Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.6/10
54 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
10
29
7
1

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

54 Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 161 ratings

Nicely surprised with this fun blend. Better than it's predecessor, this rum is sweet, smooth, with slight crudeness you get from the Jamaican stills. Light, airy, and tasty. Tame this Jamaican rum with a Maduro cigar.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 200 ratings

Thought I would try the new Appleton Estate Reserve 8 Yr & Appleton Rare Casks 12 yr Rums recently released from Jamaica. I was really surprised with the younger rum which I find even better than the Older version of the Appleton Rare Blend 12 yr version and Its quality is definitely worthy of being drank neat. The new version of the 12 year (Rare Casks) is also much better than the older version and in my opinion both dessrve a “9” rating.

Posted 11 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 346 ratings

I thought this was the 12 year rare blend repackaged but this is something new. Nice fruit forward banana notes, with mild spiciness. Lots of depth with just the right amount of Hogo. Blindfold me and I know it Jamaica and Appleton. I give this a notch up from the 12 year rare blend. Great rum in the $40 range not too sweet like ElDorado US concoctions.

Posted 8 months ago by Yohobro from Canada with 31 ratings

($36CAD) This is one of the new bottles of the 12 year and I have to comment on the bottle itself. I’ve never been so pumped about a rum before actually tasting it. Everything about the presentation is pleasing to me. The bottle has a sleek yet funky design. The black label fits nicely with the darker color of rum. The cork has both wood and gold color in it, it’s all very easy on the eyes. Very well done, presentation-wise.
To the rum! 43% abv and a full 750mL bottle.
Nice and dark. Smells like bananas a bit, maybe some tropical fruits; pineapple?
The taste is nice, a bit of sweetness up front with fruit and then oak and tobacco or leather. Then it settles into the heat.
This is a damn near perfect rum. It looks amazing, the taste is fantastically complex yet smooth. The real kicker for me is the price: what value! If I had known I would love it this much, I would’ve bought more while it was on sale. This has become a staple for me and very well could be my favourite at the moment. Well done Appleton Estate!

Posted 8 months ago by chrisonmyface from United States with 4 ratings

This was the first rum I spent more than 20 bucks on and I didn’t know what to expect really. It’s smooth, not over powering, and has a nice subtle banana taste. You can smell the banana when you open it but it’s subtle as far as the actual taste goes. Worth the money. It’s not the best I’ve ever had but I’d probly look at someone funny if they had any real problem with its level of quality. If you want a solid rum to try that’s not going to put you in the poor house, it’s a good one.

Posted 4 months ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 56 ratings

This is a rum i would not have understood or maybe appreciated a few years ago. I love the higher alcohol expressions but have come around to the grassy funk of Jamaica. This was a surprise as sometimes I think the Appleton are a bit too much alcohol bite and one dimensional but this was a lovely complex rum with grass, burnt salt sugar, banana bread and a lovely soft sweet finish.

Posted 4 months ago by WisconsinRumRunner from United States with 1 rating

1st review.
Nose: Sweetness, vanilla, and caramel
Taste: Lots of vanilla and some caramel
Feel: Smooth on the tongue, full in the whole mouth, slightest burn in the throat.
Overall: Leaves a good aftertaste that lingers in the mouth. Definitely too good to be a mixer at my bar.

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 396 ratings

The rare cask is better than the old extra version.
It has more orange zests, this makes it more complex and fruitier. It's not a fruity funky rum like Hampden, Appleton is always a woody juice with strong cask influece.

Smell: dry fruits, orange zests, some caramel, strong barrel/wood (oak) influence. I noticed also some vanilla from the Bourbon cask.

Taste: dry fruits and orange zests first, some burned sugar, wood and bourbon cask aromas, also vanilla, slightly spiciness at 43%.
Nice fruity aftertaste with woody cask aromas

Conclusion: It's an every day sipper like MG XO.
Not very complex but still good for the pice.
Overall rating: 81 points

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spicy: 2.5/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 3.5/5
Value (24€): 4.5/5
Expert level: amateur - professional

Posted 11 months ago by keithfoster00 from Canada with 12 ratings

I’m loving the new tastes of this 12 year now that the new master distiller is in charge.

Posted 13 days ago by KahakiCove from United States with 11 ratings

This rum can either go into a cocktail or stand on it's own.

Posted 3 months ago by Sasoman from Slovenia with 11 ratings

My first Appleton Estate rum and it was impulsive purchase in Italy (35€, 27.10.2021).
First it smelt a lot like brandy to me, but I gave it some time to sit in a glass and it developed some interesting deep aroma. Taste is distinctive rich rum, with some pleasant burn.