Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.5/10
385 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
8
11
48
94
124
84
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

385 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Michael 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I'm not always in the mood for this one, but nothing else can beat it when I'm feeling introspective. It's a more complex animal than most. The nose barks of spice. Taking a healthy sip, there's a flood of flavors. Smoke and oak are most prominent. The traditional molasses and cane flavors are the base, lying underneath a dark and earthy layer. The finish is lasting and contemplative. This is the drink of a wise man with a long beard.

Reddew 🇺🇸 | 53 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I'm not sure why everyone likes this so much? Maybe I should give it another go, but I wasn't impressed.

JAStark 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This is rum is what bourbon dreams about. Great alone on ice. I made a Manhattan out of it just for S&G and it was grand. I called it a Kingston Manhattan. Try one.

Brendan S 🇨🇦 | 55 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Very smooth. Rosewater and sugar notes. Very little wood.

Probably the best looking bottle on my shelf too.

Catmandu 🇺🇸 | 15 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I want to invest in this company! This rum could come in a bag and It would still shine. This is definitely one of my current top three. Big body, still smooth, with a long vanilla finish.

Justin Dunlap 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

got a bottle for my birthday. As soon as I popped the cork I knew it was gonna be good. It is Very smooth. This bottle won't last long.

nomad 🇺🇸 | 137 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Very (too?)smooth, a little sweet, and a nice finish. Somewhat base and it does not stand up to mixing. My thoughts have soured as time goes by.
edited to add sugar test results- 4g

Dustin Doran 🇺🇸 | 78 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

After what seemed like an eternity, I had the great pleasure to finally get my hands on a bottle of Kirk & Sweeney. Packaging alone suggests it's gonna be nice. Right from the pop of the cork my nose was flooded with the aroma of tropical fruit, sweet treacle, a little wood and just a hint of butterscotch. Finishing with a decent amount of smoke. Oh yeah! This is gonna be lovely.

Jerry M 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Took a bottle of this to my buddy's occasional rum "marketing" night. He is much more well versed in rum than I, but he had never had the Kirk. I like it because it's so smooth, not as sweet as some, but with a little not of honey and not much wood flavor. Just right with a small chunk of ice. Will continue to have it in my reserve area.

Jim 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I am always in search of the perfect Rum to go with a cigar. The Kirk & Sweeney is my go to and the best I have tried. The price point makes it a consistent option! I like to pour it over a large ice cube and sip!

shelteredexistence 🇺🇸 | 49 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

It's difficult not to admire the beautiful and thoughtful packaging of this rum. But no stuffed shirt, this. To my taste, an exceptional balance of wood-aged flavors, both in the nose and the mouth. Just the proper suggestion of native rum sweetness, while supplying a tremendously smooth and buttery finish. A tremendous modern rum and, like the Plantation Barbados 5 Year, sporting an incredible price for this level of rum value.




Brand Details

Name: 12-Year
Company: Kirk and Sweeney
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading