Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark | 43.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels.

6.7/10
411 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
14
30
97
158
85
18
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

411 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

lonefalcon 🇺🇸 | 47 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

A light and fruity sweet aroma. Light flavor, not very thick, with a burn on the back. Not bad, but have had better.

thefatrumpirate 🇬🇧 | 121 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Charred oak barrel notes open up to leave you with a classic pot still Bajan rum.

Different and very nice if you like an oaky feel to your drink. A very nice sipper

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

When I first tried this rum a couple years ago, it was relatively new to the market, and there seemed to be a lot of marketing hype around it. I thought it was all a bit overblown, and the introductory price was somewhat inflated.

Now that the price seems to have come down a bit, and I've done quite a bit more tasting of this and other rums, I'm appreciating it more and more. In many ways it seems more "grown up" than many other over-sweetened rums on the market. I think part of this is Mount Gay's attempt to dig into the whiskey market—a drink that is more highly esteemed (and priced) in this country. That certainly manifests itself in the flavor profile, which is dry, oaky, and slightly spicy. With characteristic sweetness and a caramel nose, you certainly wouldn't confuse it for whiskey. This is a proud rum. I give it a 7.5, and round up for its somewhat unique spot in the market. With a little more aging to polish off its somewhat abrasive edges, it would be a solid 8.

As it is, Mount Gay Black Barrel is a versatile rum that makes a great Old Fashioned, a solid Bajan Rum Punch, and a decent sipper. Just don't spend more than $30 USD (2/2017) on a bottle if you can help it.

BoozeHound58 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted 6 years ago

I enjoy sipping bourbon and whisky, preferably neat. Occasionally I'll add a teaspoon of water just to open up the bouquet. Feeling the need for a change of pace, I went on a safari for something bearing the Mount Gay label, at the suggestion of a friend. I opted for the Black Barrel, because I just happened to have a bit extra to spend. Damn good stuff, sir! I don't have much experience with rum, but from the very first sip I LOVED this stuff. I was floored by the vanilla, raisin and floral taste -- and that peppery after taste! All I can say is YOWSA!

SP3000 🇬🇧 | 8 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This is a fantastic rum, the price is about right for it. I'm not sure, why people are so divided on this one.
I'd recommend it on the rocks or straight. There's a hint of cherry in it it, towards the end it has a strong note of charred barrels. Recommended.

Mark 🇬🇧 | 3 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Having just started drinking rum from brandy I find this to be my favourite, I always drink straight and this is a very colourful drink taste wise. Would recommend to anyone!

Brendan S 🇨🇦 | 55 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Nose: Slightly floral.
Feel: Clean with not too much burn.
Taste: Sugar, LOTS of wood. A little nutty.
Presentation: Very nice long neck bottle. Distinctive. I really what Barbados has done with the country of origin sticker. More countries should do it.
Price: 40 CAD.

A little cheaper than the XO and it shows. Lacking the bold body but still quite adequate for sipping. I think I will be using this mainly for drinks that call for a Barbados rum so I have more XO left over for sipping.

LiquidBrass 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

I didn't like the harsh bite of this rum. Very strong alcohol burn, and hints of pepper in the aftertaste. If asked for a one-word description, I would call this rum "unfinished".

PitBullCH 🇨🇭 | 27 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Found this at my local Getränkemarkt and was not too expensive for an alleged small batch rum. Found it rather medicinal, slightly rough, no real redeeming features, would not buy again.

Barllow 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Very good! One of my favorites. I drink it neat or with just ice.

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Bottled at 43% which is always a good thing for rum. Candy cola on the nose and palette. It opens up to a bit of lemon grass and smoke. The body is on the thin side which helps keep things bright. Finish is lingering and somewhat sweet but not a sugar bomb by any means.
Can’t go wrong with the Black Barrel in your tiki drinks either. I prefer this over the Black Seal or Plantation rums for mixing.
So it’s a sipper and a mixer at a great price!! That makes this a bit of a genius offering from one of the great rum brands out there. Solid