Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Aged | 43% ABV | Pot and Column Still

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels.

6.7/10
448 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
1
5
16
32
101
176
94
19
4

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

448 Mount Gay Black Barrel Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Bottled at 43% which is always a good thing for rum. Candy cola on the nose and palette. It opens up to a bit of lemon grass and smoke. The body is on the thin side which helps keep things bright. Finish is lingering and somewhat sweet but not a sugar bomb by any means.
Can’t go wrong with the Black Barrel in your tiki drinks either. I prefer this over the Black Seal or Plantation rums for mixing.
So it’s a sipper and a mixer at a great price!! That makes this a bit of a genius offering from one of the great rum brands out there. Solid

The Sticky Green 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

This was recommended to me from a liquor store owner. He sure knew what he was talking about very nice rum.

Shokas 🇱🇹 | 38 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

It seems to be quite decent rum, flavourful. It's tastes more like whiskey/bourbon than rum and is a bit too harsh for my taste. Definitely worth a try with high probability that you enjoy it.

A1Lexo 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Reasonably priced, and good for someone learning rum. It's kind of generic tasting, but not in a bad way. Generic in the way all brown liquor tastes when you begin drinking, which is why I think it is a good gateway for people getting into drinking unadulterated rums.

ezioaudit 🇬🇷 | 26 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Not quite good for me nothing special very woody and some spices.the alcohol is shown and seems that is quite young

Erik Marum 🇺🇸 | 42 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I'm a fan of Mount Gay and while I prefer their XO, the black barrel is a fantastic value and thus why I give it an 7. It's a tad harsh in both the finish and also in the flavor profile. Not bad at all, just not as refined as my preferred rums. While it really does make a fantastic rum and coke, I can drink this neat or on the rocks and both are good experiences. Neat is a bit on the spicy and dry side (which I like) but on the rocks also brings out a nice more mellow flavor that is still slightly sweet and very pleasant. Every way to drink this rum is a good rum and for the price you feel liberated to try anything without any guilt. Highly recommend this one.

Robca16 🇨🇿 | 40 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Přišel jako 2. do rodiny. První byl XO. Dopiručuji připlatit. Ma sotva poloviční chuť a je hodně alkoholovy.

Charles M 🇬🇧 | 149 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

ie style over substance.

The run has little finesse or complexity. Overly spirity. Perfectly drinkable but not as good as Chairman's Reserve at 2/3 the price (this is £30 a bottle, Chairman's is £20). I guess in that respect Remy Cointreau have been successful, but like many rum brands owned by big groups, they are more interested in the profit than the product.

Not a rum I will be buying again unless there is nothing on the shelf. EDIT - the more I drink it, the less I like it and I am sitting here thinking how I am going to finish the bottle!

Igor 🇳🇱 | 5 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Nicely drinkable rum with strong notes of charred barrels. Stronger taste than most rums. Still one of my favorites

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 256 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

This is just an exceptional value for money rum. It's by no means overpowering but have some character. The nose is nice with leather, caramel, vanilla, banana and hints of chared wood. On the tongue I pick up notes of molasses, peppery spices, toast, tobacco, banana and caramel. The finish is slightly dry, but stays fairly refined.

AJ 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Three top tier restaurants stock the Black Barrel for me as I drink it with fresh squeezed orange juice. It's one of my favorite drinks. I wouldn't drink this straight up but with a mixer it's great. It's certainly far above the house rum served by virtually all bars/restaurants.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
ABV: 43%
Name: Black Barrel
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

Loading...