Grander Rye Whiskey Barrel Finished rum

Grander Rye Whiskey Barrel Finished

Panama | Aged

Rye is bold, distinctive and finishing a rum in rye barrels is uncommon. We chose ex-rye American white oak barrels for this expression, resulting in a remarkable combination of spice and subtle sweetness.

6.9/10
16 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
2

Rate Grander Rye Whiskey Barrel Finished

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

16 Grander Rye Whiskey Barrel Finished ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 464 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Being intrigued by the new Myer's Single Barrel Rum aged in Sazerac Rye Casks, I checked others that were aged in Rye Casks. These were Papa's Pilar 2021 Special Edition and Bayou Single Barrel. All three used minimal Rye Cask aging to greatly improve otherwise passable dark mixer rums.

I finally broke down today and bought this bottle for $47 US. Unlike those other three dark rums, this one is light colored. I would venture to say that this rum spent too long in rye whiskey barrels. It is also 100 proof. The heat from the alcohol burns the nostrils and well as my entire mouth. Others have suggested serving it on the rocks. That worked quite well, but still not good enough to get above my low ranking 7. My next closest Grander is a high ranking 6 for their 8 Year Single Barrel.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 360 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Got a sample of this rum from RR Tasting Club. Itโ€™s unmistakable an rum produced in Panama, which is my favorite country when it comes to Latin styled rum.
The ABV of 50% balances the sweetness well and so does also the finish in Rye Whiskey Barrels.
I think itโ€™s possible to detect vanilla, toffee, oak and of course hints of Rye Whiskey.
I have no problem to recommend it.
Picture: The emptied sample and the content poured in a glass out in the Stockholm archipelago.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 535 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

This isn't a bad rum, but I'm not a huge fan of the drier rums. I prefer this to their Trophy Release.

Smells and tastes of molasses, whiskey, bourbon, oak, and pepper.

Not a bad rum at all, but a bit too dry for my personal liking.

Captain_Tyson ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 100 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Great intro rum for the whiskey drinker. Panama rum finish in I believe Woodford barrels. It is dry, but finishing in a rye will give it just enough heat going down.

Qlectric ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

The taste is a lot bolder than I expected. It is not a sipping rum, unless iced down considerably.

Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 126 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Caramel and sour cherry nose. Interesting blend of dry with a spicy long finish, really lasts a while. Smokey with hints of leather and bark. Iโ€™m not a whiskey lover, but I like this a lot more than normal whiskey type dry rums. Probably for more complex palates, certainly not a typical sweet rum. I might not sip that often, but enjoy something this different. Strong 7 for me, add 1-2 for whiskey drinkers.

tomcoolen ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 21 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Best goed qua smaak. Beetje chocoladesmaak. Maar niet 100% overtuigd

lonefalcon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 52 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

As a fan of rye rum I like this one. Slightly strong but nice

Rick (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 65 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Nose is reminiscent of a rye heavy bourbon without many traditional rum notes. Not as hot as the 50% ABV would suggest. Tastes a bit spicy, but overall pretty smooth. One for whiskey fans.

BigChief17 (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 53 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Unique offering, just not for me. The Trophy Release is a little more pleasant.




Brand Details

Name: Rye Whiskey Barrel Finished
Company: Grander
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Articles

Loading

Loading