Grander Rye Whiskey Barrel Finished rum

Grander Rye Whiskey Barrel Finished

Panama | Aged

Rye is bold, distinctive and finishing a rum in rye barrels is uncommon. We chose ex-rye American white oak barrels for this expression, resulting in a remarkable combination of spice and subtle sweetness.

6.8/10
14 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
7
2

Rate Grander Rye Whiskey Barrel Finished

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

14 Grander Rye Whiskey Barrel Finished ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 324 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Got a sample of this rum from RR Tasting Club. Itโ€™s unmistakable an rum produced in Panama, which is my favorite country when it comes to Latin styled rum.
The ABV of 50% balances the sweetness well and so does also the finish in Rye Whiskey Barrels.
I think itโ€™s possible to detect vanilla, toffee, oak and of course hints of Rye Whiskey.
I have no problem to recommend it.
Picture: The emptied sample and the content poured in a glass out in the Stockholm archipelago.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 516 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This isn't a bad rum, but I'm not a huge fan of the drier rums. I prefer this to their Trophy Release.

Smells and tastes of molasses, whiskey, bourbon, oak, and pepper.

Not a bad rum at all, but a bit too dry for my personal liking.

Qlectric ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

The taste is a lot bolder than I expected. It is not a sipping rum, unless iced down considerably.

Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 120 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Caramel and sour cherry nose. Interesting blend of dry with a spicy long finish, really lasts a while. Smokey with hints of leather and bark. Iโ€™m not a whiskey lover, but I like this a lot more than normal whiskey type dry rums. Probably for more complex palates, certainly not a typical sweet rum. I might not sip that often, but enjoy something this different. Strong 7 for me, add 1-2 for whiskey drinkers.

tomcoolen ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 21 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Best goed qua smaak. Beetje chocoladesmaak. Maar niet 100% overtuigd

lonefalcon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 47 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

As a fan of rye rum I like this one. Slightly strong but nice

Rick (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 52 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Nose is reminiscent of a rye heavy bourbon without many traditional rum notes. Not as hot as the 50% ABV would suggest. Tastes a bit spicy, but overall pretty smooth. One for whiskey fans.

BigChief17 (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 53 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Unique offering, just not for me. The Trophy Release is a little more pleasant.

Fourrunner08 (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 43 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Very dry rum but goes down good.
I would add to my collection and try it neat and let it air out a few minutes changes the taste to a smoother rum

Eidolon (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 50 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I really like the combination of tastes with the spice of rye combining with the molassas of this rum. It adds a complexity that isn't usually there. The nose of this rum is subtle, but the finish is excellent if you like the taste of rye.




Brand Details

Name: Rye Whiskey Barrel Finished
Company: Grander
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Articles

Loading

Loading

Loading