Posting your rating...
Providence 2019 First Drops rum

Providence 2019 First Drops

Haiti | Light | 57.0% ABV

8.3/10
7 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
2

Rate Providence 2019 First Drops

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

7 Providence 2019 First Drops ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 10 days ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 249 ratings

The Distillery situated in Port-au-Prince opened up in 2018. The founders is the Barbancourt-Linge family in collaboration La Maison & Velier.
Providence “First Drops” is the first release of the distillery. It’s an unaged rum distilled from syrup and fresh cane juice from sugar cane that comes from the Clairin producer Michel Sajous.
The raw material is fermented and distilled separately. The resulting mix after blended is 85-90% from syrup distillate and 10-15% from fresh juice distillate and thereafter distilled a second time. The final distillate at 72% ABV is reduced to 57% ABV before bottling.
The nose is intense and I detect cane and elderberry. The palate is smooth, fruity and sweet from the cane. I detect pineapple and strawberry. The finish is elegant and the cane juice sweetness remains together with some peppery notes.
Pictures: My opened bottle & My Haitian shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 84 ratings

Wooow. Toto je fakt zážitok. Nestarený rum z Haiti vyrobený z čerstvej štavy z cukrovej trstiny a sirupu o sile 57%. Vôňa silná ale príjemná. Cukrová trstina, baza a ja v nej cítim aj detskú jahodovú zubnú pastu. :) Chutí najprv sladko a v ustach vôbec nepáli. Sila sa prejaví až po prehltnutí keď ho ucítite až v bruchu. Je to fakt zážitok a ľutujem že som si nekúpil celú flašu.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Raven from France with 56 ratings

A lot of things happening in here... Like the most complex clairin, and with subtleties, from olives to bubblegum. Unusual stuff, sometimes reminiscent of Savanna whites.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 6 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 177 ratings

taste - 8/10
smell - 8.5/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 7/10

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 174 ratings

Tento rum z Haiti je neskutočne podarený. Už po naliati je ho plná miestnosť, nálož ovocia vám vrazí do nosa. Chuť krásne vyvážená, ovocná, podobná Clairinom. First Drops sa skutočne vydaril

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 479 ratings

Aroma is fruity and grass. Taste is big surprise. Explosion of flavours - citric, grass and cherry fresh! Aftertaste is long and complex. With closed eyes I would easy guess, that this can be some fruit (cherry) distillate. Very specific rum but in a good way.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 74 ratings

"This project is a result of collaboration between the Barbancourt-Linge family (descendants of the famous Barbancourt rum dynasty) and La Maison & Velier. The fruit of this partnership is the rum Providence. The distillery’s first bottling is called First Drops, a white rum produced from cane syrup and fresh cane juice. The succulent Cristalline variety of sugar cane used is sourced from Michel Sajous in the north of Port-au-Prince. Distillation is completed in a steam-heated pot still"

Abv 57%

Nose: Intense explosion of rubber and tropical fruit, most notably soursop also guava and banana, hugely briny also smoky
Taste: Again explosion of brine, smoke rubber, soursop then a lot of sour citric aromas, then overripe banana and grassiness.
Finish: Quite hot but manageable, leaves campfirey bit rubbery fruit aromas lingering for a long while.

Amazing new project, not flat in any way, stands out in the rum market and is different enough from the clairins to warrant a buy for everyone interested.