Posting your rating...
Plantation 2003 Jamaica Clarendon Mmw 16-Year rum

Plantation 2003 Jamaica Clarendon Mmw 16-Year

Caribbean | Aged

8.5/10
12 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
7
1

Rate Plantation 2003 Jamaica Clarendon Mmw 16-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

12 Plantation 2003 Jamaica Clarendon Mmw 16-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 12 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 156 ratings

If you haven’t tried Jamaican rum before and you want to learn more about what Jamaican rum can offer. Then you should try this one. It is a clear example of what Jamaica can do. High esters, great Jamaican classic taste. Nose is not as strong as I thought it would be, to begin with, but give it some time and it will show itself. Really good choice If you like Plantation and Jamaica. Recommended!

Small 20201218 210910

Posted at The L Garage 4 months ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 63 ratings

Wonderful nose, with some Jamaican funk. Drier than you might expect, due to no added sugar!! (Yes, a Plantation rum with no added sugar!) It is a delight. Immediately recognizable, tastes like a Clarendon rum. For 49.5% it's very smooth. A drop or two of water, or maybe an ice cube would be nice, but I left it neat.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 392 ratings

Alc./Vol. : 49,5%
Origin : Jamaica – Clarendon Distillery
Raw material : Molasses, 2 weeks fermentation
Distillation : Double Retort Vendome Pot Still
Tropical ageing : 16 years in 200L Bourbon casks
Continental ageing : 1 year in 350L Ferrand casks
Esters : 422 g/hL AA
Dosage : 0 g/L

Yes, your have read it already, a 16y aged Jamaica rum from Plantation without any additives. And with any information you wanna know, directly from the bottler. And also from a long fermentation and pot still distillation for just 58€. I hope this is not the last one time edition :)
Great, we appreciate it.

The nose is intensive, you can cleary recognize Clarendon/Monymusk. The first flavors are the orange peels, anise with some floral notes in the background. But there are some heavy notes of wood, leather and some smoke. This is a great nose and very intensive, for just 58€? I must be dreaming.

The taste is a little bit thin at the beginning, but with anise. The flavors are developing in your mouth.
I would say the taste is dominated by anise, orage and orange peels. It turns dry in the middle. The middle an the finish are very nice. I get orange, orange peels, spice, herbs, bitter plants, medicine and anise.
Yes, this is great stuff. What I need to give it a 10 is a little bit richer initial taste and more fruits. But the rest is very good and complex, I would rate it with 86 points.

Nose: orange peels, anise, plants/herbs, floral notes, citrus, star fruit, white oak, some leather, gum and smoke (in a whisky glas - don't got this aromas in my thumbler)
Taste initial: anise, orange peels, tannins, wood, star fruit, citrus
Middle: orange, orange peels, spice, herbs, bitter plants, medicine, anise
Finish (long): citrus, oak, some earth, melon and star fruit (some other tropical fruits also), some smoke and medicine - astringent mouth feel, anise
Aftertaste: star fruit, orange (beatiful fruity) and floral aftertaste, leather, peppermint, anise - very tasty

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Intensity: 4/5
Complexity: 4/5
Value (58€): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by djswitch007 from United States with 11 ratings

The sweetness mixed with an oak flavor that isn't overpowered makes this my top sipping rum for now. Very smooth. The Ferrand cask finish coupled with the 16 year bourbon cask age does wonders.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 35 ratings

Very good, but not great. I compared it next to Four Square 2004, 59%, Four Square is the winner. Nice flavors, lots of variety, just bit too much of an alcohol overtone, even in the tiniest of sips.

Small mmexport1579223500640

Posted 5 months ago by Mintary from China with 5 ratings

16 years in 200L Bourbon casks and 1 year in 350L Ferrand casks,Esters : 422 g/hL AA
High esters, great Jamaican classic taste. Fruity, spice and certain herbal flavors are relatively strong.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by dbrem (PREMIUM) from United States with 10 ratings

The nose of this rum is very harsh but after some time, mellows out. The palate is completely different from the nose with much deeper flavor and aftertaste.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 6 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 177 ratings

taste - 10/10
smell - 10/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 7.5/10

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 35 ratings

I'll admit straightaway, I'm coming from the Mai Tai enthusiast corner, I'm not much into drinking this neat. That said, I'd bet this rum comes very close to the original Wray&Nephew 17-years. It has a surprisingly golden colour; well, actually going into a copper direction, just like the Wray&Nephew 17. It has a rich, pungent flavour particular to Jamaican rum - and I would add that the aroma is also rich and pungent. And the finish is nutty and snappy as it should be.
But of course I also had a few straight sips of this rum. It's not dissimilar to the Plantation Jamaica 2005. But the few additional years of aging are appreciable. The aroma is darker, oakier and spicier. The taste is a little tannic, but still on the agreeable side. And it's dry, because they didn't add any sugar this time. In the nose this rum has a lot of fruit, but when going closer to the glass, you also perceive a stingy quality. Finally, the emptied glass reminds me of oriental spices.
Well, just for the sake of the aroma, I personally prefer younger, less aged Wedderburns. But to emulate Trader Vic's original Mai Tai, this is excellent. It has been aged for 17 years BTW. 16 years on Jamaica + 1 year in France = 17 years.

Small img 20201222 145124

Posted 8 months ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 190 ratings

Ce rhum plantation est bien fait, bel emballage. Comme tous leurs rhums une typicité au nez de plantation, peu puissant mais assez agréable banane légère et vanille ainsi qu un goût indescriptible proche du fumé léger mais pas tout à fait. Le goût est meilleur, fin, vanille, fruit tropicaux et banane legere, longueur correcte. Il manque juste un peu de puissance comme sur un agricole, mais c est très facile à boire. Belle bouteille. Si vous voulez un rhum qui sorte de l ordinaire de ceux de mélasse allez y. Si vous cherchez la puissance en goût d un agricole, vous aimerez mais à ce prix allez sur un dillon 12 ans qui sera aussi sur des notes pâtissières avec plus de puissance.