Damoiseau XO 6-Year rum

Damoiseau XO 6-Year

Guadeloupe | Agricole | 42.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

6.4/10
26 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
7
11
5

Rate Damoiseau XO 6-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

26 Damoiseau XO 6-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

RhumsTeq 🇫🇷 | 32 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

I'm a complete fan of Damoiseau white rum so that I was expecting a lot from its XO, 6 years old, counterpart.

I must admit that it has been quite a disappointment:
- The color is a light amber dressed in a rather common flask, nearly the same as the Navy Pusser's rums for instance,
- The nose is predominantly flavored with oak, spices and tobacco,
- Under the palate, oak flavors are once again predominant. This rum is rather acid and dry.

In my opinion this rum is a bit too young to be really interesting. I've been told that the 8 years old rum from Damoiseau is better, richer and more complex than this one ... I'll have to try.

Frederick Lussier 🇨🇦 | 139 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Beau nez. En bouche, ça manque de délicatesse et de raffinement. On goute l'alcool. Mauvais RQP.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 536 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I like this a lot better than I expected based on the current score of only 6.8. It's one of the better agricole's I've tried, and the best I've tried at this price point.

Smells and tastes of sugarcane, oak, spice, tobacco, chocolate, and vanilla. It's quite good for an agricole, which isn't my favorite style, and is highly underrated in my opinion.

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

I agree with the last post. The oak, spice and tabacco are really predominant and at the first tasting I was really disappointed about this rum. I visited few years ago the factory in Guadeloupe and Damoiseau is a famous rum maker. This rum received award (Médaille d'or - Paris 2011) but I'm still not convinced...

Philippe Roquelle 🇧🇪 | 57 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Pas un rhum extraordinaire mais avec un caractère propre, un goût bien trempé qui moi me plait.

IBO 🇸🇰 | 193 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Naozaj jeden z najaromatickejsich rhumov od Damoiseau. Nálož ovocia i dreva vo vôni, bobuľové plody. V chuti neskutočne slivky,černice, drevo a marcipán. Naozaj treba vyskúšať

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 414 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Right. That sums it up. If you love agricole you might like this more. I Definitely like rhum agricole but It is not my favorite. This blows the Damosieau 8 year old away! Definitely a sipper. Sugarcane, brown sugar and some spice notes predominate. Very nice long grassy finish. It is balanced with a solid but smooth bite. A little tobacco and even clove notes here. I may come back and upgrade this to a 7.

Mazzil 🇮🇹 | 2 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Damoiseau XO was my first experience with an agricole rhum and it was love at first smell. At the taste it is well balanced. Long final.

Mazzil 🇮🇹 | 1 rating
Posted over 2 years ago

Damoiseau xo was my first experience with a Rhum Agricole. I love it from the first smell, at the nose is fruity with notes of chocolate and wood.
At the taste results well balanced between sweet and spicy flavor. Long final.

Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 604 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

This is a smooth agricole which has delightful cognac notes that comes from the casks its place within .
Dried fruit and burnt charcoal , that lovely oak taste on it .

Michal Micko (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 615 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Sweet aroma and first taste, next tones are already from the agricole family - fruits, wood etc. Body is "wild" with more different tones, shorter aftertaste. Good starting rum for agricole virgin 🙂