Tapping House Dark rum

Tapping House Dark

United States | Dark

4.5/10
13 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
1
4
1

Rate Tapping House Dark

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image

13 Tapping House Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Jay Crandall ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 12 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I was disappointed with Tapping House Dark Rum. The smell coming off this bottle when I poured myself a "Rocks" made me immediately think of being trapped in a ER room in a sanitarium somewhere in the third world. Eeehg! (no, that's not a real word, just my expression) the flavor was almost bland, it's like they filtered all the impurities out of the rum, but forgot to put the flavor back when they were through- If you are going to spend your money, there are MUCH tastier Rums out there for around the same price.

mc ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 66 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Intense and bitter. Dark molasses like. Rough on the rocks, not good with coke.

xrodriguez ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Nice mild flavor on the rocks. Very good mixer with coke.

Gregdeboer2019 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 13 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Aroma - Nil.
Taste like nothing.
After - rubbing alcohol?
Hey this is definitely a โ€œyou get what you pay forโ€ rum. $13/$14
In its defense itโ€™s okay as a rum and coke. But definitely lower shelf.

Brian Sepe ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 3 years ago

This is , without a doubt , the worst rum I have ever tasted !

Ray ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 3 years ago

I don't understand some of the bad raps, the bottle I just opened has a very clean, but a bit light, aroma, and flavor, it doesn't have a lot of depth or complexity, but it's an easy drinking "lite dark" rum. No great distinction, but no faults, and for the price a pretty good deal. You want a profound rum, you'll likely pay twice as much or more.

One thing I'm thinking, reading the other ratings, is that this is a good example of how much we taste things differently, chances are good that no two people taste anything exactly the same, just as none of us have the same fingerprints. So, drink what you like!

Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2925 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Had a glass of Tapping House Dark Rum and what a big disappointment it was. Bland bottle and label design. Light golden color. Pure alcohol straight to your nose and palate. Nasty burn at the end. There is absolutely nothing "grand" nor "reserve" on this rum. Its vile even when mixed.

Ken ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 71 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Good aged rum taste. Excellent value but I like a more mature composition than this rum provides. It appears that there is a divide among my Rum colleagues on the benefits of โ€œalcoholโ€ strength/taste and/or tastes of superior spririts like aged scotch and other whiskies. I lean toward strong, aged rums with pronounced โ€œagedโ€, alcohol flavors. I drink my rums on the rocks exclusively. If you like a good aged/dark rum that is not overpowering (with a good price) go for it.

Canadian Captain ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 67 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Upon opening the bottle, I would have though it was Everclear. It smells harshly of pure alcohol. As with most rums, I poured a glass to sip, and it was not pleasant. There are some very strong rums that are harsh on their own, and better mixed. Even when mixed though, the raw alcohol dominates. For a 80 proof rum, that was very surprising. There are very few rums that I won't drink, and this is very high on that list. It simply is not pleasant. The only case I would make for using this would be to hide the flavour in a large blended drink, and this would simply be to use it up.

Bruce ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 6 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

You're supposed to be able to sip this stuff. Well, physically, you can do so, but I really don't recommend it. It's just not a serious effort at making a dark rum. The label and the bottling conjure images of warm, Southern nights, a rocking chair on the veranda and the pondering of shall I have a julep or some rum. Well with this stuff absolutely go for the julep.




Brand Details

Name: Dark
Company: Tapping House
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading