Deadhead Aged rum

Deadhead Aged

Mexico | Aged

Single blended 6 year old rum made from estate grown sugar cane juice and molasses and aged in American Oak and Chiapas oak. Assertive aromatics and brilliant flavors make it a great choice for use in classic Tiki cocktails.

5.1/10
97 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
9
5
18
21
20
18
5
1

Rate Deadhead Aged

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

97 Deadhead Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

abrarey ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 50 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Wasn't expecting much of this rum, the bottle is really nice.
Nose: very interesting actually, feels like a rhum agricole or leaning that way, very floral and herbal.
Taste: a bit disappointing on the taste, was expecting more herbal flavor after the nose.
Finish: the aftertaste is better, definitely feels a bit like a rhum agricole.
Overall good price for a nice looking and sturdy bottle. The rum is not the best but can go well with some cocktail.

Beukeboom ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Okay, it has a creepiness factor of 10 which makes it stand out from all other rums out there in regards to containers. However can it stand apart from other rums in regards to flavor?

Nope.

First off the color is a light amber...closer to a yellow color in some apple juices. It has a slight sugar cane aroma with fair amount of astringency reminding me of ethanol. The flavor isn't too bad. Not great but it hits you with some sweetness and vanilla/toffee tones which then fades into a rather decent burn. Being that it's a blend of sugar cane juice and molasses it does have a bit of an agricole edge to it. The aging gives it a bit of oak bitterness bordering on objectionable but not quite. It ALMOST is a sipping rum but misses just by a tad. However it does very well as a mixer.

I recommend buying one bottle at least for the appearance and if you like it, buy another and tell your guests they were traveling salesmen....WERE....

Okay...feeble attempt at humor.

Not a bad rum. However it really doesn't stand out from other similarly aged rums. Therefore I can't go higher than a 7 here.

Dave ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ | 30 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

At bought this one as a present for my friend and just took one for my collection. After tasting it I really felt sorry for giving it away as a present, it really tastes like coming out of a fuel tank. It stays because of the great looking bottle, but it will never get empty...

KittieKatt (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 14 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

So when the husband and I first started looking at rums for our bar we did not know where to start.. so we just hit the total wine and looked for what ever caught our eye! well this did it!! the amazingly funny shrunken head was super funny and love it!!! looks great on the bar!!

but that is where it ends.. it is a decent rum don't get me wrong.. but you are paying for the bottle!! it is ok in mixed drinks but still prefer a few others to this one..

if this was in a normal bottle the price would be about $10-15 I am guessing.. based on taste.. After trying other much better rums sadly even the amazing bottle is not enough to keep it on our bar.. soo many better options for similar price point!!!

Kevin ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 45 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

I've been to the distillery in Chiapas, Mexico that contracts to Deadhead. Deadhead has some close to OK typical run of the mill rum from Chiapas. But, they're missing the game. But you have to visit the distillery to get that 7 or even 8 rating. I had their infused white rum and it obliterated the deadhead exports. At $12 a bottle. So Deadhead gets a 5 for not exporting the best!

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 324 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Got a sample of this rum from RR Tasting Club. The only thing that makes this one a little bit better than the Dark Chocolate is the higher ABV.
Itโ€™s still the vanilla and sweetness that dominates.
Sorry to say, but itโ€™s nothing I can recommend. Itโ€™s more a liquor than a rum.
Picture: The emptied bottle with the content poured in a glass out in the Stockholm archipelago.

piratejabez ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 324 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Forget the bottle. This is a fine rum. Aromatic. Complex. Singular. Notes of spice, grass, and funk. Makes a mighty fine cocktail, probably is amazing with cola, and is a unique sipper. A little pricey, but try it if you get a chance.

Dominik Starosta ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 13 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Spicy and dry rum. Hints of cedar, vanilla and honey. The finish resembles a fresh cutted grass fand oak

Tasadar ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 35 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

It was a big disappointment for me. Don't recommend it at all. But it could be worst...

Joseph Doherty ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 25 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I tried this because of the bottle, but discovered it was delicious

martin jeppesen ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 254 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

This seems more like a souvanere product, than a serious rum. I find the taste leaning towards tequila rather then good rum. Not for me.




Brand Details

Name: Aged
Company: Deadhead
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Articles

Loading

Loading

Loading