Clement Select Barrel rum

Clement Select Barrel

Martinique | Agricole | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

6.4/10
82 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
10
26
27
13

Rate Clement Select Barrel

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

82 Clement Select Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy Tee 🇲🇾 | 148 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

N- Sweetened reed with young banana and exotic duku skin that linger alongside the sourish and fragrant oak pine. Pleasing vanilla, toffee, warm oat and chocolate well boxed in an old cardboard. Retaining the precious rhum notes that just lurking on the nutty base. (88/22)

P- Spice up front, some honey sweetness and balanced. Released for mixing but I would also take this good quality up for pleasant sips. (86/20)

F- Medium-long, feel natural, clean and crisp. Toffee, toasted oak and soft tannin lingers for lasting impression. (87/21)

B/B- 87/21

Weighted Rate- 84pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Wood and grass on the nose. (The grass is very subdued compared to Clement's blancs.) A bit harsh at first—benefits greatly from >15 minutes breathing. This rhum is VERY dry on the palate. Comparisons with whiskey are easy to make. Still, fruity notes can be detected. It's amazing how much a rum can change with so little time in a barrel. (--update 10/26/17)

An interesting bottle; not too young, not too old. Though only slightly aged, it's a perfectly sippable counterpart to sweeter aged rums, and makes a fantastic Ti' Punch. Still, if you're deciding between this and one of Clement's older offerings (and you can spare the extra cash), I'd swing for the latter (or a blanc).

Overall, an excellent introduction to rhum agricole that won't leave you disappointed.

7, 7+

A.Greenleaf 🇺🇸 | 51 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I felt the taste profile on this was kind of like a cross between rum and bourbon. I like it. I feel this truly is a bourbon drinkers rum. Good neat and I can see it being good I some mixed drinks.

Wahlman 🇸🇪 | 50 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Smakade väldigt mycket whiskey och det gillar jag inte. Hade hoppats på lite lötare smak.

MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 67 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

I like this offering because the young age really lets the cane juice flavor come to the forefront. It's also quite spicy and bourbon-y as other reviewers have stated. Good for an introduction to Agricole.

John frederick 🇺🇸 | 66 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Was wary of an agricole having had some VERY grassy ones previously but this was pretty nice. I can't imagine using as a mixer, flavors are too complex. Definitely grassy notes but not overpowering, and a little bit of sweet. Some alcohol bite, but again not overpowering. Would buy again

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 464 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I have been looking for this one for years and finally stumbled upon a bottle today. For only $30 US, I was not expecting much. There are the usual grassy agricole notes, but almost no woody taste at all. I rated it by ranking it among all of my previously reviewed agricoles and my rating immediately jumped up from a 7 to an 8. I would say that I like it.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 357 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Had just a sample so this is just a first impression, but I will not hesitate to try it once again.
Clement is an Agricole that’s distilled from fermented fresh sugar cane juice at distillery Le Simon, where also HSE is distilled.
After distillation in a column still it’s aged at the Habitation Clement in specially selected heavily toasted barrels, according to their website.
Rhum Clement Select Barrel is a blend and aged for at least three years before bottled at the quite low ABV of 40%.
The aroma is quite weak, but pleasant. In mouth and in the palate it’s smooth and I recognize fruits, vanilla, grass and sugar cane. The finish is short to medium and smooth.
Overall it’s a very kind Agricole, maybe too kind.
Picture: My emptied sample.

hugorollo (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 9 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I just tasted a sample of this young Clement.
Kind of weak nose for an agricole, but the aroma you can smell is a nice mix of almonds and vanilla.
In the palate it is much better. It tastes of almonds, vanilla, grass and oak.
The finish brings out a lot of bitterness and raisin.
I didn’t completely love it but I wouldn’t have a problem tasting it again.

M. Geisser 🇨🇭 | 43 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

My luck is that I like bourbon. It really is an interesting rum that tastes just like a bourbon. It‘s an okay agricole rum. Would drink again but not every day.




Brand Details

Name: Select Barrel
Company: Clement
Type: Agricole
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Loading

Loading