Mount Gay Black Barrel Double Cask 7-Year rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel Double Cask 7-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.4/10
21 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
12
4
2
2

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel Double Cask 7-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

21 Mount Gay Black Barrel Double Cask 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

lonefalcon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 47 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This is a golden colored rum with a moderately intense nose, for me largely the vanilla/cask aromas present. The initial taste is bold with a nice bite. The complexity seemed to fade for a drier finish than some rums in my opinion. Believe this will make some excellent cocktails and can be sipped.

andorufergu ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

New to rum, but the smell of this is amazing. At first I thought it was banana. As Iโ€™m going through the bottle, I am tasting the charred barrel, caramel, even cherry, and other flavors. Taste is good, but the smell is divine. What could be better than this?

bpCLT ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

This rum is good. Very good. Itโ€™s smooth and easy. My only knock on it is after trying funky Jamaican rums itโ€™s almost too easy to drink. Itโ€™s easily accessible in NC liquor stores which is a huge plus.

Nose is smooth, slightly sweet and vanilla. Palate is strong vanilla, nutmeg, and cinnamon.

Great rum, especially as an entry sipper

Lebowski ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 15 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Really tasty, no after effects. Found it in the Caribbean.

Rogo-zin ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 46 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

I enjoy this room. It pales in comparison to its triple cask brother, but it is still good. Itโ€™s a bit punchy with the booze, but I do like that on occasion.

JRoberts95 ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 21 ratings
Posted 11 days ago

Smoky, caramel and whisky flavours. Whisky flavours not my cup of tea but a very good rum still

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 404 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Lacks the depth of some older rums but a nice edition to their portfolio. Would not buy it again just not my cup of tea a bit harsh neat, needed some ice.

pr4wn ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 6 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

I rate this about a 7.3, so it gets rounded down to 7. This is a great sipper for after dinner. Sweet, with vanilla burnt sugar notes. Slight alcohol burn that tapers off to a nice warmth with a medium long finish. If you can find it on sale, it is definitely worth the price, if not, there are slightly better rums in the same price range. I always keep a bottle or two of this on my shelf. It is decent in a rum and Coke, but that is a waste of this rum, much better to have neat after dinner.

Yatoss ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 32 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Pretty pleasant drink with faint smokiness, vanilla and spice. A little overpriced, but still very drinkable

Bog Monster ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ | 31 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Be careful of this little one.... You might empty the bottle faster than expected. Sipped neat, strong alcohol and is mildly unpleasant to start - let it breathe and the alcohol subsides just a little but honestly not enough to be pleasant. Oak and vanilla begin to appear but for me the improvement is to minimal to want to sip this neat. Water softens the initial waft but still not pleasant. Mixed with coke - now this is another match made in heaven. Flavours of oak, vanilla and sugarcane dominate. This is wonderful and I can see it becoming another Mt Gay regular added to the "regulars" list of easy dinking rums. It lacks the additional complexity of the XO but it is a younger sibling. I have scored this an 8 because its just damn wonderful as a mixed rum and my palate clearly resonates with the Bajan and Mt Gay rum style but disappointed with my inability to appreciate it neat which would elevate this to a 9. Highly recommend this to all.

Gdr909 ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 4 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Rum made right. Good for day to day sips neat or a couple drops of water.