loading

Foursquare 2010 Detente 10-Year rum

Foursquare 2010 Detente 10-Year

Barbados | Aged | 51.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

8.4/10
64 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
28
19
10

Rate Foursquare 2010 Detente 10-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

64 Foursquare 2010 Detente 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Althaur (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 21 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I bought this with a little trepidation due to my dislike of bourbon. Iโ€™ve been wanting to try one of the Foursquare ECS rums for a while due to the high rating from everyone. This seemed like a good choice due to aging in the ex-port casks. Wow! I cracked this open last night with some friends for a taste. Everyone absolutely loved it. The initial heat was followed by a nice, mild spiciness and then the flavor of the port rolled across the tongue. This may have been one of the best rumโ€˜s Iโ€™ve ever had. Iโ€™m going to be in trouble since I plan on buying a few more bottles to keep in my stash.

Michal Micko (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 619 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Aroma is full of wood and fruit, bit acid. Taste is on dry side with oak, fruit and chocolate tones. Aftertaste could be longer. Unfortunately I can't recognize (and missing) the porto barrels aging ๐Ÿ˜

CaptainMorgan.07 ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 31 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Perfect rum in my opinion. Love the smell and taste.

martin jeppesen ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 255 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Another very nice bottle from mr. Seal. The Detente sports lively aromas of sweet fruits like pineapple and strawberry, alongside caramel, sweet tobacco and light oak spices.
The medium bodied taste is a bit more influenced by the oak then the nose suggest, but altogether, itโ€™s still one of the sweeter FS offerings and a very nice and balanced one at that. It starts out with the juicy, sweet and slightly accidic fruits, followed by chewy caramel. Midpalate the tobacco and wood spices counters the sweetness, but it doesnโ€™t take over. The aftertaste is nice and long with clear port notes and hints of black pepper and ginger. Highly recommended.

Jan ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 16 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I did not have the pleasure of tasting the port cask, but this detente is an excellent edition and a joy to drink.

BingChen Taiwan, Republic Of China | 27 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

As a 10year rum the aroma is strong, brought out by the alcohol body. I really enjoy the kick up front and the milder tone afterwards. Solid.

5xo (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 331 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Bottle released in 2020, it is more like a lot of aged Dominican rums with heavy bourbon notes of chocolate and such. Less sweet than Dominicans which is better for experienced drinker.

Bramski ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 26 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Was a huge fan of the Sagacity so it was between another bottle of that or trying this interesting one. High hopes. The smell salutes u with caramel, fruit and tones of wood. The taste starts of with the return of the caramel and proceeds quite spicy. Then a nice kick (its a 51% rum afterall) that is nothing too dominating and flows nicely into the aftertaste, which is smooth, rich of flavor, some sweetness but nothing sticky if u get what i mean. Nice and long as wel, leaves you with a warm throat. All in all its a very delicious and balanced rum. Great for the winter season, but probably equally delicious in the summer sun. Cheers!

Russ ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 133 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I love this rum! I'm a big fan of all of Foursquare's rums and one of my favorites was the Port cask. I'm still angry with myself for not buying more when it was around. So, I was very happy to see that they were releasing another exceptional cask series with being aged in port casks.

The nose is fruity with hints of berries and apples with some vanilla as well. The first taste is amazing with more hints of berries but also some spice and heat that really shows its complexity.

I will definitely be buying a few more bottles of this while it lasts!

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 464 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

After reading the reviews on here about this rum and being that it was available for $70 US within 40 miles, I drove over there this morning to get it. I have not been a big fan of the Foursquare ECS rums because of too much bourbon flavor. When I buy a rum, I want it to taste like rum. If I wanted a bourbon, I could save myself lots of money over most of these ECS's and get real bourbon. The key motivating point in me buying this rum is the port cask aging. However, I could have used a little more time from that cask. At least it still tastes like a rum.

One thing about most of the ECS rums is that they are bottled at cask strength. This higher ABV% allows the rum to last longer in the bottle while allowing those who drink it to add as little or a lot of water. The initial burn from this one sipped neat makes it almost unbearable to drink and this is only 102 proof. I find it more pleasant to sip Plantation OFTD neat and that one is at 138 proof. Once a small amount of water is added, then this one becomes drinkable, but without really being memorable.

Update a few days later: Nothing like taming a less than memorable rum with lots of ice cubes. That trick really worked on this one and was almost pleasurable. However, I will never dole out the big bucks for another Foursquare ECS rum ever again!. There is simply too much competition among rums with no added sugars. I actually have the Doorly's XO from the same company ranked higher in taste and at about one fourth of the price!

Ngordon87 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 48 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I love how when I purchase any Foursquare I know what I'm getting into. High quality and great aged taste. There is a small funkiness to it, but nothing off putting. There is also sweetness but nothing overpowering. Overall a great blend of rum. It comes in close to my Nobiliary. Definitely would purchase again at $74




Brand Details

Name: 2010 Detente 10-Year
Company: Foursquare
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 51.0%
Aged: 10
Distilled: 2010

Loading

Articles

Loading

Loading