Novo Fogo Silver rum

Novo Fogo Silver

Brazil | Light

5.8/10
19 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
1
1
4
5
4
1

Rate Novo Fogo Silver

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

19 Novo Fogo Silver ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Adam Berger 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Admittedly I have somewhat of a negative bias against Cachaca, at least with regards to drinking it straight. The only reason I purchase Cachaca is because I think the Caipirinha is a fantastic cocktail and this category of spirit works wonderfully for it. Nevertheless, I review based on how the spirit stands alone and neat. With this in consideration I confess Cachacas are not the most drinkable on their own, at least not the bottles that are carried in stores near me. I'm sure there is some fantastic Cachaca out there that holds its own as a sipper, but I have yet to discover it. That said, this is quite drinkable on it's own, especially after the first one or two sips as one acclimates to the ethanol burn. This Cachaca is not overly complex, I mainly get 3 notes: banana, fresh cane juice, and grassy/herbaceous. On the nose one immediately gets the scent of banana, followed by herbal notes. On the palate banana comes first, followed by fresh cane juice with grassiness that comes last and amalgamates with the cane juice. I really like the cane juice flavor as it's nostalgic from my vacations down south, tastes just like biting into fresh cane and tasting the juices that come out. The finish is mostly grassy with a slight ethanol burn at the end. However, do note that the ethanol burn with be much more pronounced on the initial sip. Overall, one of the best Cachacas I have had, definitely prefer this over Leblon which I would reserve only for cocktails.

mamajuana 🇺🇸 | 148 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

From the excellent fruity cane nose to the flavorful spicy clean smooth taste an all around champ. Easily the best Cachaca that was never aged in wood just rested 1 year in stainless steel. This beats out most aged Cachaca actually with it's inability to burn the throat. The only complaint I have is the short finish. Overall a great clean choice you get up after a night drinking this ready to go with no ill effect.

Blacksun 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Young rum with a grassy taste but not for me. Best Cachaca that I have drank so far

JGiralt 🇺🇸 | 83 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

A great middle of the road agricole. Not too much funk. Balance pallet

Hot_Toddy 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I didn't find anything particularly offensive about this. Makes a good el Draque when i added a bit of Diplomatico Reserva. Good cachaca is hard to come by in my area, so it gets nudged up to a 6 for availability.

kai 🇩🇪 | 9 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

you can't go wrong with this one for cocktails. There will be no hangover nor sharp alkoholic taste. It lacks a bit on distinct floral aroma tough there are subtle ones. I would totally buy it again if I couldn't get my favourits.

Neman3 🇨🇦 | 168 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Absolutely transparent in the glass. Easy on nose. For young rum it is amazingly smooth, warm. Rich and complex taste.
But, Not to Cachaça for me for the sipping. Will try in cocktails.

jmp3 🇺🇸 | 88 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Something completely different. Fruity nose, good mixed

RumGuy 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

fairly thin on the palate obviously at 40%. it's not super punchy but im getting mandarin orange, a bit of grapefruit sourness. The nose is really nice, kinda briny but it doesn't translate to the palate like a clarin or paranubes. Its a 5 but it makes me interested to try something higher strength from them or on of their unique wood agings.

Engwild 🇺🇸 | 153 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Cocktails, cocktails, that's all it's good for...barely.