loading

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged | 40.0% ABV

7.5/10
390 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
8
11
48
97
126
84
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

390 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Jerry M 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Took a bottle of this to my buddy's occasional rum "marketing" night. He is much more well versed in rum than I, but he had never had the Kirk. I like it because it's so smooth, not as sweet as some, but with a little not of honey and not much wood flavor. Just right with a small chunk of ice. Will continue to have it in my reserve area.

RumRunner 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

An exceptionally smooth sipper. I prefer with 1 ice cube. All flavors are subtle and nothing overwhelms. You'll pick up a hint of Oak/wood, Vanilla, Carmel, just a bit of spices. The bottle is beautiful and heavy! This is a tremendous rum.

jim burnds 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Easy to sip this on the rocks. I give it an 8+. For a while it was available at Costco a pretty good deal at $28. Have to shop elsewhere for it now.

Geno 🇨🇦 | 30 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

a refreshing change and alternative to zacapa 23. and where I live, less expensive than most quality premium rums.

Tikihead 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I enjoyed very much the K&S with a single ice cube. Very nice flavor profile and smooth with virtually no burn. I would buybthis again for sipping.

2.ooohhh 🇺🇸 | 42 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Balance, poise, and grace no overwhelming flavors here. That is what this brings to the market and at a wonderful price for the experience. Are the 18 and 23 year better? Sure, but this is a gem that can easily be at home sipping for hours or mixing in a high end cocktail, excelling at both! Smooth and sweet with a long tail.

Steve 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I bought this simply for the the bottle and to try a Dominican flavor. I agree with a strong aroma of vanilla, but I am not feeling the oak others do, a tiny bit of smoke but seems very light. Small bit of sweetness and finishes very smooth. At ~$30 it is a real bargain.

Hari 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Wow, this is the first rum that I have had that the first word I would say is tobacco. Very smokey and oaky. Very nice sipping rum on the rocks. I will look for this rum again!

Felipe P 🇺🇸 | 70 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I was not expecting quality from anything unknown from Costco. Color me impressed. The overall profile was something like a smoother, most Zaya 12 yr. Some molasses up front, light oak middle, and a vanilla undertone. I'm definitely adding this to my short list.

euzlpz 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted almost 8 years ago

Big oak...raw, uncut sugar...cocoa de maracaibo, roasted peanuts with a caramel glaze tossed in sea salt, heavily toasted coconut...vanilla, eggs, and nutmeg come together to form a creamy bread pudding. The understated nose leades to a more revealing palate with matching notes and undertones of fried plantains, key lime zest, blood orange juice, kumquats, black carrots, acacia honey and alfalfa sprouts. It does lack balance and is oak dominant, and attempts to make up for it (with marginal success) by offering a smorgasboard of high quality, nuanced flavors-- both complex and challenging to discern. Lovely finish of good length, light-- but not thin: fresh sugar cane (bottoms of the cut tops), clean rain water, sweet tangy raspberry, vanilla, dairy cream, mild golden tobacco with undertones of blueberries and strawberry rhubarb. Mouth feel is supple and creamy, juicy then tannic. Aged well, this rum is nicely mellowed by the oak-- having virtually no burn. Please note: this is a Dominican rum-- grown, distilled, and aged entirely in the Dominican Republic (those who know Dominican soil can attest!)...it is only BOTTLED in the USA... (sourced from Santiago de los Caballeros, D.R.). For under $35, I recommend to those looking for a rum that is heavy on charred oak imparts. My unbiased score is a 6...however I love heavily oaked rums, so my biased score is an 8! :D (I don't often give 9s or 10s).

Sam 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Lots of Vanilla




Brand Details

Name: 12-Year
Company: Kirk and Sweeney
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 12

Loading

Loading

Loading