Facundo Exquisito rum

Facundo Exquisito

Puerto Rico | Aged

8.5/10
40 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
10
20
3

Rate Facundo Exquisito

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

40 Facundo Exquisito ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Rick 🇺🇸 | 30 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

A very good aged rum from Bacardi’s ultra premium line Facundo. Very easy drinking and enjoyable.

BermyNuts 🇧🇲 | 8 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This is my first review, and I am excited to do it on "The best Sipper" i have tried thus far. The bottle sets it off from the start with it classic design and beautiful labeling. The cork is unusual then a normal cork( it don't catch or get discoloration from the rum) placed in a brass top. Now the contents in the bottle, dark red in color must say one of the darkest rum I have ever had. Must be from the finished in sherry casks for at least a month, FACUNDO EXQUISITO is incomparably mellow in profile. From the time you take the first sip you be surprised how mellow it is, but after you let it a irate after a few its incredible almost sweet in taste, This is what catches me every time I drink it.Price was just under 100 and I believe it's worth every penny. I may go pick up the last one they had at my liquor stor and I hope you enjoy yours.

Chet 🇺🇸 | 192 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I have bought and enjoyed all of the dark Facundo rums and this one is by far the best. Much better finish than the Paradisio a d half the price. Great nose and excellent finish. Slight hint of sweetness with lots of dark fruits.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Let me be upfront, it was the bottle design that got me curious about this. At the time I though "Facundo" was just another brand of premium rums but learned soon that "Facundo" was, in fact, Facundo Bacardi of the Bacardi Rum conglomerate. The rum itself is a blend of different rums aged between 7 and 23 years in American oak barrels in the Bahamas. And if that weren't enough the rum blend is then finished in sherry casks for about a month or more and hand bottled in Tultitlán Mexico. I like the art deco design on the bottle. Photos do not do it justice. It is a beautiful gold leaf. The cap is metal with a wide rubber cork. Brace the bottle well when pulling that cork out. Mine was TIGHT. Made a bit POP sound when I got it out.

The color of the rum is a rich, dark mahogany fading to a golden hue in the shallower points of the snifter. The aroma is wonderful. When I tasted it I noticed a marked vanilla flavor and a sweetness to it (sugared?) but not overly sweet (tempered by the sherry casks perhaps?). Extremely smooth. There is a distinct oakiness to it but not bitter. The finish reminds me of toffee. At $90-$100 USD a bottle this is not a rum you pick up on a whim. This is a rum for special occasions and for display. This is an extremely well-crafted rum in a well-crafted bottle. Highly recommended as a sipping rum. It would be a crying shame to use it any other way.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 371 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Great rum consistent time and time again. Not my favorite in this price range but still warrants a strong 8+ so I had to give it a 9-. Dark rich smooth easy to drink. Exquisite bottle and cap. Update still love this rum.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 447 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

After more than six weeks, I finally got to try this Facundo side by side with their Eximo. As others have stated, the Eximo has a bit stronger taste, almost in your face. This Facundo Exquisito is much smoother, however it reminded me of my bottle of South Bay Batch 18 from the Dominican Republic. Now I had three to compare side by side. The Exquisto is definitely more complex than the South Bay, but something was missing from the South Bay. Hmm!!! What if I made a 50/50 mixture of the $32 South Bay with the $75 Facundo Eximo? Voila!!!! With this blend, I could barely tell it apart from my new bottle of Facundo Exquisito that ran me $90 yesterday. Shocking!!! I now have this new bottle ranked one notch below it's cheaper brother and one notch above the South Bay. It pays to experiment! The Eximo is still the better buy between the two. The Paraiso is simply too expensive for me to risk purchasing. This whole experiment proves that Bacardi is indeed capable of producing very good rums and trying to improve their bad image as bottom shelf crap.

Update August 16, 2019 (National Rum Day in the USA!): Being hell bent on finding the exact mixture for the blend mentioned above that will match this rum, I experimented further. Using 3 parts Facundo Eximo to 2 parts South Bay Small Batch 18 produced the blend that closely matches this Exquisito rum. The only way to tell them apart is that this Exquisito has more of a burn. So save your empty bottles of Facundo Exquisito and make your own blend from what I just mentioned at about half the cost. Your guests will never know the difference!

Giancarlo 🇵🇪 | 60 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

A very good rum, recommended 100%. It has a very good presentation very showy and striking, when served in a cup you can see a very nice mahogany color, and a very balanced flavor as well as the aroma.

Un ron muy bueno, recomendable al100%. Cuenta con una muy buena presentación muy vistosa y llamativa, al servirlo en copa se aprecia un color caoba muy agradable, y de un sabor muy equilibrado al igual que el aroma.

Mario H 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

After trying most of the high priced rums, this one is The Favorite. Well balanced, easy to drink, not too sweet, not too dry, not too strong, just right. Has all the tastes and qualities that you look for in a rum. In my opinion, there is no need to look for the perfect rum anymore.
This is a rum that you do not want to use in a mixed drink. Why spoil a work of art.

A must in a collection. However, it will not last since it will be the one that you will drink. Better buy more than 1 bottle. Not too expensive at $90.

Hcosta (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted 30 days ago

Very smooth with an outstanding aroma and flavor. It is a very good sipping rum.

Gastovski (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 183 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Aroma: Med, vanilka, marcipán, muškátový oříšek, trochu koženka, kokos
Chuť: Rozinky, skořice, velmi jemná
Dozvuk: Rozinkový (sherry), lehce karamel, větrový (máta). Vcelku krátký.
Sladkost: 2/3
Vzorek #17 z RumFest Praha 2021
Krásně vonící rum, v chuti a dozvuku ale toho víc nenabídne. Víc % by jeho "osobnost" posunulo výše.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Sugar: Estimated at 15-20 GPL. I thought the Eximo was a good rum, and better than anything else in the Bacardi stable, but this one is a step up from the Eximo. Chestnut-Mahogony in colour and very smooth on the palate. I am certain this was aged in Sherry or Port barrels as I detect a sweetness that is not artificial and an aroma that is very rich. A bit of oak and spice in the taste along with dried fruit. At first I thought it was a bit thin as it went down so smooth, several more samples and then the follow up taste and burn comes through. A very well balanced rum. It comes in an attractive bottle and is quite heavy, so there's no chance of knocking it over and causing spillage. At $100 per bottle it's a bit pricey, but overall worth purchasing at least once.




Brand Details

Name: Exquisito
Company: Facundo
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading