Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark | 43.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels.

6.7/10
411 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
14
30
97
158
85
18
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

411 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

TommyVinegar πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 46 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

If you have a sweet tooth or a delicate palate / weak stomach, you might find this a bit harsh. Whisky drinkers (like me, although I prefer rum) will like this. It's dry, it's oakey, it has some burn and it's relatively high on alchohol-content at 43%. It's the kind of rum that likes to flex its muscles. There is a caramel sweetness hidden in there, but you'll have to look for it. Pleasant though, when you eventually find it.

Herman πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 103 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

In reading some of the other reviews, I would have to agree that it does have a bit of an oakiness. A fairly clean rum but not a lot of body as compared to others.

Surfyguitar πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 56 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Drinkable but XO is better value. Can drink straight up or mix.

A. Quentin Perry πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 10 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This isn't a bad rum, but I just expected more. I didn't find any mention of aging years on the bottle or web, so, it may be produced much quicker then most anejo rums. I thought that the body would be fuller and have a much longer finish, two things that are important to me. Buy the Mount Gay Extra Old, it's worth the money. Now, maybe if they aged this as long...?

RumRunner πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 38 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

If you prefer bourbon to rum you'll like Mount Gay Black Barrel 1703. Has strong oak hints but lacks smoothness and complexity. A bit of a burn on the finish. Not a sipper - better as a mixer. Drinkable and not bad - well done but more of a bourbon than a great rum.

Ksilver πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 14 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I bought this rum on the recommendation of a liquor store employee and I was actually quite disappointment.

The taste is quite sharp, a bit woody, and not smooth enough to thoroughly enjoy straight. I don't see enough value to excuse paying a third more for this over your traditional mixing rums.

joe πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 14 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Not quite a sipping rum. A solid every day rum. The woody char flavor is actually pretty enjoyable once you take the edge off with just a splash of cola

Eanousa πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 53 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Agreed with the unfinished comment, think I prefer the standard Mount Gay for mixing drinks. I wouldn't sip this one, the woody flavors thinly mask the undeveloped alcohol taste.

bigandy πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 3 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Good sipping rum. Not going to change your life and not a patch on a decent malt whiskey but worth drinking.

Eric Montgomery πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 23 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

An excellent gold with a taste of char on the back end. A little on the sharp side, but not overly so look to Zacapa for a little more refinement, but keep this handy when you're looking not to spend quite as much.

DelectaBlee πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 59 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I'd rate this 7.5 if I could. This is a good choice for fans of Mount Gay rum who want something more flavorful and complex than Eclipse Gold. I've also recommended this to friends who like Bourbon and want to explore rum as it's one of the most whiskey-like rums I've tasted. This is a little harsh "neat" or "straight up" so I enjoy this on the rocks with just a little water. It has a great flavor with character and depth. It's a good choice for rum variations of cocktails like the Old Fashioned or a Manhattan.