 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 156 ratings

In overall FS deliver high standard and this is also one of them. I think it is a bit “sweet” compared to other FS and it doesn’t feel dry compared to other FS i have tasted. Quite pleasant thinking of high ABV 61. Nose i sense black tea, Orange and salty caramel. I taste sour notes, dried fruit, some pepper spices. One of the more interesting from the ECS series i think.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 492 ratings

Aroma is wooden and fruity - need some time to breath. Taste is nicely sweet (natural only) with tropical fruits and wood. After comes the burning and taste become more dry. Aftertaste is long and nice. The taste is similar to FQ 2008 but bit more burning. Another gem from FQ Exceptional Cask Serie 🤩 9.5 points.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 59 ratings

I love Foursquare products for many reasons: They're delicious. They don’t use additives. They embody the true essence of rum distillation.

Redoubtable 14 year Madeira cask is an amazing expression in Foursquare’s lineup. It features ex bourbon and ex Madeira cask aging and a rich golden color.

On the nose, the high ABV is immediately noticeable, so letting this rum rest a bit is wise. After it settles, the sweetness of the Madeira mixed with the honey and molasses notes make me want to dive in and drink it. There’s a hint of pepper and some spice as well.

On the palate, the fruity and spice combine with sweetness and a strong burn that I enjoy. Definite honey and molasses notes linger as well as the pepper.

The finish is relatively short for a rum this strong. Most notable is the honey a cotton candy flavor that lingers in your nose.

Of the Foursquare products, this is in my top two, challenging Empery for top honors.

You can’t go wrong with this bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by Lewis from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

ECS never disappoints, Richard seal you absolute genius. The pappy of rum, a worthy title. If you see this pay the money because rum doesn't get better, my mind is blown

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Rado.V from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

The smell is definitely Madeira, typical, nothing less, nothing more. The taste is magnificent, it is like put sweets on your tongue and immediately change it to the lava. It so soft, but it is very strong. You can taste vanilla, madeira and oak, maybe a little coconut. Aftertaste is perfect - dry and woody. This rum is very strong ...... and ..... perfect. Madeira is there, age confirmed. Wow. I want more!