Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year rum

Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Saint Lucia | Aged

Admiral Rodney Extra Old rum is produced in St. Lucia using a continuous still, and then aged in American oak casks for an average of 12 years.

The rum is named after British Naval Officer Admiral George Rodney, who in 1782 as the Governor of St. Lucia rebuffed the Spanish fleet in the "Battle of the Saints".

7.7/10
182 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
12
51
66
39
10

Rate Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

182 Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Priced at just over a half century, as I like to say the options for other fantastic spirits start to open up. Admiral Rodney is not a bad rum on the contrary it's quite good. It's smooth and maybe too much so. I'm convinced that rums benefit from being bottled above 40% ABV and unfortunately the Admiral is pedestrian in this test. Still yet of the 80 proof club this is one of the finer ones I've sampled.
A balanced sipper, only a fool would use this in a mixed cocktail, not one element overpowers the other. Very harmonious and sniffing it just now in the dead of winter brings images of the warm tropics. Palm trees swaying in a gentle breeze. It's that kind of rum.
But at this price for a slice of white sand visions, I'm likely to go elsewhere next time. I like my rum with a little more hair and a bit more authentic to what the good Admiral was probably drinking himself in his day.
Definitely give it a go if your flush with cash and you enjoy excellent down the middle agreeable rum.
Hold off if your looking to push the envelope.

Temple 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 7 years ago

My wife brought it back from St lucia and i love the it problem is that I can't find it in the states.......

kasper Svendsen 🇩🇰 | 17 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Comes in one of the most beautiful bottles in the world of rum. Absolute stunning shape, and gorgeous wooden cork top. Can’t get enough of looking at the amber color through this bottle.
Lifting the cork reveals smooth vanilla, toffee and dark chocolate.
In the glass - Lovely color and and beautiful legs.
Nose - Powerful… Molasses, toffee, dark chocolate.
Taste - Charred oak, vanilla, toffee, leather, dark chocolate finish.

Absolutely gorgeous rum. Easy on the eyes, powerful in the mouth. Just a nice complete package.
I would recommend adding, just a little water, witch removes the initial harshness of the spirit. This brings out the clean flavors of the aged rum even more. One of my first aged rums. One of my fist re-buys, and one that I, with out a doubt, will buy again.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 215 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Sugar: Estimated at 5 GPL.
A well balanced rum except for the strong alcohol smell and taste. Great colour and bottle. Well balanced and smooth tastes of vanilla, oak, maple syrup, and burnt caramel or raisins, and there is that smokey biting taste from the bourbon casks it's aged in. To a certain degree this smells and tastes a bit like an over proof or strong Navy style rum. At $109 per bottle in Ontario it's over priced.
I like it, but it needs some moderation with ice or a drop of water to be a sipping rum, unless you like the strong burn it has.

Adrian Pybus 🇸🇪 | 10 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is a really good rum. Probably the best I've had so far. I really like it. Lots of taste and not too sweet.

Igor 🇳🇱 | 5 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Beautiful caramel color with hints of vanilla, roasted nuts and toasted bread
Smooth soft medium long finish

YMHC 🇳🇱 | 162 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Herkomst: St. Lucia
Abv: 40%
Kleur: amber
Fles: 70cl, grappige ½ bol op ½ kubus vorm, met grote houten dop/kurk. Komt in een sjieke doos.

Deze rum heeft 12 jaar in Bourbon vaten gerijpt. Het resultaat is een zachte rum die smaakt als een echte rum wat mij betreft. Veel Karamel, ietwat zoete vanille, eik en een kruidige droge nasmaak.

Al met al een prima rum naar ietwat eentonig.

Edit:
0 gr/liter suiker

David 🇳🇱 | 5 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Admiral Rodney Extra Old is een prachtige Premium Blended Rum van
fijne, lang in eikenhouten vaten gerijpte St. Lucia Rums.

Kleur: Barnsteen
Geur: complex met hints van honing
Smaak: mooi gebalanceerd met geroosterde tonen van vanille en caramel
Afdronk: aardig lang en aangenaam zoet

Admiral Rodney Extra Old is een mooie rum en uitermate geschikt om puur van te genieten.

Bill Rogers 🇺🇸 | 33 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I always pick up a few bottles of this rum when I in St. Lucia. I find this rum best when served on the rocks or straight up. Never a disappointment. Smooth, mellow and the bottle disappears quickly.

Robert Burr 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Aged in bourbon barrels, this soft, medium bodied spirit shows caramel, sweet dried fruit and brown spices, with a very smooth medium-dry finish. A fine example of a navy style rum from St. Lucia.

pgrace (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 41 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Complex.

Classic bottle. Dark amber coloring.

Classic Caribbean nose. Dark caramel apple pie. Molasses. A bit of dried fruit or warm mince meat pie

Palate. Molasses. Burnt Caramel. Anise. doesn't appear to have any sugar added. But sweet with age.

A nice one for the collection




Brand Details

Name: Extra Old 12-Year
Company: Admiral Rodney
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading