Foursquare 2008 12-Year rum

Foursquare 2008 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 60.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

9.0/10
76 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
12
28
31

Rate Foursquare 2008 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

76 Foursquare 2008 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 12 months ago by Quilty 🇺🇸 | 15 ratings

It’s a great rum, but it does deviate from most Barbados rums in that the sweetness level is pretty low. Lots of depth, but it is a little too alcohol-forward I think, making the molasses and vanilla recede too far into the background. Not a rum for cocktails and certainly not a terrific value. A great rum but overrated.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 362 ratings

This is really good and really strong. I’m doing re-tasting my ratings with last four Foursquare’s. 2008 smooth really packs you early with its strength, and wow does it linger. Bourbon lovers should like this, I’m keeping it at a 9.5 so 10.

I think the last few offerings of Foursquare are as good as it gets. Rich full bodied complex similar to other full bourbon cask releases but very smooth little afterburn like Nobiliary. If you can find it buy it.

Posted over 1 year ago by poly.pop 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings

Smell: Salted caramel, coconut, a hint of cocoa butter and sweet oak.
Taste: Rich, velvety, and mouth coating. Coconut, oak, chocolate, and tropical fruit with a hint of spice (rye, cinnamon and clove). A long, lingering finish that transitions from caramel to dark cherry. It's everything aged rum should be. Rich, indescribably deep and complex - a true symphony of flavors all playing in perfect harmony.
Buy it when you see it, this will be the benchmark for aged rum for years to come.

Posted 16 days ago by randycous (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 52 ratings

My 3rd version of Four Square rums. Flavors are the best of any rum I’ve had. Small sips only, as the Overproof may get you.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jan 🇳🇱 | 16 ratings

As i open the bottle expecting this to be somewhat the same as the 2007 i am suprised. This 2008 is a bit smoother than the 2007, tasting them side by side. I actualy have only one word for this. Excelent.

Posted 4 months ago by Gdr909 🇵🇷 | 4 ratings

I can’t express enough how incredible this rum is! A rich oak, caramel character that allows for deep appreciation and thought. Definitely worth every cent!

Posted 7 months ago by thebrowndram 🇵🇭 | 42 ratings

Nose: The arrival has rich notes of peanut brittle, caramel, then citrus oil. Afterward, it seamlessly transitions into cherries, pears, and ripe saba bananas. Buried under everything is a touch of Japanese soy sauce. With time, notes of Ethiopian coffee beans and toasted coconut show up. It's generally balanced and intriguingly soft yet rich.

Palate: Slightly oily mouthfeel. Despite the ABV, the flavors build up quite nicely, beginning with subtle new wood, toasted nutmeg, and dark chocolate. There's some minerality, too, but is quickly overtaken by the familiar cherries, bananas, and tangerine skins. The development begins with darker flavors that gradually lighten and become more crisp and juicy. Near the end, there's warmed marshmallows smeared onto leather.

Finish: Long, dry, and warming with prominent orange pith, leather, and menthol.

Posted 8 months ago by Steffmaus (TASTING CLUB) 🇩🇰 | 60 ratings

Despite it being 60 %ABV it doesn't need to air for that long, to be able to enjoy it.
Taste notes of fudge, caramel and dried fruits

Posted over 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 529 ratings

Další skvělý kousek 👏👏, až vcelku dost nasládlý, jemný a gradace 60%

Posted 27 days ago by TDR1964 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings

such a great supper from this house. True to Foursquare, an excellent rum. A must have.

Posted 2 months ago by Mujuru 🇺🇸 | 110 ratings

I am a huge fan of Foursquare 2007 I had heard the appreciation of this rum for quite a while, so last year I decided to go a grab a bottle before stock ran out. I had still not opened my bottle when a fellow rum aficionado so graciously sent me a sample of it.

All of that said, Foursquare is actually not an automatic “yes” for me. I have had mixed experiences with rums from Foursquare. Foursquare ECS 2007 and Foursquare Redoubtable rank very high on my list and for a long time ECS 2007 was my single favorite rum of all. I also absolutely adore Doorly’s 12 Year and regard it the best value for rum on the market in the US. However, on the flip side I am not a huge fan of Foursquare Detente (I have gone back to it numerous times and am still left unimpressed) and I don’t particularly like R.L. Seale’s 10 Year at all.

This rum is a pot and column still blend of molasses based rums rums distilled and tropically aged 12 years in ex-bourbon barrels in Barbados. This distillery is known for its extremely strict rules about no additives whatsoever, so this obviously contains no additives of any sort. It is a classic Bajan Foursquare Exceptional Cask Series Selection.

So I came into this sample cautiously optimistic. On the positive side I have mainly seen rave reviews of it. However, most such rave reviews highlight its extremely bourbon profile…and I am not especially a fan of most bourbons, so that isn’t necessarily a positive in my book. But enough blather, how does this particular bottling hold up?

On the nose, taking a whiff I get intense deep rich chocolate and mandarin orange. These two notes are so deep it permeates your olfactory senses. In fact they are so rich all I can think of is Christmas Chocolate Oranges. I recall a very similar experience with Foursquare ECS 2007; indeed it is what I love about that rum. I also detect rich caramel and just a faint hint of pineapple.

The palate mirrors the nose closely and taking a sip I am engulfed, and almost drowning in the rich chocolate and mandarin orange notes. Two extremely prominent notes but very lovely. The palate also comes with a heavy dose of rich caramel and undertones of fine bourbon, pineapple, and that classic “rum” note but on a fairly intense level.

The finish is fairly long and continues to evolve as you sip. First, of course, come the deep rich chocolate and mandarin orange notes that permeate the entire experience. After sipping on it a while I get more oak, a faint cough syrup note and fine bourbon lingers in the throat.

This is a lovely rum to just sip and savor. It does indeed have some serious bourbon influence, but in the best possible way. Obviously what stands out the most are the deep, rich chocolate and orange notes similar to those found on the ECS 2007. Indeed in many respects this rum is very similar to Foursquare 2007. Though it also has more bourbon influence and less “rum” influence on the palate and on the finish. I think I still probably prefer the 2007, but I could definitely see how bourbon aficionados would prefer this bottling to that. Like the 2007, the notes here are deep, rich, and deeply comforting. And it has a few notes that the 2007 doesn’t have - namely the pineapple and faint cough syrup notes.

All in all this is definitely a very enjoyable sip that will join ECS 2007, Redoutable, and Doorly’s on the positive side of the ledger. Indeed I rank it up near, maybe just short of, Redoubtable. This is overall outright excellent. When Foursquare hits, they really hit…and this one slaps.

Short Description: Think Orange flavored Lindor Chocolate Truffles with fine aged bourbon in the middle.

Nose: Deep Rich Chocolate, Mandarin Oranges, Caramel, faint Pineapple

Palate: Deep Rich Chocolate, Mandarin Orange, Caramel, Oak, Pineapple, Rum, Fine Bourbon

Finish: long, Mandarin Oranges, Chocolate, Oak, faint cough syrup, fine bourbon

ABV: 60%

Country of Origin: Barbados

Distillery: Foursquare




Brand Details

Name: 2008 12-Year
Company: Foursquare
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 60.0%
Aged: 12
Distilled: 2008
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
558
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
540
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513