Posting your rating...
Chairman's 2005 Reserve 14-Year rum

Chairman's 2005 Reserve 14-Year

Saint Lucia | Aged | 46.0% ABV

8.0/10
5 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2

Rate Chairman's 2005 Reserve 14-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

5 Chairman's 2005 Reserve 14-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 392 ratings

Today I have a blend of the coffey column still and John Dore pot still. Aged separately for 4 years in ex-Bourbon casks, then blended together and aged for 10 more years making this a 14 year old. Just 46% abv.

Intensive nose, strong similarities with Velier EMB 2010 rum. Wood, wood varnish, dry fruits, orange zests, some grains, leather and barrel with earth. Hints of caramel and tobacco, also some cloves.

Beautiful balanced nose, I like this heavy and balanced profiles.

Taste is starts with sweeter notes and wood. Some grains, wood, dry fruits and dry orange peels (tannins with wood). There are also some cloves and leather.
The middle continues with orange peels, mandarine flavor and some caramel. All flavors are wrapped in wood with tannins.
Finish starts with spice, wood, tannins, hints of caramel and again the dry orange peels.
Overall a good taste but without any surprices.
I would rate it with 84 points.

I was curious and tasted MG XO side by side. The taste of CR2005 is more complex, a little bit sweeter with more leathier. Good value for the price.
I would rate this one with 87 points.

Nose: wood, wood varnish, leather, caramel, dry fruits, oragne zest, some grains, barrel with earth, hints of caramel and tobaco, slightly leather, cloves
Taste: caramel, dry fruits, wood, wood varnish, leather, some grains, orange zest, cloves
Middle: wood, dry fruits, leather, orange zest, some caramel and tannins
Finish: spice, wood, tannins, hints of caramel, orannge zest

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruits: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (50€): 3.5/5

Small alien 200 200

Posted 2 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 80 ratings

Nice full-bodied earthy taste with touches of caramel and citrus, followed up by slight smokey oak. The combo feels weird to me though. It's admittedly a good rum, but I'd rather pick another one from the shelf

Small img 0322

Posted 7 months ago by Just 2thetop from Germany with 31 ratings

Vintage rum - earthy and drying at the backend showing its age from long time in bourbon barrels
Quality juice for sure but lacking bright fruity sweetness present in the other distillery expressions
a good buy at 50EUR Germany

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 455 ratings

- vůně velmi příjemná, jemná kokosová, koření
- chuť ač 46% jemná, nasládlá, kokosová

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 9 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 177 ratings

taste - 8.5/10
smell - 9/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 7/10