Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark | 43.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels.

6.7/10
411 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
14
30
97
158
85
18
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

411 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

TommyVinegar 🇧🇪 | 46 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

If you have a sweet tooth or a delicate palate / weak stomach, you might find this a bit harsh. Whisky drinkers (like me, although I prefer rum) will like this. It's dry, it's oakey, it has some burn and it's relatively high on alchohol-content at 43%. It's the kind of rum that likes to flex its muscles. There is a caramel sweetness hidden in there, but you'll have to look for it. Pleasant though, when you eventually find it.

Bryan Sprang 🇩🇰 | 21 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

A sharp taste of alcohol but a long after taste of oak.

Rongo Tiki 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

A solid choice for a affordable sipper with a nice finish.

Vesslan 5 🇸🇪 | 37 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

funkar nog bäst i drinken……………………

BostonFisher 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Good mixing rum that can make due as a sipper in a pinch.

mamajuana 🇺🇸 | 148 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

This review is for a special batch that my local liquor group chose when they went to Barbados and hand selected a barrel after many tastings. It was barrel 1097. This specific bottling was no less than a 9 excellent overall. Very smooth and sweeter than the mount gay XO. The only part that I would rate low was the aroma. This overall is a excellent sipper with a long finish.

Helena Tiare 🇸🇪 | 110 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Flavorful rum, great to sip and mix!

Doug 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

picked this up when i purchased a bottle of Mount Gay Extra Old. Not bad for a very reasonably priced rum. Not especially smooth but not harsh.

Dustin Doran 🇺🇸 | 78 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This stuff was peculiar. Light and young on the initial taste, very akin to Mount Gay Eclipse. Then here comes the spice and dryness from the Bourbon barreling hiding the aggressive tannins and finally finishing with a tropical fruit sensation of mango. This one requires a second chance.

Scott 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Just tried this as it came as a sampler with my bottle of Elipse I just bought. Not to bad on the rocks, smoother than Eclipse but I need to spend more time with it. It is stonger in that it's 86 proof vs 80 for Elipse. I will be buying a bottle and updating my review at a later date.

forrest loftis 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

A pity all rum makers don't limit their efforts to perhaps four offerings. I bought this in a location with very limited choices and I'm sure Mount Gay has much better to offer. This is solely my opinion on of this particular Mount Gay. Harsh, dry and biting burn. Again not for sipping. I give it a 6.