Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.6/10
73 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
4
15
40
9
1

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

73 Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 months ago by filipec ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 250 ratings

taste - 8/10
smell - 8.5/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 9.5/10

Posted over 1 year ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 233 ratings

Thought I would try the new Appleton Estate Reserve 8 Yr & Appleton Rare Casks 12 yr Rums recently released from Jamaica. I was really surprised with the younger rum which I find even better than the Older version of the Appleton Rare Blend 12 yr version and Its quality is definitely worthy of being drank neat. The new version of the 12 year (Rare Casks) is also much better than the older version and in my opinion both dessrve a โ€œ9โ€ rating.

Posted 12 months ago by Yohobro ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 37 ratings

($36CAD) This is one of the new bottles of the 12 year and I have to comment on the bottle itself. Iโ€™ve never been so pumped about a rum before actually tasting it. Everything about the presentation is pleasing to me. The bottle has a sleek yet funky design. The black label fits nicely with the darker color of rum. The cork has both wood and gold color in it, itโ€™s all very easy on the eyes. Very well done, presentation-wise.
To the rum! 43% abv and a full 750mL bottle.
Nice and dark. Smells like bananas a bit, maybe some tropical fruits; pineapple?
The taste is nice, a bit of sweetness up front with fruit and then oak and tobacco or leather. Then it settles into the heat.
This is a damn near perfect rum. It looks amazing, the taste is fantastically complex yet smooth. The real kicker for me is the price: what value! If I had known I would love it this much, I wouldโ€™ve bought more while it was on sale. This has become a staple for me and very well could be my favourite at the moment. Well done Appleton Estate!

Posted over 1 year ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 362 ratings

I thought this was the 12 year rare blend repackaged but this is something new. Nice fruit forward banana notes, with mild spiciness. Lots of depth with just the right amount of Hogo. Blindfold me and I know it Jamaica and Appleton. I give this a notch up from the 12 year rare blend. Great rum in the $40 range not too sweet like ElDorado US concoctions.

Posted 3 months ago by col_klenk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 11 ratings

Not as bright or funky as the 8yr, but so smooth and delicious. More vanilla and oak, still some funk, with a very nice finish. One of my favorites so far! If you like Appleton, you need to try this. One of the best values out there.

Posted 1 year ago by chrisonmyface ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 4 ratings

This was the first rum I spent more than 20 bucks on and I didnโ€™t know what to expect really. Itโ€™s smooth, not over powering, and has a nice subtle banana taste. You can smell the banana when you open it but itโ€™s subtle as far as the actual taste goes. Worth the money. Itโ€™s not the best Iโ€™ve ever had but Iโ€™d probly look at someone funny if they had any real problem with its level of quality. If you want a solid rum to try thatโ€™s not going to put you in the poor house, itโ€™s a good one.

Posted 8 months ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 56 ratings

This is a rum i would not have understood or maybe appreciated a few years ago. I love the higher alcohol expressions but have come around to the grassy funk of Jamaica. This was a surprise as sometimes I think the Appleton are a bit too much alcohol bite and one dimensional but this was a lovely complex rum with grass, burnt salt sugar, banana bread and a lovely soft sweet finish.

Posted 8 months ago by WisconsinRumRunner ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating

1st review.
Nose: Sweetness, vanilla, and caramel
Taste: Lots of vanilla and some caramel
Feel: Smooth on the tongue, full in the whole mouth, slightest burn in the throat.
Overall: Leaves a good aftertaste that lingers in the mouth. Definitely too good to be a mixer at my bar.

Posted 10 months ago by vomi1011 ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 396 ratings

The rare cask is better than the old extra version.
It has more orange zests, this makes it more complex and fruitier. It's not a fruity funky rum like Hampden, Appleton is always a woody juice with strong cask influece.

Smell: dry fruits, orange zests, some caramel, strong barrel/wood (oak) influence. I noticed also some vanilla from the Bourbon cask.

Taste: dry fruits and orange zests first, some burned sugar, wood and bourbon cask aromas, also vanilla, slightly spiciness at 43%.
Nice fruity aftertaste with woody cask aromas

Conclusion: It's an every day sipper like MG XO.
Not very complex but still good for the pice.
Overall rating: 81 points

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spicy: 2.5/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 3.5/5
Value (24โ‚ฌ): 4.5/5
Expert level: amateur - professional

Posted 1 year ago by keithfoster00 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 12 ratings

Iโ€™m loving the new tastes of this 12 year now that the new master distiller is in charge.

Posted 1 month ago by Chris B. ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 3 ratings

I have always been a big fan of Appleton Estate. Especially the 12 year rums. This Rare Casks 12 yo is nice. Good sipper. Has a little more heat than the previous blends which is my only complaint. Other than that, it's has a nice bouquet and enjoy every sip.




Brand Details

Name: Rare Casks 12-Year
Company: Appleton Estate
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2923
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514